Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cheery little fella!
A useful PIE BIRD funnel from LE CREUSET designed to be used with their pie dish range.

COLOUR : ALMOND
MATERIAL : STONEWARE

He comes safely packed in his own little box, measuring around 9 cm x 6 cm x 6 cm
Once released the neat little PIE BIRD measures in at approximately:

* 9 cm high from the tip of his open beak to his Le...
Published on 9 Jun 2011 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hmm, well its OK
The first review here seems to be by the manufacturer, which may explain the enthusiasm. I've tried it and it works; so I guess that's the fundamental. The quality is not better than adequate and I was disappointed to find that "Le Creuset" brand is now on Chinese products.
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by Neil Carmichael


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cheery little fella!, 9 Jun 2011
A useful PIE BIRD funnel from LE CREUSET designed to be used with their pie dish range.

COLOUR : ALMOND
MATERIAL : STONEWARE

He comes safely packed in his own little box, measuring around 9 cm x 6 cm x 6 cm
Once released the neat little PIE BIRD measures in at approximately:

* 9 cm high from the tip of his open beak to his Le Creuset embossed base and around 4 cm wide

'This Le Creuset Pie Bird Funnel is the perfect item to use when baking a pie with a pastry lid. Simply place the bird in the centre of the dish before covering the pie with the pastry lid, cutting a hole for the bird to poke through and securing the pastry around its shoulders. The top of the funnel pokes up through the pastry, supporting it and preventing it from dropping into the filling as it bakes. Also the pie bird funnel has openings at the base, so the pie juices can bubble freely and the centre is hollow and vented through the beak allowing steam to escape and thus ensuring a dry crisp pastry and no leaks from the filling.'

Full use & care instructions supplied on the box.

Made in China
5 year guarantee
Oven, microwave, freezer & dishwasher safe

This cute little bird has a couple of mates in CERISE & VOLCANIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone who loves to bake, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As disturbing as I find it to see a bird's head sticking out of a pie, I have to admit this sweet little pie funnel has turned out to be a very good buy. It comes boxed so is presentable as a gift for anyone who loves baking and the box states that it is guaranteed for 5 years.

I have a few cast iron Le Creuset pieces but this was the first of their stoneware items I have bought and I have found it to be just as high quality as the cast iron. I often bake in batches and having baked two identical pies side by side I could see the difference with the one which I'd used the funnel with compared to the one without. The crust seemed less soggy with the use of the funnel and the pie also looked much better as the filling had not splashed out at all during cooking. I would recommend this and I'm considering buying a second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Little Sweetie Tweetie Pie !, 26 Dec 2012
By 
suzysunshine7 (Stockport, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I simply couldn't resist this adorable little sweetie in the Christmas Shop sales for just £3.75! - and I wasn't disappointed either.

This sweet little pie funnel really is as cute as it is in it's picture, and being from Le Creuset, it is also of excellent quality too. A big bonus with me is that, as it is so neat and a little smaller than some of the other bird pie funnels that are around, it not only does it's job beautifully - but also without taking up too much space within the pie that could be better packed with more filling instead.

It came nicely packaged in it's own pretty little box and I think that it would make a really great gift for any cook, as it is a solid and sturdy little chap with a very lovely smooth finish that certainly does seem to be an "easy clean - chipping, scratching, cracking and stain resistant surface" - and the 5 year guarantee must surely suggest that Le Creuset feel that they can confidently back this claim up too?!

In fact, I was so impressed that I also bought it's mate in the Cerise colour as well. Now I can make two different pies at the same time, and simply be able to tell at a glance which is which, by the colour of the funnel. I just wish that the Cobalt Blue one was also available on Amazon too?! - here's hoping!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pie supports, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have used these for several different types of pastry, and they do a good job, no more soggy pastry,and they clean up well too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy item, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very handy item, does exactly what it should. Since using it my pies have turned out so much better. No more sinking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely product, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This made a lovely gift and is a nice piece of kit for any pie lover or baker. Great value for money and quick delivery too. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brighten up a PIE MAKING day with this cheery little fella!, 4 Jun 2011
This review is from: Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Bird, Cerise (Kitchen & Home)
A colourful little STONEWARE PIE BIRD funnel from LE CREUSET, designed to be used with their pie dish range.

COLOUR : CERISE

He comes safely packed in his own little box, measuring around 9 cm x 6 cm x 6 cm.
Once released, the neat little PIE BIRD measures in at approximately:

* 9 cm high from the tip of his open beak to his Le Creuset embossed base and around 4 cm wide

'This Le Creuset Pie Bird Funnel is the perfect item to use when baking a pie with a pastry lid. Simply place the bird in the centre of the dish before covering the pie with the pastry lid, cutting a hole for the bird to poke through and securing the pastry around its shoulders. The top of the funnel pokes up through the pastry, supporting it and preventing it from dropping into the filling as it bakes. Also the pie bird funnel has openings at the base, so the pie juices can bubble freely and the centre is hollow and vented through the beak allowing steam to escape and thus ensuring a dry crisp pastry and no leaks from the filling.'

Full use & care instructions supplied on the box.

Made in China
5 year guarantee
Oven, microwave, freezer & dishwasher safe

This cute little bird has a couple of mates in ALMOND & VOLCANIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pie Making, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The popularity of home cooking makes this a necessity in the kitchen, prevents soggy pies. Now a make pies like my mum used to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect bird, 12 May 2014
By 
netty (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well le creuset !! I'm a fan so it's very difficult to say anything bad! But this little bird arrived on time, well packaged and works so very well, it's not large but not too small and it's beautifully made and sits on my window shelf waiting to be used, so I would recommend this product and this seller, excellent little bird!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brighten up a PIE MAKING day with this cheery little fella!, 11 Feb 2014
A colourful little STONEWARE PIE BIRD funnel from LE CREUSET, designed to be used with their pie dish range.

COLOUR : VOLCANIC

He comes safely packed in his own little box, measuring around 9 cm x 6 cm x 6 cm.
Once released, the neat little PIE BIRD measures approximately:

* 9 cm high from the tip of his open beak to his Le Creuset embossed base, and around 4 cm wide

'This Le Creuset Pie Bird Funnel is the perfect item to use when baking a pie with a pastry lid. Simply place the bird in the centre of the dish before covering the pie with the pastry lid, cutting a hole for the bird to poke through and securing the pastry around its shoulders. The top of the funnel pokes up through the pastry, supporting it and preventing it from dropping into the filling as it bakes. Also the pie bird funnel has openings at the base, so the pie juices can bubble freely and the centre is hollow and vented through the beak allowing steam to escape and thus ensuring a dry crisp pastry and no leaks from the filling.'

Full use & care instructions supplied on the box.

* Made in China
* 5 year guarantee
* Oven, microwave, freezer & dishwasher safe

This cute little bird has a couple of mates in ALMOND & CERISE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Creuset Stoneware Pie Bird, Cerise
£5.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews