Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Their Best?
First of all, this is seen by many as one of the best albums produced by Queen, if not the very best. There's not a duff song on here, from Tie Your Mother Down to Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy via Somebody To Love as a handful of their better known tracks, through to the tender You Take My Breath Away, the poppy You & I, the heavy White Man and the sublime waltz feel of...
Published on 13 May 2011 by WeeMann

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Drowse...
Now, I'm not saying that this is a bad album. I'm sure Queen set out with the best intentions, and its all played in the accomplished manner you would expect, but its just so dull. Average. Queen in magnolia.

Things get off to a cracking, if misleading start with 'Tie Your Mother Down', its relentless riff soon becoming a live favourite. I'd be lynched for...
Published on 13 Feb. 2013 by wavey davey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of Their Best?, 13 May 2011
First of all, this is seen by many as one of the best albums produced by Queen, if not the very best. There's not a duff song on here, from Tie Your Mother Down to Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy via Somebody To Love as a handful of their better known tracks, through to the tender You Take My Breath Away, the poppy You & I, the heavy White Man and the sublime waltz feel of The Millionaire Waltz. It doesn't get much better than this.

But this isn't just about the basic album. Here it has been remastered by Bob Ludwig and sounds, as a result, crisper and more powerful than ever before - closer to the way the band intended it to sound from day 1. Coupled with this, the band have included a bonus EP including an instrumental version of Tie Your Mother Down, exceptional live cuts of Somebody To Love (possibly their best rendition ever caught on tape) and You Take My Breath Away, an alternate take of Good Old Fashioned Lover Boy from their Top Of The Pops appearance of July 1977 and the HD mix of Teo Torriate.

If you want a quality Queen release, this is one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Remasters, 24 Nov. 2011
By 
D. J. Roberts (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am pinning the following comments to all of the Queen back catalogue (excepting "Flash" which I wont get on cd) as they apply right across the board. I wont comment on the music - others have done so very well. I want to praise the sound.

Modern mastering technology will in most cases demonstrate more noticeable improvements in older recordings. I have now bought and listened to all of the recent Queen reissues and chronologically the benefits of the 2011 remastering lessen as recording technology and technique improved album by album.

The biggest improvement is to the earlier analogue work, which to my ear sound more "Queen" than the digitally recorded stuff - more bite and attack - irrespective of musical direction. My view is that digital recording "rounded" the Queen sound, particularly Brian May's guitar.

However, notwithstanding this there are clear improvements throughout the catalogue, even the later ones which were recorded using digital technology to whatever degree. Music is more open, brighter and fuller in a very revealing, listenable and non-tiring way. Bass and drum parts are now very clear as are the vocals which are expressive warm and very detailed - many more sibilants can now be heard which really brightens up "Queen 2" and "A Night At The Opera" for example where there were a tremendous number of overdubs which saturated the sound in places.

As I said in a previous review of "Greatest Hits", those who have a fair or passing interest in Queen will be happy with earlier issues, but for the enthusiast these remasters really are rewarding listens and well worth investing in. They really are very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the last truly great Queen albums, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day At The Races [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
Got this album bought for me for christmas the year it came out. It brings back memories of a time when, as a teenager, you could get so EXCITED about a new album from your favourite band! I suppose its only what the kids of today are doing. To me this was the penultimate truly great Queen record. After News of the World, their later released work was never quite the same. Having said that, as a live band they were in a league of their own, even in their latter years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long live Freddie, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my favorite albums, I wanted 'You and I' for real hence the purchase having owned every album on vinyl, I'm building it back on CD to listen to instead of look at. It is almost 40 years old yet the remastering brings it into now. And wow. The bonus CD really is a bonus too. Freddie and his voice melt my soul. No Queen fan will be disappointed, and this is a must for any fan of real music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Number one Rock group - Queen!, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day At The Races [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
Always been a Queen fan and this follow up to A night at the Opera is not a disappointment with varied music and the unique Queen sound. I had this on Vinyl and thought it brilliant then. Queen are one of those groups that are timeless and this album is as good today as it was back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day At The Races [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
Good value and made a perfect Christmas gift for someone currently replacing their old collection of Queen discs and LPs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Queen albums ever., 2 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. Jpj Fitzwater (N Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Day At The Races [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
As a fan of Queen's music, I consider this one of the best Queen albums of the lot. I bought it for my 13 year old daughter for Christmas, who loves it as well. This demonstrates how well Queens music transcends the generational gap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent remaster of an excellent album but a weak bonus disc, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
Jens Dalsgaard (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent album that deserve SIX stars on its own.
And here we have it in the best sound ever.
A splendid time is guaranteed for all!

The bonus disc, however, is a little weak.
1. Tie Your Mother Down [Backing Track Mix 2011] - Excellent guitar-work from Brian but not a track I will listen to again.
2. Somebody To Love [Live At Milton Keynes, June 1982] - Waste of space. It's pointless as it's already released on 'Queen On Fire - Live At The Bowl'.
3. You Take My Breath Away [Live In Hyde Park, September 1976] - Excellent live recording.
4. Good Old-Fashioned Lover Boy [Top Of The Pops July 1977] - Excellent BBC recording.
5. Teo Torriatte (Let Us Cling Together) [HD Mix] - Yes, it does sound nice but to me it seems as if the people behind these deluxe editions have been scraping the bottom of the barrel to find material enough to fill out the bonus discs with. Well, I guess it's better to have it than not to have it ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Remaster, 15 July 2011
I hate the fact people are saying the bonus disc is weak. It's not, it has some great tracks but the real treat is if you've heard 'Teo Torriatte' the HD Mix, hooked up to my dad's sound system [HDMI AMP - HDMI compatible speakers] you'd hear Freddie as you've never heard him before. In the original version of this song I never heard him breathe at the beginning but now you can its a much more emotional song and all credit to this remastered version. Go ahead and compare the different vesions on this album you'll see what im talking about. I just wish the japs would do all Queens songs in HD. Wonderful remastered album which makes any queen audiophile want them all :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Day After The Night Before..., 7 April 2011
What makes this a simply great album, is that it manages to deviate through so many musical styles while maintaining that 'album' feel.

Anyone who labels Queen as a hits band should give this a listen. Boredom simply is not an option. While the opening track 'Tie Your Mother Down' thunders in with a hard-edged simplicity, suddenly it all melts down into the most delicate and intricate song imaginable, You Take My Breath Away, a song created with such care and expertise and yet still delivers the emotion.

While this album will always go hand in hand with the previous album 'A Night At The Opera', not only for it's similar cover, but also it's fine craft mix of hard rock and feel-good pop, it is far beyond being a second fiddle. While it never shook the world with it's signature track 'Somebody To Love' quite like the it's predecessors' 'Bohemian Rhapsody', it still packs the necessary punch of satisfaction at the end.

If you're new to Queen, or maybe you're looking into extending your catalogue beyond the 3 greatest hits album's, I'd recommend this album as a great place to start. It isn't as progressive and their 4 previous efforts and the sound is perhaps better tailored to a wider audience and is more accessible. As such, it makes it the perfect blend of Queen's early and highly respected album-era of music while giving us a taste of the easy listening popular hits of the 80's. Combining depth and access is no easy feat, that's what makes this album, and the band that made it, utterly fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Day At The Races [2011 Remaster]
A Day At The Races [2011 Remaster] by Queen (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews