Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen at their very best
When Queen II was released the band were just begining to break big. This album appeared before, but not long before, Killer Queen, Bohemian Rhapsody, or Somebody to Love were album tracks or the massive and iconic single hits they became.

It was clear then from Queen II, and it is absolutely obvious now, that Queen were going to be huge. The album was split...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by markr

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album ruined by over engineering
I must start by saying that Queen II is one of the top 10 albums ever. Unfortunately this remastered version sounds very poor compared to the original recording. The recording on my aged cassette tape sounds a lot crisper and sharper than this. Less is definitely more, and sometimes you can't improve on a masterpiece. I am so disappointed. This album has been...
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by R. Phillips


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen at their very best, 31 Dec 2011
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
When Queen II was released the band were just begining to break big. This album appeared before, but not long before, Killer Queen, Bohemian Rhapsody, or Somebody to Love were album tracks or the massive and iconic single hits they became.

It was clear then from Queen II, and it is absolutely obvious now, that Queen were going to be huge. The album was split into the White side, beautiful and lyrical; and the Black side, still beautiful, but harder rock. It contains some of the most fantastic music Queen, and i would argue, anyone, ever made. White Queen from the White side is a song of true beauty - for me their best ever.

For many Queen fans this is their best album - and despite some truly great albums to come, this one is certainly hard to beat

The remastering is excellent.

Buy this - you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Richer and Fuller Sound, 14 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
To be honest I didn't expect a big difference in sound between this 2011 remaster and the "original" CD version. In fact the difference is quite surprising. This 2011 remaster gives a richer fuller sound with clearer vocals, making an already fantastic album even better. Queen II is one of the group's best albums and, with "Queen" and "Sheer Heart Attack", forms a triptych of their early (and best) music. Indeed, "Queen II" and "Sheer Heart Attack", although issued several months apart in 1974, form a sort of double album. "I do like to be beside the seaside" forms the playout groove of "Queen II" and plays us into the brilliant "Brighton Rock at the start of "Sheer Heart Attack".

Queen II is glam rock at its most amazing. Wildly over the top, and yet full of emotion and poetry. If you think "Bohemian Rhapsody" is Queen at their best (it appeared on a later album), then you'll find the operatic vocals, the heavy rock solos, the changes of tempo, and the moving ballads done much better on Queen II.

I bought the double CD version of the 2011 remaster though, overall, I would recommend the single CD version. The five tracks on the bonus CD are really not worth an extra 7. The BBC version of "Nevermore" is great - perhaps better than the album version - but the other tracks are also-rans strictly for the enthusiast.

So a brilliant remaster of one of their best albums, but stick to the single CD unless you are a real hardcore fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His songs and the group will not be forgotten., 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
What can one say about QUEEN they were the best, Freddy Mercury was a sensational showman and dominated the stage in his live shows. It is a very sad loss, he should have taken more care in those days, he must have aware of Aids, as it was rampant at that time amongst the Gay Community.
Leonard Franklin Ellis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
brilliant quality would rreccomend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album., 3 July 2014
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
Another must have album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
Bought for my husband; He loves Queen and this one was missing from his collection. Band are on top form with some classic tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best from a great band,, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
I remember buying this on LP when I was a kid and it blew me away, I know there were much bigger commercial hits but for me this was when Queen were a real quality rock band.

I'm not going to list all the great songs on this album as the balance and variation is excellent.

Everyone should own this album, no matter what their taste in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars QII stands the test of time, 31 Jan 2012
By 
Steven Jenkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
A breathtaking demonstration of the impact that Queen was about to make on the world. The release of Seven Seas of Rye gave a glimpse of what was to come, and this album is packed with tracks that explore the range of Freddie's voice and the bands talent before they were (in my opinion) damaged by commercial success. Probably, alongside Sheer Heart Attach, Queen at their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen "2", 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
Delivered within the time, with other CD,s ordered. I have had the Vinyl one for years
and this re-mastered copy is most excellent, great sound quality. As a Queen fan I have always liked the earlier albums but the remastering makes this album sound really fresh. Great Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Marvellous After All These Years, 24 April 2012
By 
K. A. Hewitt "redbertsmum" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen II [2011 Remaster] (Audio CD)
I had this album on vinyl before we had a record player and had to take it to friend's houses to listen to it. Every track is wonderful and I'll love it forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Queen II [2011 Remaster]
Queen II [2011 Remaster] by Queen (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews