Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a remaster that lives up to the hype !!!
Stunning simply stunning,finally a remaster that really lives up to the promise,i've loved this disc for more years than i care to remember but playing this remaster was like listening for the first time, the sheer power eminating from the speakers with a clarity thats often lost in modern remasters,this is breathtaking.

Disc 1 the original disc was possibly...
Published on 23 May 2011 by Mr Blackwell

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars As it began...
Back in the day of course, new bands were given time and a couple of records to find their way. Which is just as well, as although this album does display Queen's early potential, I've always thought this album to be a bit 'messy'. Its just that some of the songs, 'Liar' in particular, seem to lack a bit of structure and meander all over the place.

That said,...
Published 20 months ago by wavey davey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a remaster that lives up to the hype !!!, 23 May 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
Stunning simply stunning,finally a remaster that really lives up to the promise,i've loved this disc for more years than i care to remember but playing this remaster was like listening for the first time, the sheer power eminating from the speakers with a clarity thats often lost in modern remasters,this is breathtaking.

Disc 1 the original disc was possibly Queens only real dabbble with heavy rock/metal but what a dabble 'Keep Yourself Alive','Liar' & 'Great King Rat' all burst from the speakers louder,clearer than ever,Deacon & Taylor,finally being heard the way they always should have,while the likes of 'Doin Allright','My Fairy King,'Night Comes Down' all thrill like your hearing them for the first time and i swear 'Jesus' contains moments i've never heard before(the remaster bringing out moments i dont remember),god this is just superb.

Disc 2 an excellent opportunity to hear the '71 demos plus the b'side 'Mad the Swine., probably the only bonus e.p. really worth getting.

A stunning release to be picked up as soon as you can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen. Finally the sound does it justice., 14 Mar 2011
By 
GP (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
Queen (or Queen I) has always always been dogged by a weaker sound than the albums that followed. That is no longer an issue.

Finally this raw, hard-edged Queen album has the wings it needs to soar and submerge the listener into a comforting realm of hard rock. The album now stands up by today's high standard of sound and big credit must be given to the mixer, Bob Ludwig for getting so much out of the original tapes while maintaining the core sound. (The bass hasn't been blown up out of all recognition and the drums don't crack the speakers on the top notes like most modern recordings do. The whole package is professional and the clarity is hugely improved.)

The De Lane Lea bonus material is a fascinating incite for those Queen fans who are in the know about the band's history. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to a very early Queen attempting to produce themselves in a brand new studio, but that's another long story.

The 2011 remasters are, in my opinion, well worth the money for long time Queen fans and the perfect opportunity for new listeners to get started on their Queen collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT START, 23 Mar 2011
By 
David P. Weber (North Fremantle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
Listening to this as the first album remaster of Queen was a pleasant surprise, because I found the quality of the Greatest Hits a bit hit-and-miss. The big test on this LP is 'Liar'. The sound is simply colossal, with massed guitars, thumping drums and suspicious bass. The rough, assertive vocals intrude in an almost ugly way. You can even hear Mercury or Taylor yell out 'RIGHT' during the second intro.

This album has not all of a sudden gained supreme sonic beauty. There's still a bunch of crazy edits and tape strain going on, but that's how the original album sounded and that's what we Queen fans want to hear-- the band striving to fill every available space on the sound spectrum.

The heaviness has been emphasized and that's a good thing. Perhaps this will lead to many people discovering this wildly adventurous debut for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good first album, worth getting the deluxe edition for the rare demos!, 2 Nov 2012
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
DISC 1 (The Album)
As debut albums go, this one is excellent. It may lack the 'hit singles' (in fact just one single was released from it; Keep Yourself Alive, which failed to chart) but it has all the early signs of the Queen hallmarks such as Brian's unique guitar sound, amazing Freddie lead vocals and of course the vocal harmonies. Most importantly there are some well crafted songs with the three senior members all contributing (John Deacon's time would come later!) and for me the tracks "Liar" and "My Fairy King" are not only the stand-out tracks on the album but they also highlight the diversity of production Queen were magically able to produce, from out-and-out rock to gentle orchestral pop.
DISC 2 (The EP)
The purpose of the 2011 'Deluxe Editions' (putting all cynical marketing, profit-making, blood-from-a-stone comments to one side) is to give a bonus 'EP' of rare or previously unreleased tracks which compliment the original album. In the case of this first album it was always going to be a difficult choice of what to leave off as there are any number of tracks that could have been included from early 'Smile' tracks, the 'Larry Lurex' tracks, live tracks and the ten or so tracks from this album that Queen put down in various BBC sessions in 73/74. What we got instead was perhaps the rarest set of all, the original 1971 De Lane Lea demos PLUS the 'forgotten' track 'Mad the Swine' which was originally left off the first album and is finally re-united after 38 years! Maybe, just maybe, it would have been the icing on the cake to get some of the rare BBC session tracks which don't otherwise appear as demos, such as Modern Times or Son and Daughter, but overall it is a good choice of tracks for the EP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Remasters, 24 Nov 2011
By 
D. J. Roberts (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
I am pinning the following comments to all of the Queen back catalogue (excepting "Flash" which I wont get on cd) as they apply across the board. I wont comment on the music - others have done so very well. I want to praise the sound.

Modern mastering technology will in most cases demonstrate more noticeable improvements in older recordings. I have now bought and listened to all of the recent Queen reissues and chronologically the benefits of the 2011 remastering lessen as recording technology and technique improved album by album.

The biggest improvement is to the earlier analogue work, which to my ear sound more "Queen" than the digitally recorded stuff - more bite and attack - irrespective of musical direction. My view is that digital recording rounded the Queen sound, particularly Brian May's guitar.

However, notwithstanding this there are very clear improvements throughout the catalogue, even the later ones which were recorded using digital technology to whatever degree. Music is more open, brighter and fuller in a very revealing, listenable and non-tiring way. Bass and drum parts are now very clear as are the vocals which are expressive warm and very detailed - many more sibilants can now be heard which really brightens up "Queen 2" and "A Night At The Opera" where there were a tremendous number of overdubs which saturated the sound in places.

As I said in a review of "Greatest Hits", those who have a fair or passing interest in Queen will be happy with earlier issues, but for the enthusiast these remasters really are rewarding listens and well worth investing in. They really are very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Debut Album Now With A 'New Life', 6 July 2011
By 
C. A. Pucci (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
An often underestimated debut album from a band that was to become a world wide phenomenon. It has always been one of my favoutites and i have enjoyed the countless replays it has received. Now we have this 2011 Remaster Version and it's better than ever; the whole experience is expanded and clear and vibrant. The bass and drums are more evident and the sounds 'mingle' in my mind with what i've come the know about this album. Well worth the money.
Also, Bands like Led Zep, Black Sabbath and many others, would struggle to match the raw power and creativity of this album. Giving it a 2 star rating is criminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable debut album but the bonus CD makes this release special., 6 April 2011
By 
C. Higgins (The Big Effin T) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
Queen's first album, presented here in all its remastered glory sounds brighter and crisper and all the better for it. I've never been the biggest fan of this album but it does hint at the future potential of Queen as a studio group and some of the band's trademarks are present here in their earliest form. The album goes down as a reasonably solid debut but there is not a huge deal here that hints at the size and shape of things just around the corner. Many of Queen's contemporary's would be happy to explore the same territory for years to come but Queen already had bigger and better ideas and the advances that the band were about to make from this record to Queen II (in less than a year) are more than most bands would dare to make in their entire career. Standout tracks for me are Keep Yourself Alive, Doing Alright and Great King Rat - the very first batch of songs that the band played live together (in fact, the Brain May penned Doing Alright actually pre-dates Queen as a band).

This brings me to the bonus disc of early demos and what a fantastic treat this is - offering a great insight into Queen as a fresh new band in 1971, pre-record contract and determined to make their mark on the musical landscape. The first thing that grabs you when you hear these demos is the raw power and the ferocity of the sound with the band effortlessly throwing out the kind of riffs and tempo changes that would not sound out of place on any of Metallica's first 3 albums (the first of which would not be recorded for another 10 years). On this evidence, the band must have been a formidable force on the stage and you wonder if the audiences of 1971 where ready for the type of hard edged heaviness that could almost be an early prototype of thrash metal (long before this label was ever thought of). Roger Taylor is on great form, sounding like a young hybrid of Mitch Mitchell and Ginger Baker while Brian May at times out-Jimis Jimi Hendrix. John Deacon compliments the sound and smoothes off some of the sharp edges with some lovely flashes of melodic bass playing. At times the band sound like a supercharged version of The Jimi Hendrix Experience with some Black Sabbath thrown in for good measure and hearing these early recordings almost makes you sad that the band toned down their performances somewhat by the time of the recording sessions for the debut album. What is maybe most surprising here though is that Freddie Mercury's voice tends to get lost in the barrage of sounds as he struggles to rise above the sonic assault to the point that he sounds almost lost and forgettable in places (none of his formidable piano skills feature here either). This only reinforces the magnitude of his accomplishments over the next few years as he morphs from generic wannabe rock singer into modern music's most iconic frontman and all round musical and vocal genius. One must also concede that some of the songs do tend to struggle lyrically - Mercury (raised in a devout Zoroastrian family) giving his account of the life and times of Jesus in song format is especially surreal. But for all their flaws at this early stage of their development, the real strength of Queen in 1971 is the sheer power and force of the music and some incredibly tight musicianship. These demos serve as a valuable historical document of a band at the very start of their career, beginning to find their identity and getting limbered up to conquer the world.

Queen debut album remastered - 6/10
Bonus Demo Disc - 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Keep going back to this album, a joy to listen to., 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
Always enjoyed this album, so full of life and enthusiasm. Second album of demo recordings and early live tracks are a real pleasure, more stripped down than the album showing off Mercury's voice, an amazing and confident start for Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!!, 17 Nov 2013
By 
J. M. A. Fernandez (Gran Canaria, Canary Islands. Spain.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
From the very first album to the last one, Queen was at the top of creativity!!!. Buy it if you like good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Queen [2011 Remaster Deluxe 2CD Edition] (Audio CD)
A great album by one of the best groups one that you need to have in your collection a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews