Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, Thought Provoking and the final farewell.
They called this "Ending On A High Note - The Final Concert" and they were not wrong at all. They really did end of a "High Note" their performance was truly Stunning, Thought Provoking with fantastic backdrop video animation and great set design.

Everything was done to a grand scale and lavish design; their live versions of their songs were amazingly crafted...
Published on 26 April 2011 by Kyoto Wolf

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where did the Time go? - A Blu Ray Review
The release of 'Foot of the mountain' saw my wife & I take an interest in a-ha again. We saw this farewell tour at Nottingham's ice arena & I have to say were pretty impressed.
The release here of the end of the tour in, naturally enough, Oslo promises much.
The intro. see's a darkened arena lit by blue neon & laser and immediately the extra crispness of Blu Ray...
Published on 6 May 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where did the Time go? - A Blu Ray Review, 6 May 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "Boo62" (Ilkeston Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The release of 'Foot of the mountain' saw my wife & I take an interest in a-ha again. We saw this farewell tour at Nottingham's ice arena & I have to say were pretty impressed.
The release here of the end of the tour in, naturally enough, Oslo promises much.
The intro. see's a darkened arena lit by blue neon & laser and immediately the extra crispness of Blu Ray is highlighted with just a little shimmering of the light here and there. The sound of the audience surrounds the listener but quite subtly as left & right keyboard effects follow the band doing the usual 'heroic slo-mo' walk to the stage. Once the lights go up the sharp detail is evident everywhere and on occasion can be pretty unforgiving at showing just how many years it's been since 'Hunting high & low' was first released & the band were as popular as pin ups as for their music.
The opening track, 'The sun always shines on TV' is a little lacklustre, no surprise here, I remember the Nottingham concert took about 3 tracks to get going and here is no different with both the band & the audience not being fully warmed up until around track 4, 'Scoundrel days',. From here on in things motor along far more freely & less stiffly with vocals being stretched further and a stronger presence from the keyboard.
However it has to be said that while nicely detailed and deftly handling the old surround problem of where to place the audience sound & just how loud should they be, the surround mix fails to completely sparkle. The main problem is that the drums are far too recessed in the mix and so the driving rhythm is missing.The echo of the arena is not cancelled out enough in the sound edit and leaves things too lightweight. While earth shattering low frequency was unlikely this really doesn't ever get the sub. going and while it is fine on the quieter tracks it is unlikely to get anyone on their feet during faster & more pop oriented songs. Vocals are clear and centred nicely.
The picture is very good with primary colours lighting up the stage as the light show flicks away above the band. One regret is that more of the display cannot be seen. The visuals displayed on the screen were excellent, especially during 'Take on me' and the slow retrospective. Unfortunately too much of this would have spoilt the 'live' atmosphere but an optional 'angle' that showed the display would have been nice and not really too much to ask. A bit of a missed opportunity really.
The director gets things just about spot on. All the usual 'live' pitfalls are avoided, too much gawping at the audience, ridiculous angles, stupid effects, seeing what's going on backstage during the concert,(who cares?), and the headache inducing handi-cam are all dumped in the bin and this is so much better for it.
The concert track listing is different from the UK and sadly there is only 1 track from the excellent 'foot of the mountain' album, (the title track). The belting live version of 'Bandstand' seen in the UK was sadly chopped from this.
The Blu Ray itself has a low key menu that seems more like a DVD one.
The extras are a 15 minute last concert documentary and a photo gallery.
Audio is either stereo or DTS HD 5.1.
There are a lot of subtitles to choose from. French, Spanish, German, Norwegian, Russian, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese & Latin American Spanish.
For the fans this is a pleasant enough farewell. I'm just left feeling that with only a little more effort this could have been so much more. Why no proper retrospective? The picture is top drawer but surely the sound is vital for a concert so why has this been mixed in such a lacklustre fashion?
There are times when I despair at the lazy approach that some companies have to Blu-Ray. There is so much potential but they just can't be bothered.
The picture, direction & editing and ease of use are all 5*. The extras & especially the sound are barely 3*.
For a band that has lasted so well and has such a large & faithful following both they & their fans had a right to expect better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, Thought Provoking and the final farewell., 26 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They called this "Ending On A High Note - The Final Concert" and they were not wrong at all. They really did end of a "High Note" their performance was truly Stunning, Thought Provoking with fantastic backdrop video animation and great set design.

Everything was done to a grand scale and lavish design; their live versions of their songs were amazingly crafted and well executed. The three performers were awesome and gave this concert all they had to offer, they really did put their hearts, minds and souls into their performance and their dedication and commitment shows.

If you are new to a-ha or have been a lifelong follower of a-ha then this bluray version of "Ending On A High Note - The Final Concert" is for you, it's something you can enjoy time and time again. I highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. G. Hodges (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a bluray - complete credit to the gig itself. Before buying, i read a below review that the sound wasn't too hot. This i did not find and found a useful setting on the pop-up menu of the disc and set it to 5.1 surround sound (having a surround sound system). Wow. If you like a-ha, then buy this, and the CD version which I have done too ;-). Brilliant stuff and highly recommended. As to 'going through the moves', again, this I did not witness and saw it as a highly professional, exciting experience. I went to the Bournemouth gig in 2010 and this replicated it. First class a-ha!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye Aha, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: a-ha: Ending On A High Note - The Final Concert [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Went to their farewell concert at Manchester MEN and apart fro being asked if I was trying to smuggle any chocolate in I can say this is the best concert I have been to for a very long time. The DVD contains all of their hits and the backdrop screen is captivating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Memories, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: a-ha: Ending On A High Note - The Final Concert [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
It was a great concert and a fitting 25 years. There on stage musicality and mortens vocals are first class, choice of songs and arrangments are so close to the actual songs its easy to not appreciate their artistry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2010 Concert From A-Ha, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: a-ha: Ending On A High Note - The Final Concert [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
"Ending On A High Note: Final Concert" is a brilliantly played performance that showcases powerful music harmony among the band members. "The Sun Always Shines On TV", "Manhattan Skyline", "Hunting High And Low", "Butterfly Butterfly (The Last Hurrah)", "Foot Of The Mountain" and "Take On Me" were some of my favorite performances of the concert. There is a complete listing of the concert songs on A-ha's storefront website from playdotcom. "Ending On A High Note: The Final Concert" is best for those who like at least three songs by A-Ha and/or pop music spanning from the 80's to the early 2000's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is really good dvd, a-ha are great in concert and the sound and picture are impressive, what a way to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great swan song if your a-ha fan., 19 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seen the tour Ending on a High Note and this is it live.
Great production, looks good on HD and sounds very good.
If your a fan you probably already brought it :)

A-ha I think where going "through the motions" in this tour. It shows a bit.
You can tell that maybe they have had enough of A-ha
and where grateful to let it go. There heart just isn't in it anymore.
That doesn't mean that its not good.
The music is fab and Morten Harket can still hit the high notes, a underrated singer. My favourite live is "Hunting High and Low"

It would have been great to have all the old videos on this blu-ray as well and maybe some old footage. There is a interview with the guys separately which is quite good and gives a bit of insight why they have let go of project a-ha.

Recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 7 Dec 2011
By 
Cha Cha (Aylesbury, England) - See all my reviews
Just like being on the first row! Brilliant quality, images are crystal clear and the songs are sang beautifully with stunning backgrounds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excelent performance, 8 Nov 2011
I have been fan of this group since I was really young, it was the eighties...
This final concert in Oslo is a great performance of their old and new hits.
Enjoy "the living daylights", "summer moved on" or all the rest in a memorable night for their fans.
The sound and the images are excelent.
A great product !!
You'll enjoy it, I'm sure !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa845ea08)

This product

a-ha: Ending On A High Note - The Final Concert [DVD] [2011]
12.06
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews