Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating study of those who kill for the state.
If you watched the recent documentary series on The Crime and Investigation Network about executioners in the UK, France and the USA, then this book is the logical progression if you want to learn more. The book starts at the earliest forms of execution such as crucifixion and stoning and comes right up to date with Lethal Injection. We learn that stoning was truly a...
Published on 5 Jun 2008 by Eckybun

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject matter
This is a book on execution which focuses predominantly on those people throughout history who have been called to exact the ultimate penalty for their country/state. The book is divided into eleven parts focusing on: early forms of execution, the Spanish Inquisition, witch hunters, impalement, Newgate prison, Tyburn, the guillotine, hanging, drawing and quartering, the...
Published on 22 Dec 2010 by J. Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating study of those who kill for the state., 5 Jun 2008
By 
Eckybun (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
If you watched the recent documentary series on The Crime and Investigation Network about executioners in the UK, France and the USA, then this book is the logical progression if you want to learn more. The book starts at the earliest forms of execution such as crucifixion and stoning and comes right up to date with Lethal Injection. We learn that stoning was truly a death in the name of the people as the public would carry out the sentence. We learn about how reviled early British hangmen were and how there was an occasion where one executioner was pardoned from his own death sentence in order that he may use his skills to dispatch other condemned inmates. The children of French executioners generally married into the families of other French executioners and the Philippines was the only nation other than the USA to ever use the elctric chair as a means of executing there criminals. All these facts and hundreds more are contained within this fascinating book which looks at methods of execution and the people who carried out the sentences. Great value book and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fascinating!, 23 Oct 2009
By 
This book is packed with wide ranging information eg the witch hunts and the inquisitions which I had heard of but didn't really understand what they were about. I feel like I understand about another piece of history that I can put together with what I already know. It brings us right up to the 21st century.
It is informative and readable. I found it fascinating though my husband didn't appreciate me sharing my new found knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject matter, 22 Dec 2010
By 
J. Cooper (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a book on execution which focuses predominantly on those people throughout history who have been called to exact the ultimate penalty for their country/state. The book is divided into eleven parts focusing on: early forms of execution, the Spanish Inquisition, witch hunters, impalement, Newgate prison, Tyburn, the guillotine, hanging, drawing and quartering, the electric chair, the gas chamber (in the USA) and the lethal injection.

The respective chapters tend to describe the history of the method, notable executioners and victims, a couple of cases involving unique incidents or serious cock-ups before usually concluding with a description of the method's eventual decline and last known uses. The book is very loosely chronological in order and is divided into two unseen halves each reflecting varying philosophies on capital punishment. The first half of the book describes those methods which were designed to inflict maximum pain, humiliation and fear and were strongly connected with religious suppression/punishment/belief; whereas the second half of the book reflects social change and the desire to implement more humane methods of capital punishment.

Whatever your personal opinion on the subject matter may be; this is a fascinating and truly compelling history book for all criminological enthusiasts. I found that the book was slightly pro-abolitionist in nature and slightly judgemental at times, but not to an extent where it loses all neutrality. I began the book under the impression that it was designed to be more of a factual and historical account as opposed to an ethical `question-raiser', but am unsure after finishing it just what exactly the collective authors intended it to be. There are various points throughout the book where some of the authors' personal opinions appear to have seeped through into the narrative.

This edition of the book is appallingly edited/proof-read and there are a multitude of printing, grammatical and spelling errors which are blatantly obvious. In my eyes, this gave the book a `cheap, discount-book feel', was frustratingly effective at ruining the flow of the text and sadly detracted from the quality research which the authors had endeavoured to undertake. Yet even so, due to its current price and the fascinating subject matter, I would recommend `Executioners' to true crime/punishment aficionados.

Macabre, dark, yet truly addictive reading, I would certainly read this book again. I'll just have to put up with the shoddy printing and editing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyed, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXECUTIONERS (True Crime) (Kindle Edition)
I think the author could have added more on executions which currently take place around the world today. A lot of the book is based on history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some dull , some interesting, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXECUTIONERS (True Crime) (Kindle Edition)
An ok read,easy to dip in/out of. Not always the most interesting read and much is covered elsewhere - and better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXECUTIONERS (True Crime) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book really interesting. It encompasses all of the different execution techniques throughout the ages and some of the earlier stuff is quite gruesome. For the price of 99p I found it a really good buy. It is factual and I did enjoy reading about this subject although it is not my normal read. Some of the methods used in the earlier years I had not even realised and the number of people executed by these methods came as a shock to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hanging about, 15 April 2012
By 
Brian E. Pond - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXECUTIONERS (True Crime) (Kindle Edition)
The book is good, easy to read and follow but it dwelt on one or two subjects a little too long; e.g. The Spanish Reformation. Otherwise, eye opening and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, interesting read :), 12 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXECUTIONERS (True Crime) (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting read, I have read better books but did enjoy this some-what..its different in the sense that who really knows an awful lot about executions or executioners? You get to know about the different methods of execution and how they have changed throughout the years..the people who were employed to do the job of killing the condemned & how it affected them over time..the book is quite gruesome at times, also harrowing. Overall enjoyable, interesting & historical..give it a go! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good to read, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXECUTIONERS (True Crime) (Kindle Edition)
This book is a very good read and easy to understand would recommend it to anyone who has an interest in this subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars executioners (true crime), 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EXECUTIONERS (True Crime) (Kindle Edition)
well written for any person interested in the history of execution. It is not a gruesome book, but a true history of execution methods,
I appreciate that the book is not everyone's cup of tea, but it is a very easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EXECUTIONERS (True Crime)
EXECUTIONERS (True Crime) by Anne Williams
0.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews