Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars55
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2016
Brilliant true story about a nun and a nurse who meet up, become friends and get caught up in a war situation. The threat of death was over them much of the time with their fellow workers and patients and also the Bishop who presided over the Mission with wisdom. Get your tissues out. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
I knew this film was not a gutsy war film even though the front cover...could be misconstrued as being one.

Based on true events its a well produced and uplifting story of survival in what was a theatre of War the Brits ( I am Scottish ) tend to forget and try to expunge just ask the Jock Regiments.
It a theatre of war to which we owe not only the ANZACs and other commonwealth troops a deep thank you but and debt of gratitude.

This film looks at the relationship and survival of two young ladies one a nurse the other a nun and all I need say is, at the end is the most telling part of this story.

Watch and enjoy.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
This is a great film knowing my grandad was a prinsonier of war by the japanese it just shows how they were treated and what they had to put up. It makes u appreciate your freedom more too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2013
A great WW2 film showing the horrors of war. this is based on a true story and shows how women were treated by the Jananese.
A must see film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
Very good film if you like world war 2stories, interesting to see how two very different women coped.Also so like where's it is based on true stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
I must confess that this type of character driven story set amidst the carnage of war is my staple diet.As much as i am moved by what soldiers are forced to endure in combat i am equally if not more moved by the type of true stories involving the courage of ordinary people in extraordinary times.As powerful as The Round Up [DVD]it too focuses on the citizens of war.
Before i wax lyrical about this film i will give you a brief rundown of what you get for your money.The main feature has a runtime of 95mins and not the 105 as advertised by Amazon and is filmed in 1.78:1 Anamorphic Widescreen with the audio in 2.0 Dolby Digital.The disc is crammed with extras which inlude two documentaries,a music video sung by Paulini Curuenavuli who plays one of the nuns,some deleted scenes,a trailer of the film and several trailers championing new and old Australian films.So plenty to get your teeth into and great value for our ever stretched Pound.
Set in 1942 just North of Australia on the island of New Britain lies a small Catholic mission where a few nuns,Australian nurses and wounded Australian soldiers await the inevitable thunder of the Japanese juggernaut.When it arrives the first to flee are the male soldiers and surgeons leaving behind the rest with orders of "its every man for himself".Soon enough the Japanese have interned everyone left behind using their own hospital and church as the grounds for a camp.We do get the obligatory mistreatment and brutality towards its captives by the Japanese all of which is done with a sense of delicacy.The torture scene reminded me of the Fritz Lang great Man Hunt [DVD]where torture is depicted without the violence being shown.We also get to see moments of normality and emotion from the Japanese like the three soldiers sat watching a butterfly or the soldier who is drunk to try and forget his shame in what he has done.
Amidst the torment and depravation that ensues a deep friendship evolves between Lorna Whyte an Australian nurse and Sister Berenice Twohill a catholic nun.Both Sarah Snook and Claire van der Boom deliver sterling performances and are ably supported by a cast that includes Gerald Lepkowski as a German priest whose role in the film is close to that of the real life John Rabe.
An Australian made for tv movie that punches well above its weight and delivers a powerful,heart wrenching yet awe inspiring true story.The dialogue is littered with great lines.When a nurse asks an Australian doctor if he needed anything just as the Japanese are making their move,he simply replies "yeah coffins".The production values are excellent for a tv movie and the direction is both tender and brutal,a great balancing act by Brendan Maher.The cinematography is also first rate and looks every bit authentic.The score is as fitting as you can get and the whole film is edited with careful soft hands.
As more and more time passes after the fact its important that films of this nature are made if only to remember the lives of ordinary people lost during wartime.A film i shall watch again and one that reminded me of the underrated yet equally great Three Came Home (1950) [DVD].
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2014
As an avid World war 2 fan this was a Great film really enjoyed watching it and will watch it many times more. Can recommend this DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Family suffered in the same way in WW11 and can relate to some of the events. Saw the film on TV and have kept it now for my family
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
This a very moving DVD of great courage and will power of all the people that are taking part.I would highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
I enjoy this DVD, a true story and loved how the sister and Nun stay friends after the War for the rest of their lives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)