Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lion's Tale. The impossible follow up.
If your considering buying this book, you have probably read it's prequel already. And if you have, you probably understand why this might be the most hotly anticipated wrestling book in modern memory. Expectations for Undisputed were high.

I have only read it once (so far) but it does not disappoint. Jericho has proved himself as an established writer, who...
Published on 17 Feb 2011 by Jimmy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So so
It's not that great as Jericho thinks. It's only about meaningless jokes and not really showing the art of pro-wrestling.
Beliave me, buy Bret Hart's Hitman instead.

Saved by the bell
Francesco
Published 2 months ago by Francesco Mandolini


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lion's Tale. The impossible follow up., 17 Feb 2011
If your considering buying this book, you have probably read it's prequel already. And if you have, you probably understand why this might be the most hotly anticipated wrestling book in modern memory. Expectations for Undisputed were high.

I have only read it once (so far) but it does not disappoint. Jericho has proved himself as an established writer, who knows his fanbase. The same in-jokes return from A Lion's Tale, as well as a whole bunch of new ones. Remember the Jericho curse? It's back, with a vengeance.

Undisputed also spends a lot more time looking at some of Chris' non-wrestling work, especially Fozzy. Fans of the band will definitely enjoy it, but so will people that are interested in the music business in general. It's an eye opener for anyone that didn't previously think record companies were slightly evil. But it's also testament to Chris' hard work and determination to make the band succeed.

The book also covers Chris Benoit, with more humanity than any account I have read before. It was well known tht Benoit & Jericho were close friends, and for once it doesn't seem like someone is trying to cash in on the dark event for personal gain. With both Benoit and Eddy I was in tears reading, it was incredibly moving.

In comparison, does it live up to all the hype? Maybe. After one highly enjoyable read, its a little hard to tell. A Lion's Tale is one of my all time favourite books period, I have read it at least 20 times. I think Undisputed is a brilliant book in its own right, and strongly recommend it to all wrestling and non-wrestling fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i'm the king of the world, 2 Dec 2011
I'm a long time wrestling fan and proud of it. I've been watching wrestling and reading the books longer than I care to remember, so it is with great honour that I call this one of THE greatest wrestler books of recent time.

In fairness, both the lion's tale and undisputed are great books on their own but for them to both come from Chris is amazing. I think this more than the lion's tale interested me as a reader due to the fact that I was never really a fan of the wcw, main reason being I didn't have the channel it was on. So this book's wrestling stories are mainly wwf stuff which took me on a bit of an emotional journey. I loved how honest he was, didn't dumb it down and spoke his mind. This not being true of some other superstar's books due to ghost writers but I think he wrote this all himself but don't quote me on that. Other books have always been from the wrestler's point of view but written by someone else and most of the time you can tell too but this sounded all Jericho.

Not only does he talk about his wrestling but also about his band fozzy and some TV / movie work he has been involved in too. Be this as it may I couldn't help but feel that his career was mediocre at best. This is not my personal opinion but more so, his. He talks about matches and quickly states that it was not his best match or feud and when talking about gigs he would say that the crowds were never there but he would always do his best for the fans that were, but mostly you got the impression that he loves his life. Believe me he has reason not too and he doesn't hold back on that either.

In total Chris tells it as he sees it. He talks about friends he's lost to the business and the small but frequent references along with a chapter on Benoit may change your mind on the negative things you heard. He loves his mum and I'm glad that he got closure on that.

I wasn't a huge Jericho fan but after seeing his "save us" run and also reading both books am proud to say that I am a firm jerichoholic and hope that rumours of a return are not greatly fabricated.

Not since mick Foley have I enjoyed a wrestler's story so much. Good going Chris, well done :O)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Other autobiographies are ass clowns, 13 Sep 2011
Wow, I thought the first book was good but this legacy just keeps getting better and he is working on a third, the sexy beast. Unlike many others before him he has followed suit with Foley and Edge and written himself an awesome story and insight into Chris Irvine rather than just his wrestling character. Jericho is both funny and frank as well as humble and easy to relate to with how he has written the book. It is an indepth account of his life both in the ring and on the stage "Fozzy" and a fair bit of the inbetween stuff that very few ever talk about. If you liked the first book then this is a no brainer buy this book now. If you are new then you must read the first book "around the world in spandex" because this is the second part of Jericho's life (where he joined the WWE from WCW). I just cannot wait for the third instalment!!! In short this second coming of his autobiographies is awesome and makes all other pretenders to the throne look like ass clowns. Buy this book you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still A Great Read But Hampered By Poor Writing, 17 Feb 2011
By 
RM Gallon (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you've read the first autobiography by Chris Irvine aka "Chris Jericho"; "A Lion's Tale: Around The World In Spandex", you'd understand what made his book a more entertaining read than many of the other wrestling books. It was goofy, self-deprecating, and done in total character to how Chris Jericho, the wrestling legend the world has gotten to know, acts. What also made it unique was that, done when he was not wrestling anymore and so he had a lot of time on his hands, it chronicalled his life and his aspiration to become a WWF (not addressed as WWE in the book) superstar, and the amazing journey he went on chasing that dream in great detail, word-checked and as completely accurate as he could be. Ending just as he left the Gorilla position to finally become an actual WWF performer on television, it left the rest of his journey that the majority of people reading the book would already know and as a result not essentially needed to be written about, and has since gone on to be classed as one of the definitive wrestling autobiographies of all time.

After the first book was a an unsurprising success, the follow-up; "Undisputed: How To Become The World Champion In 1,372 Easy Steps" continues the more identifiable period of Jericho's wrestling career in the WWF/E. Still fully of his witty anecdotes and Jerichoisms (The Embarrassed Author's Note, anyone?), "Undisputed" certainly feels like a Jericho book and is easily comparable to "A Lion's Tale".

So why only four stars?

Simply put, "Undisputed" feels rushed. Whereas with "A Lion's Tale", Jericho took his time to detail his life story and provide a slow but page-turning timeline, referring to companies how they were at the time as he was unsigned to a particular company at the time; "Undisputed" feels like Jericho had Vince McMahon breathing down his neck, scrutinising every word of every sentence of every paragraph of every page of every chapter of the book. Throughout the book the company is referred to as WWE, no big thing, but to read the books one after another causes a slight shock to the system. Another big problem is large chunks of the story are missing. At one point Jericho talks about his debut at WrestleMania, and after a chapter about the journey of Fozzy, he is talking about his next WrestleMania...sort of...

The opening sentence to Chapter 10: Vince Loves Apes reads "WrestleMania X8 was looming and it was decided that I would work with my old friend from WCW, William Regal". Except Jericho's match with Regal was X-Seven, a year earlier. No biggie, except WrestleMania X8 was the most important match of Jericho's career, the main event against Triple H for the WWE Undisputed Championship, the first and only WrestleMania Main Event match Jericho would have until 8 years later at WrestleMania XXVI.

The book feels like it was not read through once, double-checked to make sure there were no typos, no misinformation, no, dare I say it, mistakes.

Sure, there is the same witty charm, the same behind-the-scenes exclusives, such as how Vince McMahon was as a boss, the elitist lockeroom, and how Jericho's first year in the company, despite who normal viewers thought everything was fine; was gearing up to be his last.

Overall, still a good book, but somehow only just in the same league as its predecessor, and really no way near as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So so, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not that great as Jericho thinks. It's only about meaningless jokes and not really showing the art of pro-wrestling.
Beliave me, buy Bret Hart's Hitman instead.

Saved by the bell
Francesco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undisputed (Kindle Edition)
No-one else could tell such an amazing story in a brilliant way with both wrestling and fozzy detailed to the max. Great story full of triumph, heart-break and resilience told by one of my favourite wrestlers of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars less of a sequel and more of a continuation of the best story ever told!, 12 April 2014
Starting right where 'A Lions Tale' ended this book tells the story of Jericho from his WWF debut and times with his Band Fozzy. 'break the walls down' is a good way to explain his books, as he really tells all from his life, most people write one autobiography but Jericho so far has 3 (the 3rd on pre order at the time I write this) so he really A. Has led an eventful life and B. Talks in detail about almost all of those events. If you're a Wrestling fan then this is for you and if you're a fan of his band Fozzy, this book goes into detail about his music career. These books really are 'the best in the world'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10 just as good if not better than a lions tale, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undisputed (Kindle Edition)
10/10 just as good if not better than a lions tale.

Excellent tales of his trials and tribulations within the wwe and some very entertaining fozzy stories. In depth an detailed this is a great read. Written in a way that it feels like jericho is telling you these stories face to face. Fantastic read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undisputed (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant book. The first one was brilliant and the second one was better. Despite being a huge chris Irvine fan this was a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent & Funny, 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Undisputed (Kindle Edition)
Jericho`s 2nd book is at times hilarious and well written keeps u interested all the way through never wanting to put it down.
Can't wait for the next one this October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Undisputed
Undisputed by Chris Jericho
8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews