Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foo's in full flight with Wasting Light
This has been called, by some, the Foo Fighters return to form, but they never lost it..if anything they've just explored their talents deeper. With their 7th studio album, they've taken the best bits from their entire back catalogue, pushed their playing abilities to the edge, and held on tight.. This is a new revived band, and with Pat Smear back to make up a five-piece...
Published on 12 May 2011 by Gabriel Hill Harriss

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Like The Others!
Album Seven, 16 years in, the Foo Fighters are facing the same quandary that any band of a certain age has : does the world need a seventh album? A twelveth album? What new are you saying that you weren't doing before? Why is this different?

And the answer is, it isn't. "Wasting Light" isn't the best Foo Fighters album : from the limp title and vague artwork,...
Published on 13 May 2011 by Mr. M. A. Reed


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foo's in full flight with Wasting Light, 12 May 2011
By 
Gabriel Hill Harriss "Dionysus" (Bedford,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
This has been called, by some, the Foo Fighters return to form, but they never lost it..if anything they've just explored their talents deeper. With their 7th studio album, they've taken the best bits from their entire back catalogue, pushed their playing abilities to the edge, and held on tight.. This is a new revived band, and with Pat Smear back to make up a five-piece force to be reckoned with, and Butch Vig at the production helm with the 'back to basics' approach, it's given Wasting Light the music industries much needed kick up the ass.
I wont go into the ego-critics over-indulged detail as you've read it all before, but what I will say is Wasting Light truly rocks. Having said that, there are songs for everyone whose ever loved the Foos, from the post-Nirvana explosion of their debut, or to the more undestated, underrated 'Nothing left to Lose', it has a mixed bag, exorcising demons, burning bridges, and driving Limo's, it's the Foos having fun again.. This might not be groundbreaking, but when the Foo Fighters do it this good, like the saying goes, if it aint broke, dont fix it...just add nitro and let her go!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect ingredients for the perfect rock album, 12 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
If heavy metal is a cheese sandwich, grunge is a crisp sandwich and punk rock is a turkey sandwich, then Foo Fighters have always been a turkey, cheese and crisp sandwich. They will forever be derided for not using any original ingredients, yet when you consider how instantly recognisable the Foo's sound is you have to wonder if all the comparisons miss the point. They make damn good sandwiches.

Wasting Light is not just more of the same, it's... well... more! More loud. More raw. More guitarists. More riffs. More pop. More catchy. More deep. More choruses. Dave Grohl has said that as soon as he found a big chorus he made it the bridge and wrote an even bigger chorus.

The important thing to know about Wasting Light as an album is that the writing itself seems to have received more attention to detail than anything Foo Fighters have produced in the last decade. In particular many of the songs on 2007's Echoes, Silence, Patience, & Grace felt underdeveloped, often content to hang around the same three or four chords. This is not the case here with Grohl and co regularly turning up with extra ingredients and crafting them perfectly into bigger and better songs.

'Bridge Burning' kicks the album screaming into life - quite literally. The opening 40 seconds is as good an album opening as you will ever hear and the rest of the song doesn't let up with machine-gun guitar in the verses and a chorus that shows the Foos still have one or two surprises up their sleeves.

'Rope' is the first single from the album and a particularly good example of how the three guitarists can combine so effectively without ever stepping on each other's feet or cluttering the sound.

'Dear Rosemary' is one of the Foo's more serious efforts - perhaps a distant cousin of 'Hey, Johnny Park!'- and has some great guitar work on the verse.

'White Limo' will instantly put long term fans in mind of 'Wattershed'. It's easily the most metal track on the album, or for that matter any Foo Fighters album. It is also one of most instantly likeable. If the first 40 seconds made you exclaim "Oh yes!", every second of White Limo will make you shout "Oh yes, oh yes, oh yeeeeeees!"

The opening to 'Arlandria' fools you into thinking that the relentless pace is set to continue, before pulling back. This is classic Foos quiet verse/loud chorus and screams 'next single' - not because it is commercial, but because it it just damn good. The chorus has a warmth and feel good factor reminiscent of 1999's 'There is Nothing Left to Lose' album. I defy you to listen to this song without a smile on your face.

'These Days' provides a welcome change of pace, though it doesn't quite venture into ballad territory, particularly since it still has a huge chorus. The tone of the guitars in the verses is superb and highlights the sonic difference that both the analogue recording and Butch Vig's production offers the record.

'Back and Forth' is another obvious candidate for the single charts. Foo Fighters manage to combine a chorus that is pure pop and catchy as hell with monster guitars and an interesting verse. It's going to get criticised by the music snobs, but it is every rock fans best hope of shoving the emos back in the draw marked 'tedious'.

'A Matter of Time' is not so much 'quiet bit/loud bit' as 'quiet bit, crescendo, massive tangent... NOW!" The album could have got a little stale at this stage, but thankfully enough attention has gone into it to keep the quality up. Just.

'Miss the Misery' is the least Foo-like track on the album at a first listen, though it still has that classic motif of borrowing dna from about a dozen different rock bands. I'm marking this one down as a potential grower. That is to say, it's not my favourite right now, but then neither was the underrated 'February Stars'.

The album's curve ball is 'I Should Have Known' - about a friend other than Mr. Cobain. You won't have heard another song like this on any previous Foos album and it will probably take you a couple of listens to get your head around, but this is Dave Grohl with his phaser set to heart-wrenching.

By contrast, 'Walk' flickers sweetly into life with its unapologetically hopeful message. It's juxtaposition with 'I Should Have Known' can be no coincidence. About two minutes in it kicks up another gear and like many of Foo Fighters album-closers, this one is definitely a grower.

I hate to throw around statements like "this is the best Foo Fighters album since...", but after just a few listens it's obvious that it is at least in the mix. There are two or three songs that I am as yet undecided upon, but as a Foo Fighters album it is right up there. It could easily be the follow up to any of the six previous albums - perhaps indicating that not only does it share it's dna with other great rock bands, but that we may even be looking at the next generation of little baby Foos.

Their debut album and even the magnificent 'The Colour and The Shape' were not game changers simply because Nirvana had already travelled that road. 'Wasting Light' could be, not because it brings any new ingredients to the table, but because those ingredients are so expertly combined that the soggy salad sandwich that is the current rock scene suddenly seems quite unpalatable in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FF Consistant if nothing else., 30 April 2011
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
Contrary to the beliefs of one of the people (Mister Joe) who reviewed this album, i have listened to all dave grohl's work and i understand that from nirvana he released an album taking influences from Nirvana and other bands/genres he enjoyed, and since progressed further away from the days of Nirvana with the likes of IYH. its evident that the man and the band itself are maturing both musically and personally (i beleive they are releaseing a film about the band in which DG said to each member there is at LEAST one part of the film for each of you that you will despise and want removed, DG included, but they kept them bits in in the interest of truth as aposed to trying to come accross as perfect plastic gods). There are many people who will regard this album as a failure, but i beleive it is another great progression of a timeless band, lets face it if the foo fighters were still releasing variations of stacked actors half the people reviewing and listening to this album wouldnt have being doing so, because as the music progressed so did the band in the limelight to the household name they are today.

If you like the foo fighters chances are you will enjoy tracks on this album.
If you like the queens of the stone age, chances are you will like certain tracks on this album.
The same can be said about many other clear influences you will hear throughout the album.

The Foo fighters have been churning out albums for over a decade and yet they still surprise people. Be it for better of for worse but im willing to wage that minus a few negative people who appear angry at the world rather than the band then you can take something from this album and genuinly enjoy it.

Another great album (in my opinion)

Foo Fighters. Consistant if nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of the Foo's but still brilliant!, 17 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
Have been a Foo's fan for ages and ages so i was super exited to find out they were releasing a new album - I really wanted to like it, and i am not disappointed - but there is just something about it that doesn't quite capture the "charm" of the Foo Fighters.

Ok so "white limo" is just awesome, by far the best on the album, took me about 2 listens to really get into it but after that I was thoroughly convinced,
The whole song flies along- its brilliant, definitely one of my top ten Foo's songs ever.

"Dear Rosemary" is awesome aswell, really quite catchy.

"Arlandria" is in my opinion the second best on the album [after white limo] - The palm muted guitar leads so well into the choruses - then it has an awesome climax towards the end, with "fame fame go away, come again some other day" with the typical Foo Fighters build up/crescendo ending in a badass Dave Grohl scream - pretty awesome

"Bridges Burning" is a great way to kick the album off, it is catchy and loud and awesome!

Now for the "bad" bit

So those 4 are great, the Foo Fighters at their best. but then the rest don't quite live up to the same standard as other Foo songs.
Ok so the songs are still very good,

It's just the harder parts don't quite have that same "badass" feel to them, (think hey Johnny park, Free Me, Enough Space, White Limo)

And the comparatively 'softer' parts don't quite have that charming nature (think Big Me, See you, this is a call, My poor brain, Doll etc..)

"these days" is a little too mopey, abit (though it kills me to say it) 'dull' - it isnt as beautiful as the Foo's can get (think the whole acoustic In my honour), and it isnt as poppy and catchy as the Foos can get.

So though i like it a lot, each song isn't as consistently awesome as past albums have been,

"Degrading" to analogue seems a pretty good idea, It sounds so lovely, its perfectly produced

overall, it isn't "5 stars", but its still bloody good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their best yet!!, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
I personally find this to be the best Foo Fighters album yet. All the songs are simply fantastic!

You can clearly hear some Queens of the Stone Age in there (one song in particular sounds a bit like "Ode to Clarissa"), which isn't really a surprise since Dave Grohl once played drums for them. It's not a bad thing either, since QOTSA is a great band!

Don't hesitate buying it, it's worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foos are back!!!, 6 Oct 2011
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
I have thought that the Foos where gone down a no way back road however with this album I am pleasantly surprised. They absolutely ROCK in thi album and for the many purist out there yes, this is the real old Foos.

Particularly lyke the 'White Limo' video and, of course the 'Walk' seems an interpretation of my own life, perhaps this is why I liked it so much.

Look forward to see the guys live in the UK but until then.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musical Light, 15 May 2011
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
"Wasting Light" by the Foo Fighters is an extremely well put together rock album. I do admit that I enjoy all the songs on this album, but I chose to listen to listen to this cd multiple times before reviewing this in order to gain a deeper understanding of the songs. I only say this because all eleven of the songs on "Wasting Light" are metaphorical masterpieces that are meant to be understood more from a creative level, rather than interpreting these songs literally. The following are my personal interpretations of a few of these good musical tracks (that stood out for me) in order to assist others reading this with making the decision to purchase "Wasting Light" by the "Foo Fighters":

"Rosemary": This touching musical number appears to be about someone that was very much loved, and still a spiritual and emotional part of the singer. However, this song seems to be about wishing to release this person that they very much cared about in order to make a "clean break" due to strong continual feelings.

"A Matter of Time": This song appears to be about the inevitable changes that are about to take place in a person's life, and their choice to come to terms with accepting and making peace with these shifts.

My two overall favorite songs on "Wasting Light" by the Foo Fighters are "Arlandria" and "Walk". "Walk" is currently my overall favorite musical gem that appears to be about turning over a more joyful transition to an even happier and more improved life, and looking forward to embracing whatever may come, and creating new experiences. "Arlandria" is a great song about a person's journey in coming to terms with their newfound and increasing experiences of popularity and spiritual evolution that are simultaneously taking place.

The best litmus test to determine if you are going to enjoy this cd is if you have listened to and have enjoyed "Learn to Fly" and "Everlong" (because "Wasting Light" is created in the similiar creative spirit as these songs). In addition, "Wasting Light" is very much a worthwhile purchase if you enjoy modern rock/alternative rock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Wasting Light (MP3 Download)
Another absolute classic from the Foos, not a filler track in sight. Even the heavily criticised White Limo rocks, just think mosh pit!

Thank you Dave Grohl, thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phew..., 12 May 2011
By 
Nikki B (Leigh -On-Sea - UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
Thanks goodness for that, I was getting worried that the Foos were never going to release another decent album. This album is the real Foo Fighters as you remember them. Pat is back, is this why they sound so great again? Who cares, this is album rocks, I love every track. Buy this album you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Foos, love guitars? don't think about it just buy it, 11 May 2011
By 
red sonia (lake district uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wasting Light (Audio CD)
Yet another cracking album from the Foos, great guest contributions from Bob Mould of Husker Du and Krist Novoselic. Really solid heavy guitar sound which you're going to get with 4 guitars up front. Love each track but in particular Rope, Matter of Time, White Limo and Walk. BUY IT NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wasting Light
Wasting Light by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews