Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strimmer
This piece of equipment does exactly whats on the package. The only annoying thing is that when set to trim the edges the automatic feed doesn't. A few bangs of the feed on the ground does the trick though.
Published on 13 Jun. 2011 by richard

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garden strimmer
This Black and Decker strimmer is nicely made and is nicely lightweight to handle. It does have a couple of minor problems. One is the poor quality of the strimmer cord. I seem to spend far too much time removing the head and pulling another length of strimmer cord through. The thing eats strimmer cord. If only B& D would fit a better , more durable cord it would...
Published on 28 Aug. 2011 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Garden strimmer, 28 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
This Black and Decker strimmer is nicely made and is nicely lightweight to handle. It does have a couple of minor problems. One is the poor quality of the strimmer cord. I seem to spend far too much time removing the head and pulling another length of strimmer cord through. The thing eats strimmer cord. If only B& D would fit a better , more durable cord it would transform this machine. The second irritating fault that I find is that there is no provision for winding the electric cable when the machine is not in use. I have tried winding it about the machine but so far have not come up with an answer, so the cable droops over the floor of the shed when the machine is not in use. A simple couple of peggs attached to the body of the machine so that the cable can be tidily woulnd round would transform this machine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer, 22 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
Well made & sturdy product which works well in strimmer mode. However not impressed with the performance when edging due to the poorly designed shape of the retractable metal guide making it difficult to obtain a straight edge along the lawn & virtually impossible to get a clean line when the lawn butts up to a path or drive. Also no facility provided to coil the cable when not in use. My previous Black & Decker GL580 strimmer (now obsolete) was a much better product for my needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strimmer, 13 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
This piece of equipment does exactly whats on the package. The only annoying thing is that when set to trim the edges the automatic feed doesn't. A few bangs of the feed on the ground does the trick though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars B&D GL 4525 SB GRASS TIMMER, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
AT LAST,A GRASS TIMMER THAT DOES NOT HAVE TO BE RE THREADED EVERY 5 SECONDS. I HAVE HAD TO BY A NEW TRIMMER EVERY SIX MONTHS BUT NOT ANY MORE.THE B&D GL 4525 SB IS ABSOLUTLEY PERFECT, I WOULD SAY THOUGH THAT IF YOU HAVE A FAIRLY BIG LAWN YOU WOULD PROBABLY BE BETTER WITH A BIGGER CUT THAN 25 CM OTHER THAN THAT YOU WILL LIKE THIS ONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Black & Decker GL4525SB strimmer, 30 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
A good basic strimmer - it's solidly built and does the job it's supposed to. Sometimes there is a problem with the line auto feed not feeding enough line and manual intervention is needed but generally it works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, BUT, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
After some 15 years of reliable service my B&D GL540 Reflex strimmer gave up so an obvious replacement would be another B&D.
Size of the old and thus the new was with a 250mm head.
Item was received with prompt delivery and was found to be easily assembled.
In action I found the new strimmer much heavier in weight and the balance not so good despite the apparent advantage of an adjustable handle length. In addition the noise of the electric motor is greater and very high pitched. Change from flat to vertical strimming simple enough but no where as quickly or easy as my old strimmer.
In addition my old strimmer came with 40' of cable and the new just 20' - very mean -which now means I have to use an extension cable.
All in all its OK but the old model was far better in every respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black & Decker Strimmer, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
This strimmer is a wonderful piece of garden accessory. It works very well and one doesn't have to keep stopping to mend the wire.Excellent for edging and cutting grass that has grown too long for the mower to cut. I would definately recomment this electrical item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, but, 22 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
The product is excellent and I would recommend it the people who designed it deserve a pat on the back, and then a kick up the butt for being so parsimonious with the power cable, it is just too short, If they had supplied just three or four metres more it would have deserved at least seven out of five stars. The supplier can not be faulted, tremendous service, will certainly buy from them in the future.

I have now used this product several times and I think it deserves a higher commendation than the one I gave. I use it in a very large garden ( 1.25 acres) and it has given a tremendous performance, in fact I am going to order another in case B&D stop making them. The designer deserves more than the pat on the back that I originally suggested, a bouquet would be appropriate, but because of the very short cable , he deserves a much bigger kick up the backside for spoiling a perfect machine for such a petty reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Better off using scissors!, 2 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
Hopeless! had to go over the same bit of grass again and again, went back to my old one, which was a Black and Decker funnily enough but a two cord line!
I will now have to throw this away and buy something else, I feel let down by Black and Decker and will not buy again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent strimmer, 15 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black & Decker GL4525SB 450W Strimmer Gear Drive Trim and Edge Reflex Auto Line Feed (DIY & Tools)
I am not a gardener and prior to buying this item I have never before picked up a strimmer. I had a 60' x 20' patch of grass that had not been touched in over 12 months. Within two hours this piece of kit had levelled the lot. Very reliable and easy to use. I recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews