Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The life and times of a " half buffoon , half genius "
James Gleick's life of Feynman comes highly recommended to anyone concerned with the scholarship of safe-cracking , impromptu Brazilian samba ensembles and the fineries of quantum electrodynamics . Space shuttle design and the Manhattan Project are also included , so that no critic can claim in any seriousness that Feynman lacked balanced life-experience. This book is...
Published on 6 July 1998

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars As much about his science as about the man
Thorough, exhaustive & well constructed. Heavier on his science than about the man himself. I was left feeling Feynman was his science.
Published 12 months ago by Trudy M Anderson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to love the bomb, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would have loved to be able to converse with this man. Unfortunately, he would have said...GO AWAY!....a real genius who went too early.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good biography of a complex man, 27 Nov 2013
By 
Almac (Torquay, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sympathetic, but not too much so, treatment of a remarkable man. Scientific detail enough to get the basic ideas involved and sufficient references to follow up areas of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating mix of his beloved physics and his personal life, 1 Nov 2013
By 
G. S. Gordon "georgegordon" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's all here - the physics, the Manhattan Project and a moving account of his life with his first wife.

In addition to RP's foibles, this shines a light on the personalities of many other physics icons.

I'm a physics graduate but this can and should be read by anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling story, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A tale of a complex person told well. Gleick should be applauded for this marvellous biography, having created a compelling narrative from Feynman's life of diversity and curiosity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A tour de force, 25 Oct 2013
By 
J. S. Burnett (UK Oakley,) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gleick's command of his subject is extraordinary for such a complex man. Feynman's deductive intuition is phenomenal and to enter into this world of unreality yet to create a sure footed path through it is remarkable. However, Gleick's command of the subject does not end there because his insightful digressions into the characters who played a significant part in Feynman's life illuminate the whole field of early quantum mechanics. Peter Watson's "Ideas a History" vol.3 is a brilliant description of the people who played a part in this conflagration of old physics but treats them as chessmen, James Gleick has these 'chessmen' come alive with their emotional drives for recognition and the politics behind their behaviour. In this hot house conflagration Gleick, again sure footedly,grasps the new concepts and takes one through the tortuous reasoning behind the development of quantum mechanics. It is in the reasoning process that one can discern the historical turmoil, again brilliantly described.
Every student of modern physics must own a copy of this book not only for its erudition, but for the high drama of the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars As much about his science as about the man, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thorough, exhaustive & well constructed. Heavier on his science than about the man himself. I was left feeling Feynman was his science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for any Feynman freak!, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fascinating look at a scientific genius and fascinating character. For those who've only learnt something of the great physicist through his anecdotal autobiographies or through the BBC programmes about him, this book burrows down into the man and his subject to a greater depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 21 Jun 2013
By 
K. Archer "book worm" (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a classic of its kind, excellent and informative, worthy of the person who is the subject, wonderful Richard Feynman. If I don't grasp the physics, it is fascinating to see how he tackled the problems and made shortcuts to the solutions !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A unique life, 6 April 2013
By 
R. EDWARDS "Robpix" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well told biography of a complex character dedicated to discovery and proof. Despite the impossibility of my understanding in detail the work he did I felt I could clearly see why it was admired and the effect it had on furthering an understanding of the world around us. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love him..., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Feynman was a genius, but I think I liked the other biography more (Surely you're Joking).
This is a good book, and goes into a lot more depth - but the other has more of his character, and conveys his personality as it is rendered immortally on YouTube...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews