Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining AND not quite as we expected!
Ok. If you are reading then there is a very good chance you will have read, and enjoyed the previous six adventures of Kris Longknife and her almost private army. Mike Shepherd takes a slightly different tack in this tale of high adventure. Longknife finally meets up with the dread Iteeche, only previously mentioned in dark tones in the earlier books, and being the...
Published on 6 Dec 2009 by Ghostgrey51

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing entry in an enjoyable series.
"Undaunted" reads like either the author or (more likely) the editor couldn't really be bothered. The biggest and most annoying plot hole is the mysterious threat, which the characters seem to think is about to explode on them, but hasn't actually done anything particularly aggressive.

You've also got Admirals attempting petty theft (badly) for little apparent...
Published 12 months ago by K. Hartnett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining AND not quite as we expected!, 6 Dec 2009
By 
Ghostgrey51 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok. If you are reading then there is a very good chance you will have read, and enjoyed the previous six adventures of Kris Longknife and her almost private army. Mike Shepherd takes a slightly different tack in this tale of high adventure. Longknife finally meets up with the dread Iteeche, only previously mentioned in dark tones in the earlier books, and being the unconventional, bold character she is, becomes involved in a dialogue rather than a war. Now this thread takes up most of the book and as I read it I started to think 'Part 1 of...' - not that there is anything wrong with that - Mike Shepherd's style and ease with his characters makes the book at one absorbing and enjoyable. Of course no Kris Longknife book is complete without action in the form of explosions, shoot-outs, mayhem and a couple of twists - I'm not going to say anything about that, don't want to spoil the read for anyone - however Jack is a bit more prevalent- and we've still got the 'R' word hovering between Jack and Kris. Yes this certainly leads into the next in the series, and I for one can't wait! - In the meantime- Simply going to have to start reading the whole series again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable hokum, 16 Nov 2009
Well, I quite liked this. But there are some problems...

The blurb on the back basically misrepresents the book. It claims that there is an "unidentifiable force that is roaming the galaxy, obliterating everything in its path - a path now leading directly toward human space." Well there isn't. At least not in this book.

What we actually have is Kris Longknife doing a bit of alien diplomacy and solving a human-human problem in a remarkably blood-free (for her) way.

The second, and more long range, problem is that the Iteeche are basically the least alien aliens I can remember. As the book is clearly only the opening for more involvement (and possibly Xenophily, but we'll leave that to Kris) this is going to become much more apparent in the next book(s) I suspect.

But, as I said right at the beggining, I did quite like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars go west young longknife, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seventh in a series of military science fiction novels centering on the exploits of Kris Longknife, member of a powerful military family finding her own path in life and using her talents to stop fighting on colony worlds. New readers could probably get into this volume relaitively easily but there's a lot of backstory by now and as such I'd advise starting with the first volume instead Mutineer (Kris Longknife Novels).

Not least because the series is very good and they're all worth reading.

This instalment runs for approx 351 pages and 41 chapters and sees Kris and her crew come into contact with the Iteeche, a race of aliens whom humanity once fought a war with, slightly before Kris's time. So she has to break the language barrier with them. Find out why they'll only talk to her grandfather in regards to a message they have to deliver. Deal with differing factions on a colonial world not unlike a certain american state. And then the ramifications of what the aliens want are only just beginning...

Added to which she's still got a precocious twelve year old passenger who is giving her personal computer bad habits and at least one relationship might have to be evaluated.

As ever with this series it's the little details that make it so entertaining. Two hundred pages without any action, just Kris's attempts at diplomacy and dealing with onobard situations, fairly fly by and there's no problem with there being no action. The planetary situation is then the main focus for the next hundred pages. This is quite and interesting world and there's one major event in the middle of things that will make you gasp.

And then after that Kris has difficult choices to make.

All of which will have to be dealt with in later volumes.

But this is such a good read that it makes you eager to get to those volumes when they come out, so it does what it needs to do.

Another entertaining read in an entertaining series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Undaunted (Kris Longknife), 1 Dec 2009
The latest in the Kris Longknife series, and up to the high standard of the previous books. We finally get to meet the Iteeche (the aliens who nearly exterminated mankind 50 years ago), and as usual Kris ends up in the middle of the whole show. If you liked the previous novels then you will want this one too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again another great addition to the ever growing Kris Longknife series. The addition of Jack Campbell as a captain of vessel called Dauntless was an unexpected but lovely surprise. And shows one authors respect for another
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing entry in an enjoyable series., 18 Sep 2013
By 
K. Hartnett (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Undaunted" reads like either the author or (more likely) the editor couldn't really be bothered. The biggest and most annoying plot hole is the mysterious threat, which the characters seem to think is about to explode on them, but hasn't actually done anything particularly aggressive.

You've also got Admirals attempting petty theft (badly) for little apparent reason, AIs getting confused by things they frankly shouldn't, and in general the sci-fi in the series is kind of weak on the sci. Still, I've enjoyed plowing through the series up to this point and I'll continue on - I just hope this book doesn't mark a real downturn in quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough of Kris Longknife & her crew, 11 July 2013
By 
Zol. (Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The adventures continue... seriously, if you haven't read any of the Kris Longknife books, go out & buy the 1st book! I guarantee that if you like we'll executed sci-fi you'll gobble these stories up to! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews