Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent storage container; just about right for a 1.5Kg bag of flour
I bought a couple of these initially as a description seen in a kitchen suppliers' catalogue stated them to be suitable for a 'just opened 1.5 kilo bag of flour'. I keep the flour in its bag and then store the opened bag in the container. I tried emptying the remainder of the bag into the box and pouring or scooping from it but I found it easier and considerably cleaner...
Published on 1 April 2012 by Andy_atGC

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big but not big enough
This will NOT hold a full UK "sliced loaf" of bread.
It will take a "small / mini" loaf or a home-baking machine loaf.

Its good for pasta or other bulk products like flour.
Published 21 months ago by Mike B.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent storage container; just about right for a 1.5Kg bag of flour, 1 April 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
I bought a couple of these initially as a description seen in a kitchen suppliers' catalogue stated them to be suitable for a 'just opened 1.5 kilo bag of flour'. I keep the flour in its bag and then store the opened bag in the container. I tried emptying the remainder of the bag into the box and pouring or scooping from it but I found it easier and considerably cleaner to continue to pour from the bag. I since bought a few more in this size for other flours.

Far from being the first Lock & Lock boxes purchased, they were an addition to a small collection at the time and which is now considerably larger. When using for flour, not only are the boxes air and water-tight when sealed, they are also weevil-proof, important when a competing 'air-tight' container used for the same purpose was found to contain a weevil-infested bag of flour that was opened and used only a few days previously when the contents were then perfect. Since using Lock & Lock, no weevils or other pests!

I now use a variety of similar boxes for all sorts of dry or semi-dry ingredients, each appropriate in size to normal commercial pack sizes. Some have pouring spouts of some description, and are more suited to pulses, rice etc but the spouts do slightly reduce the air-tight quality although they do have caps to close.

These boxes can also be used to contain fluid rather than dry ingredients and, as they are both freezer and microwave-safe, they can be used to defrost something previously frozen and then to bring it to serving temperature in the microwave. With a wide variety of shapes and sizes, and with many capacities, there should be one to fit most kitchen needs. Most are easily stackable and, although it is easiest to stack individual sizes together, you can also mix and match some of them quite well.

Mostly reasonably priced, they are also widely copied by other makers but I believe that L&L's products are slightly ahead of the pack.

Very good value and an excellent range with very few disappointments. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect size for bread machine loaves, 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
Having read loads of reviews of the various bread bins out there, I went for this one as I wanted something that was air tight but not too big for a standard bread machine loaf.
This one does the trick - just the right size, completely air tight, dishwasher-safe. It even fits easily into the fridge so preservative-free home baked loaves can last a teeny bit longer.
I loved the idea of an expanding/contracting bread bin as sold by Lakeland but that model ahs lousy reviews and actually has air holes - presumably to help the bread dry out?
I have had lock and lock containers before and their quality has far out-lasted many inferior copies on special offer at supermarkets etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock and Lock container, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
Fit for purpose - and was extremely useful at Christmas time for large quantity of soup which had to travel! G
ood value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect 1.5kg flour storage, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
Lock & Lock are the BEST storage containers I've ever used. This particular one is absolutely perfect for tipping in a full 1.5kg bag of flour, or indeed for storing a generous amount of anything else that tickles your fancy! I make bread and have a few of these stacked up, full of different flours. Another reviewer suggested just putting the bag of flour straight into the container - not sure why you'd do this as you would not be able to see how much you've got left, which, for the frequent bakers, is one of the great things about using these containers.
Spot on product, well done Lock & Lock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent quality, 10 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
Perfect size for storing flour, sugar etc. Good quality and arrived quickly. Haven't had them long enough to test them for being airtight but looking good so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Big but not big enough, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
This will NOT hold a full UK "sliced loaf" of bread.
It will take a "small / mini" loaf or a home-baking machine loaf.

Its good for pasta or other bulk products like flour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 10 Dec 2011
By 
s_l_clay - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
I have been searching for an airtight and watertight plastic storage container that holds an entire bag of 1.5kg flour for ages, and I am happy to report that this is perfect for the job. The plastic is strong and seems to be of very high quality. The lid fits very well, which reassures me that is it water and air tight. I also very much like the dimensions of it. It is not too tall and fits perfectly in the top shelf of my cupboard. My standard cupboard shelf will fit 3 of these containers side-by-side, so I shall now be ordering 2 more for my plain and bread flours! Really happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
Just right for 1.5 Kg bags of flour the slightly domed lid lets a whole bag in so it's very neat sat on a shelf or in a cupboard. Plus being water and air- tight there's no spill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Size, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
Very pleased with the size they take a bag of flour perfectly. They stack well, but wish they had a non slip grip on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arghh - blasted containers not tall enough for some flour bag designs!, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container (Kitchen & Home)
I bought three of these storage containers to store some of my Spelt flour order.
(I had flour still on order when these arrived!)

Unfortunately, they are not big enough to store some 1.5k flour bag designs!
eg from Bacheldre Watermill - unless some flour has been used/tipped out!

Some reviewers are too vague and their views too misleading!
My advice - Buy taller containers if you try out flour from unknown companies, for proper storage!!

(PS if you like your bread with butter like I do - get the
"lock & lock Butter keeper".

It easily fits 500g/half pound block and comes with a really useful 'inner' lid(actually the base) for softening outside fridge/keep insects etc off!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lock & Lock 2.6 Litre Tall Square Container
£6.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews