Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scala, Kolacny Brothers
Fantastic, easy on the ear album, adding contemporary voice to a lot of classics including u2, Foo Fighters, Nirvana etc. Brilliant. All female choir from Belgium are arranged and directed by the Kolacny brothers.
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by Daphne

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a very good school choir
I bought this album having been blown away by their cover of With or Without You. What impressed me most about that performance was that it was a true **arrangement** for choir, and not a mere transcription of an original. Too many choirs sing pop songs by simply duplicating all of the instruments in "bap dap dap" fashion, and the result is almost never well suited to...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Eoin Conway


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how come i missed this, 8 Mar 2012
I had never herd of Scala & Kolacny Brothers before i went to my local HMV shop and they had there latest CD playing and i really enjoyed it so much i got it ,some of the music i did not like by the proper artists ,but this take on it is very good , i will be looking at some more .5 stars from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic music sung beautifully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cracking album of covers, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cracking album of covers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lovely album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I firstly heard of the choir after their music was played a lot on BBC 6 Music and bought the album on the strength of what I heard.

I personally love the style of this album and am quite surprised by some of the comments on the album. I'm not a big fan or expert of classical style music and I suspect this album may be for people who are familiar with the original versions of all the songs featured. This is the only reason I can think of that some people may find the record a bit 'samey'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointing, 21 Aug 2011
Never buy anything on the word of an article. I expected a lot from this album of popular song arrangements for choir. In fact it turned out to be completely without colour. The voices are used to simply sing the tune with an overbearing piano accompaniment. Unfortunately the Kolacny Brothers cannot sustain an whole album it becomes tedious very quickly, this is not the fought of the choir, which sing beautifully, it is the arrangements and lack of empathy for the music that lets it down. It's a shame because potentially it promised much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "CREEP?", 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They sound beautiful. I bought this CD for the song "Creep". I watched the video in YouTube and I love it (I love the original song too, of course). But... why they say the "F***" word in the song in the videos, but not in the song in the CD? I'm so f***ing disappointed! "Creep" without that simple word, it is not, "Creep". I'm so sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not my thing, 11 Jan 2012
I purchased this for my partner but I note he has not played it a lot. He had been raving on about Scala but they do nothing for me I am afraid. Background music, turned down very low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scala & Kolacny Brothers
Scala & Kolacny Brothers by Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews