Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scala, Kolacny Brothers
Fantastic, easy on the ear album, adding contemporary voice to a lot of classics including u2, Foo Fighters, Nirvana etc. Brilliant. All female choir from Belgium are arranged and directed by the Kolacny brothers.
Published on 28 Jun 2011 by Daphne

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a very good school choir
I bought this album having been blown away by their cover of With or Without You. What impressed me most about that performance was that it was a true **arrangement** for choir, and not a mere transcription of an original. Too many choirs sing pop songs by simply duplicating all of the instruments in "bap dap dap" fashion, and the result is almost never well suited to...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Eoin Conway


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scala, Kolacny Brothers, 28 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD)
Fantastic, easy on the ear album, adding contemporary voice to a lot of classics including u2, Foo Fighters, Nirvana etc. Brilliant. All female choir from Belgium are arranged and directed by the Kolacny brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patience Pays, 15 Sep 2011
We first heard The Scala Choir over 5 years ago and tried to 'track' down a CD of their work without success. We never gave up hope though and at long last this amazing and original choir have been added to our collection. So many favourite tracks, but we've always loved Nirvana's 'Smells Like Teen Spirit'; good to see Depeche Mode and Foo Fighters represented as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lived up to my expectations! absolutely love this record. love every minute of every track. excited to hear more from them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels with a piano, 6 Jan 2012
I bought this album having liked Scala for a long time, originally attracted by their version of "Every step you take" by the Sting in the Downton tv series adverts and this certainly doesnt dissapoint.

Whilst I'm not a choir purist, I find the simplicity of voices with a piano is a refreshing twist on modern pop songs, creating a moving experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Like a very good school choir, 31 Dec 2011
By 
I bought this album having been blown away by their cover of With or Without You. What impressed me most about that performance was that it was a true **arrangement** for choir, and not a mere transcription of an original. Too many choirs sing pop songs by simply duplicating all of the instruments in "bap dap dap" fashion, and the result is almost never well suited to voices. But Scala sang their own version of the song, transforming it in the process, showing us something in it that we hadn't heard before. This is what arrangements should do. And it was sung simply, purely, with tasteful piano accompaniment and judiciously-placed harmonies. I give With or Without You five stars, and if you can purchase just that song for download, I recommend it.

But as you listen to the album, a formula begins to emerge. Up-tempo songs are preserved more or less as recorded, with the piano supplying the rhythm and harmony, and the choir taking the vocals. More introspective songs are generally slowed down, and sung quietly and sadly. Few songs are improved by this process. Smells Like Teen Spirit is interesting, stripping away the grunge-rock to get at something darker and more introspective, and substituting Nirvana's alternating quiet / loud structure for one gradual build in volume. But their version of Radiohead's "Creep" takes the same approach, and I started to question whether smoothing out the cathartic outbursts of anger, replacing them with a constant passivity, is really such a good idea.

The choir is good. They sing in tune, and their voices blend well together, but unison melodies (with occasional harmony) are not difficult to sing, and this choir is always well within its comfort zone. They sing accurately, but that's about it. If this was a school choir (which is what I thought when I first heard them), it would be very impressive indeed. But from an adult choir, we should expect some more engagement with the music. The sense of "easiness" comes through in the music. It's undemanding, both on the choir and the listener, and consequently its rewards are rather shallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For people that do not know it its a great variation of songs that might be mainstream, but are sung in a child chorus, its lovely to hear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely album, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw these guys live and they were incredible, and the album doesn't disappoint. Some great covers, all beautifully sung. Would definitely recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how come i missed this, 8 Mar 2012
I had never herd of Scala & Kolacny Brothers before i went to my local HMV shop and they had there latest CD playing and i really enjoyed it so much i got it ,some of the music i did not like by the proper artists ,but this take on it is very good , i will be looking at some more .5 stars from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I firstly heard of the choir after their music was played a lot on BBC 6 Music and bought the album on the strength of what I heard.

I personally love the style of this album and am quite surprised by some of the comments on the album. I'm not a big fan or expert of classical style music and I suspect this album may be for people who are familiar with the original versions of all the songs featured. This is the only reason I can think of that some people may find the record a bit 'samey'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointing, 21 Aug 2011
Never buy anything on the word of an article. I expected a lot from this album of popular song arrangements for choir. In fact it turned out to be completely without colour. The voices are used to simply sing the tune with an overbearing piano accompaniment. Unfortunately the Kolacny Brothers cannot sustain an whole album it becomes tedious very quickly, this is not the fought of the choir, which sing beautifully, it is the arrangements and lack of empathy for the music that lets it down. It's a shame because potentially it promised much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scala & Kolacny Brothers
Scala & Kolacny Brothers by Scala & Kolacny Brothers (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews