Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple to use compass
Easy to use compass, ideal for someone learning to map read ( even has easy to follow instructions on back of package if needed )

99% plastic but looks robust, with neck cord.

Got this to help our son stargaze with starchart ;-)

Bevel ( with finger grips ) is easy to move but not too loose.

Dial does not 'glow' in dark but is...
Published 21 months ago by Dragon Heart

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor - pointer fails to locate north
Compass points in a different direction pretty much every time I look at it. I've only tested it at home, and I'm glad I have as I have no confidence in this at all. I'll have to purchase a different compass before going on any treks.
Published 7 months ago by MR J P DOYLE


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple to use compass, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
Easy to use compass, ideal for someone learning to map read ( even has easy to follow instructions on back of package if needed )

99% plastic but looks robust, with neck cord.

Got this to help our son stargaze with starchart ;-)

Bevel ( with finger grips ) is easy to move but not too loose.

Dial does not 'glow' in dark but is easy to read with small torch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sufficient compass for some basic orienteering, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
I have found this compass to be a cheap and cheerful compass for the price on amazon. I am not a "survival" expert but have used the compass on some basic hikes and have found it to be accurate. At a very basic level the compass will easily tell you are heading in the correct direction. Which I can imagine would be useful for basic orienteering (especially for school groups) when you know you have to head North/South.

I cannot admit to using the compass to determine an exact location on an ordnance survey map. I can only imagine that the readings would be less accurate than a £40-50 compass found on amazon.

I would recommend this compass for anyone requiring a basic compass.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor - pointer fails to locate north, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
Compass points in a different direction pretty much every time I look at it. I've only tested it at home, and I'm glad I have as I have no confidence in this at all. I'll have to purchase a different compass before going on any treks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
this compass doesn't work, each reading is different, sometimes it points in completely the wrong direction.
don't bother buying this garbage, it could get you lost!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compass, especially for the money, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
This compass is excellrnt, it's small and light enough to carry around my neck easily, and is hardy enough to not be destroyed by heavy useage. It glows in th edark enough to let you use it at night with little or no light, and is a vital tool for anyone with any interest in orienteering or mountaineering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See where you are going, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
Easy to use and great when walking and good to teach the kids how to find there way with this compass and a good map
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit, 23 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
Got these for my 8 year old grandson. This is not the best product on the market but he is happy enough and it is good enough for learning the basics. Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
Very pleased with the map compass kit just at i wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 30 Jun 2014
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
needle does not turn properly and it is not cost effective to send back, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit-review., 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit (Misc.)
An excellent item that still lives!
Hardy and durable,a must have!
Dead handy and I need to use more words to post....that's it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Army Orienteering Map Compass Navigation Kit
£2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews