Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent short story.
I read this years ago in a compilation of short stories. Some good ideas that haven't really dated although the social interaction is showing its age slightly.

The only reason this didn't get five stars is the price. I felt a little bit 'done' because this is a real 'short' story.
Published 22 months ago by Sundodger

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A story of two halves.
This is most definitely a story of two halves. The first half has survived the years since its publication in 1943 really rather well.

Opening with a description of an interstellar storm of epic proportions where matter and anti-matter collide and annihilate one another releasing enormous amounts of energy in the process. This description was made possible at...
Published on 13 Jun. 2011 by Shaun Horrigan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A story of two halves., 13 Jun. 2011
By 
Shaun Horrigan "Shaun" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm: A Science Fiction Classic (Kindle Edition)
This is most definitely a story of two halves. The first half has survived the years since its publication in 1943 really rather well.

Opening with a description of an interstellar storm of epic proportions where matter and anti-matter collide and annihilate one another releasing enormous amounts of energy in the process. This description was made possible at the time of writing by the relatively recent discovery of the positron and the excitement that the possibility of anti-matter produced even made it into the science fiction of the day, even though the word antimatter is not actually used in the story.

Against the backdrop of this storm a huge intergalactic battleship capable of subduing entire civilisations has just found a race of robots - robots who have hidden themselves away for a very long time and have no intention of being brought back under the control of humanity.

The second half of this story explores the relationship between a robot man and a human woman and was probably considered enlightened and perhaps even slightly risqué at the time, but unfortunately the fact that some things even needed to be said really does make the ideas being expressed feel dated and old fashioned.

The Kindle presentation is pretty good throughout, and there is even a decent pulp style cover picture.

Overall - 3 stars: Even though the second half of the story has not aged that well, this is still classic pulp science fiction from a master storyteller and I enjoyed most of the forty minutes or so it took me to read the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent short story., 28 Jun. 2013
By 
Sundodger (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm: A Science Fiction Classic (Kindle Edition)
I read this years ago in a compilation of short stories. Some good ideas that haven't really dated although the social interaction is showing its age slightly.

The only reason this didn't get five stars is the price. I felt a little bit 'done' because this is a real 'short' story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good short story, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm: A Science Fiction Classic (Kindle Edition)
So typical Asimov, short and sharp. No wasted words. I wonder if he ever expanded this story.
Loved it. Definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too short., 9 Mar. 2013
By 
M. Hughes (C.I.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm: A Science Fiction Classic (Kindle Edition)
I always liked A E Van Vogt. This didn't disappoint but I wish it had been one of his longer stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SiFy, 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm: A Science Fiction Classic (Kindle Edition)
a reasonable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit of a yawn, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Storm: A Science Fiction Classic (Kindle Edition)
I suspect this will only be really appreciated by hard core, dedicated sci fi fans. I found it a bit slow and uninspiring. But that's just my humble opinion. Ratings for books are like any other art form. You either like it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Storm: A Science Fiction Classic
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews