Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Mistakes
Very well written but why all the ridiculous word such as Hollands instead of . Dutch etc did become very irritating and spoilt what was otherwise a very well written and moving story. Surely even if a book is self published they must hav e used an Editor at some stage to advise them on this ort of thing. I see the author has written several other books but in case...
Published 10 months ago by msperson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the person who translated this needs more lessons in english
This book could be a really good story. However it is let down by weak parts yet the end result is that you feel that you have read a memorable work of fiction. It is the story of the harrowing times of a Jewish young man David Stein and how he overcomes being hidden from the Germans, how he is betrayed and then thinks he is coming to England only to be sent finally to...
Published on 11 Dec. 2011 by gingerkevin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars the person who translated this needs more lessons in english, 11 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
This book could be a really good story. However it is let down by weak parts yet the end result is that you feel that you have read a memorable work of fiction. It is the story of the harrowing times of a Jewish young man David Stein and how he overcomes being hidden from the Germans, how he is betrayed and then thinks he is coming to England only to be sent finally to Belsen with all its horrors. He survives Belsen and is sent to stay with the Gruder family in Celle after the war as he has TB. They have lost their own two sons in Russia and at first are not very welcoming towards David but we learn how this evolves and it is a very touching part of the book.
Interwoven in this is the story of Joachim Strauss the Colonel in charge of finding Jews for the Labour camps from Amsterdam, and a Dutch jewish sailor who double crosses Strauss.
To give much more of the story away would in my opinion spoil it for the reader of this review,
The one thing that really bugged me throughout this book is that the people from Holland speak Dutch they DO NO speak Hollands, this was almost on every page at the beginning and I have to say spoilt the storyline.
I was sorry the ending did not finish better unless the author is planning to write a sequel.
It is left with David perhaps going to settle in Palestine but before that he is to go to London to try and find the widow of someone he met in Belsen.
I do not think you will be disappointed if you buy this book just be prepared for a lot of simple grammatical errors and not very good translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 4 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
This book, despite some historic errors and awkward terminology ie, speaking Hollands instead of Dutch this book provides the reader with a good read. The plot was good and the characterisations were pithy and realistic. I have no isssues with the actual content of the book and the typos, while mildly irritating, certainly did not spoil my enjoyment.
I found the story quite compelling and the tension worked throughout.
I would have no doubt in recommending this book to anyone with an interest in this particular genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars angel of amsterdam, 9 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
this book has the potential to be really good, but is let down by silly mistakes. Bad Dutch, constantly refered to as "Hollands", and incorrect facts and dates. For example: Hitler did not invade Sweden!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mistakes, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
Very well written but why all the ridiculous word such as Hollands instead of . Dutch etc did become very irritating and spoilt what was otherwise a very well written and moving story. Surely even if a book is self published they must hav e used an Editor at some stage to advise them on this ort of thing. I see the author has written several other books but in case he had mhall nade similar mistakes I sot read them, although Angel of Amsterdam held me glued to it in spite of the stupid mistakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My tears, 22 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
A great story, which at times moved me to tears. It brought home just how people suffered under the Nazi jackboot. The ending to the book was some sort of healing for both David and Lisl and again started my tears to flow again. Fiction, but still so real, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book !, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
This is an interesting book that shows you a side of the war that is not often described in such good detail. I found it a compelling read, you are drawn into the story from page one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angel of Amsterdam, 21 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
A sad story,I think ,the boy went through so much ,to have lost everything,parents,sister,and the people who helped him along the way,how can man be so cruel to their fellow men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
A compelling read, I could not put it down. The story of this young mans suffering was so realistic. The portrayal of those who helped him was also heartening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thrilling, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
really exciting and plot very good excellent read found it very hard to put down descriptions of countryside very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War story, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angel of Amsterdam (Kindle Edition)
A very good story about a boy in Holland , at that difficult time in the War , it was word reading .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angel of Amsterdam
Angel of Amsterdam by Alfred C. Strohlein
£2.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews