Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely cracking Storyline
This was something new to me and whilst I remember seeing it advertised on Fox, it was something that I wasn't 100% sold on originally even though I knew that it starred the talented Noah Wyle (of Librarian fame.) What unfurled within is a story of human survival against an overwhelming alien foe. Its cleverly written, has a great overall arc and when added to the...
Published on 24 Jun. 2013 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A grounded, crippled, watered down, frequently boring, disfigured pale copy of "Battlestar Galactica" - in one word, A FAILURE!
This first season of initially promising new SF series about human resistance against mysterious alien invaders is, to my considerable regret, a globally failed attempt. Which is a pity, because it had potential and some characters (and actors playing them) are reasonably good. Below, more of my impressions, with some SPOILERS.

In a very near future (like...
Published 12 months ago by Maciej


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely cracking Storyline, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This was something new to me and whilst I remember seeing it advertised on Fox, it was something that I wasn't 100% sold on originally even though I knew that it starred the talented Noah Wyle (of Librarian fame.) What unfurled within is a story of human survival against an overwhelming alien foe. Its cleverly written, has a great overall arc and when added to the twists keeps the viewer emotionally engaged during each encounter as the humans try their best to figure out what's happening.

All round a solid, though provoking show and whilst there is an absolute plethora of other similar themed shows out there, this one has great acting talent backed up with descent scripts which is where the money needed to be spent to keep the viewers attention. Yes the effects are limited within but I'd rather have something that kept my attention and made me care about the cast than something that was all show and explosions with no real plot.

A solid series and one that I'll definitely be following from now on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Falling Skies: Complete First Season [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Pleasantly surprised by the character development and storylines. Off to a slow start initially and then the pace stabilizes and runs fairly well. This is definitely more soap opera scifi than hard scifi, and decent acting and reasonable plot lines make a positive contribution. Sadly, there was room for a lot more to the story - but so far things have been focused on a very few key characters with most of the Second Massachusetts being treated as backdrop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 'End of the world / aliens take over', 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say. Great. First season is low budget but the story is there. Short for US season at only 10 episodes but it does mean less waffle and more to the point story line. If you like all the 'end of the world' 'aliens taking over' stuff then enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Promising and entertaining, but with some massive plot issues..., 29 Sept. 2012
By 
SNS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the entire series on blue ray because I had wanted to watch this on TV, but it seemed to run at weird times and wasn't very well advertised.

Finally I had a chance with the box set and it has been a mixed bag.

This is a show which shows massive potential and I can see it going great places in later seasons, but the first seasons is a bit questionable.

1) The visual effects.

The main aliens which you see throughout the entire show are very well animated, but the mech. units are absolutely awful and in most scenes they are badly positioned, badly animated and move weirdly and have no real life.

A perfect example is the final episode, where a large number of mech. units are on screen at one time, and they all move in sync without any independence and no life to them. Yet on the other hand, other scenes are amazing and the aliens look alive. Its a mixed bag!

2) The very strange plot holes.

A lot of people have talked about the strange idea of having the children collect scrap metal. This is actually explained later down the line and as a plot idea, I didn't mind it. The bad aspect is the way in which it is shown on screen. You see a shot of children walking across a roof top and throwing small bits of metal to the ground for more to collect. Unfortunately the scene is underwhelming, badly shot, badly acted and just has NO impact for what is meant to be a mass-scale operation by the aliens.

Then you have the idea that 200-300 humans are just casually walking through the countryside to a newer and safer location! None of the aliens saw them??? They are camped out in a massive field where other humans can see them, and yet the aliens don't?

There are numerous other, strange story events which occur throughout most of the episodes, which are strange and make no real sense and no real thought seems to have been put into them. You really do have to turn your brain off for most of this.

The last issue being the lack of scale! Now this may be answered in a later season, but where are all the aliens?

At the very first episode, one of the children states there were "millions" of aliens during the first invasion, and yet we barely see one or two of them at a time and again... these humans are able to walk through the countryside in the hundreds without encountering anything?

If you can ignore all of that, this is a good show!

A show which shows potential to grow and become more defined.
The acting is top-notch and the action sequences quite impressive.

There is potential here, but like a lot of TV shows the first season is finding its feet and needs to be cleaned up for the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A grounded, crippled, watered down, frequently boring, disfigured pale copy of "Battlestar Galactica" - in one word, A FAILURE!, 1 July 2014
By 
Maciej "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This first season of initially promising new SF series about human resistance against mysterious alien invaders is, to my considerable regret, a globally failed attempt. Which is a pity, because it had potential and some characters (and actors playing them) are reasonably good. Below, more of my impressions, with some SPOILERS.

In a very near future (like tomorrow) Earth was invaded by aliens and almost the whole planet was conquered, with almost all the major cities around the globe ruined by massive bombardment. In the first episode, on the East Coast of USA some last remnants of military, completed by a hastily organised militia of all able bodied men and women who can and want to fight, still resist alien mopping operations. Those series follow the tribulations of one such militia unit, the 2nd Massachusetts, a roughly 250 fighters strong outfit, led by Captain Dan Weaver (Will Patton) and his second in command, Tom Mason (Noah Wyle). Casting Patton as the leader of a "good guys" post-apocalyptic militia is actually a pretty nice goof, as much earlier in his career he played an abominable leader of "bad guys" post apocalyptic militia (in "Postman")...)))

Weaver used to be a professional soldier before retiring and becoming a businessman - he was recalled to duty and promoted to captain of militia after most of regular army was destroyed in initial alien attack. Mason used to be a history teacher and even if he is second in command he doesn't seem to have a military rank, but he is obeyed and respected, because of his natural charisma, great bravery in combat - and also absolute honesty...

Amongst other members of 2nd Massachusets important for the story are Mason's two surviving sons (his wife was killed and his third son is missing), Hal and Matt. Hal is a precociously adult 16 years old soldier and squad leader, when Matt is still a, troubled and quite unhappy, little boy... There is also Karen, Hal's teen age girlfriend - and also a hardened battle veteran; Dai, a man of few words, trusted member of Tom Mason's own squad; Jimmy Boland, a 13-years old child soldier and Anthony, a tough and powerful black man, former Boston police officer.

Later on more important characters will appear, two of which are the most crucial - a certain Pope (Collin Cunningham), a man with heavy criminal record but also some unsuspected skills, about whom I will say no more and Maggie (Sarah Carter), an absolutely gorgeous young woman with an attitude and a very, very difficult past...

This tale of last humanity survivors trekking amongst he ruins of the world to find a place of safety when also bringing the fight to their opressors could and should have been an interesting show - but it ISN'T! Most of every episode is a lot of extremely boring, tedious talking about always the same thing: what were you doing before the invasion? how do you feel about the invasion? dad, I love you, do you love me? blah, blah, blah; what will you do after the invasion? do you remember how our house looked before the invasion? etc.etc. It is almost all the time talking, talking, talking, without ever saying anything interesting - and also with Tom Mason trying to teach (rather lamely) history to everybody...

Aliens are roughly divided into two categories: organic creatures named "skitters" and war robots called "mechs". The "skitters" are supposed to be dangerous - but they NEVER carry any weapons or body armour and can be killed by just anything, including knives! The "mechs" are much tougher, have excellent armor and pack some serious heat - but they all the time emit loud trumpeting noises warning everybody that they are around and at night they also use powerful lamps, making them visible from many miles...))) There are also some flying patrols but they are virtually completely blind, only seeing warm, moving targets...)))

In fact, those alien invaders who crossed the distance between stars and destroyed all human armies in a matter of days seem to be now completely unable to find and destroy a company of light infantry, traveling all the time in a convoy of vehicles with ALL LIGHTS TURNED ON AT NIGHT! Even more ridiculous, after all the modern armies in the world failed to make much effect against the aliens, at one moment their whole base is devastated by just ONE antiquated RPG-7 rocket...)))

Now, of course, in this kind of films without plot holes bad guys would always win as a civilization travelling between stars MUST have military technology we cannot even dream about at our stage of development - especially a civilization which is THAT aggressive, destructive and CRUEL (I cannot really dwelve on the topic - but those guys are REALLY abject, and I don't mean by that their physical aspect...). But come on, in those series the scenarist didn't even TRY to make something even remotely plausible - and that hurts those series very, very badly indeed.

Even worse - every time when a good idea appears, it is crushed and destroyed and almost every time when an interesting character appears, he/she is killed immediately. Yes, there is a couple of attempts to produce twists - but they are all so obvious and anti-climactic, that we can see them coming well in advance, every single time... Also, if you think some social and moral issues like those posed by the "Battlestar Galactica" series will be treated - well, think again! There is not even one ounce of originality or of courage in "Falling skies", just banalities and political correctness (of course the ONLY violent human gang of outlaws which 2nd Massachusetts has to fight is entirely made of whites)!

I watched this first season until the very end and I must say that I was very disappointed. I only give it two stars instead of one because of two main female characters amongst 2nd Massachusetts, doctor Ann Glass (Moon Bloodgood) and young nurse Lourdes Delgado (Seychelle Gabriel). Even if they are not allowed as much screen time as I would like to, those two characters provide at least one reason to keep watching. Middle aged doctor Glass, formerly a pediatrician, who lost all her family during the invasion and is now the combat surgeon for 2nd Massachusetts and young Lourdes, formerly a medicine student who is now the chief nurse in the field hospital, are indeed the kind of gals we not only fall in love with - we worship the ground on which they walk! The fact that they are both very pleasant on eyes doesn't hurt either...

Now, those series get a tiny little bit more interesting in the last episode of first season and also during the second season - not much, but still... It doesn't change my opinion about "Falling skies" as mostly a failure - but still, it can be a reason to carry on the watching, awaiting for the - very small - amelioration...

Bottom line, this is a mostly failed thing, in fact it is even slightly less good than the new "V" series (which themselves were rather poor) and of course it CANNOT be compared to the amazing show that was "Battlestar Galactica". AVOID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars promising, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
there is very little sense of fear or desperation in the earlier episodes and i was on the verge of giving up watching. the characters however and the gradually developing storyline have got me interested. the special effects are a bit nineteen seventies and its by no means the best series i have ever watched but i will still give series two a go, mainly due to noah wyle in the central role
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-Fi Family Greatness, 31 May 2012
By 
K. Hynes (galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I generally love sci-fi, books, movies, and TV. I approached 'Falling Skies' with every bit of excitement only a Spielberg conception could produce, and was pleasantly rewarded.
The show uses carefully woven plotlines and engaging characters to create a post-apocalyptic world helmed by aliens, nicknamed 'Mechs' and 'Skitters' by humans. While it's true dystopian worlds are a dime a dozen these days, 'Falling Skies' does the smart thing, and approaches the genre with a new angle: Family.
It was refreshing, to say the least, and made the story seem all the more threatening when the characters were in jeopardy. I like this new spin on an age old concept, and I eagerly await season 2!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series - Give it a chance!, 16 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. J. Puckey "StreetZips" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I borrowed this box-set from a friend and I almost quit halfway through the first episode but I'm very glad I continued, I've now watched the second series and greatly await the third that comes out this summer.
Give it at least 2 episodes before you decided to give up on it and I guarantee you'll be hooked like I was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sensational series, as well as the box this season, although simple, is very good and watch out fully the expectations.
Came with tracks and subtitles in Portuguese, what is very good too.
Very quick delivery from Amazon.
100% recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good start, 28 Jan. 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Six months after an alien invasion which was most of mankind (or at least America) wiped out; small pockets of survivors exist trying to carry on while being hunted down by alien machines "mechs" and creatures "skitters".

Every family has been touched by tragedy cause by these invaders. History professor Tom Mason's family is no exception.

Tom (Noah Wyle - ER, The Librarian), the father to 3 boys, has lost his wife, who was killed while trying to retrieve some supplies, and has a "missing" son, Ben (Connor Jessup - Saddle Club), who may or may not be one of the "harnessed children" - slave labour for the alien invaders. Still with him are his eldest son, teenager Hal (Drew Roy) and his youngest son, Matt (Maxim Knight).

The military resistance part of this group is lead by Captain Weaver (Will Patton - [[24), a man who's family was devastated by the arrival of the alien forces.

As they search for supplies and wait for orders for the fight back from military command (Dale Dye - Band Of Brothers), they pick up the odd straggler both wanted and unwanted - Margaret who is a fighter (Sarah Carter - Skinwalkers) and John Pope (Colin Cunningham - Stargate SG-1) who was voted the favourite character on the show in an online poll.

There is the mandatory love interest in the shape of Dr Anne Glass (Moon Bloodgood - Terminator Salvation).

This series has the Spielberg name attached to it and, after Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, it did put me off for a time, but I decided to give it ago. I found it to be an entertaining story. Yes, it has some problems, but then again there aren't many series that don't have any problems.

I think that one of the problems is that people saw the Spielberg name and thought that every episode would be a 45-50 minute mini movie; something which all shows should aim for, but hardy ever achieve.

This first season is more about family dynamics than any fight back. If this season was the usual 22-24 episodes then these first 10 episodes would be the character dynamic introduction and the start of the build up of the story towards the battle, and that's the way I am looking at this season, as a build up for what I hope will be an improved second season - more action and drama and less of the perfect Mason family dynamic.

The show also makes the point that humans aren't always good; that many of them, even in times when people should pull together, will have their own agendas.

The 10 episodes are over 3 discs:

- "Live and Learn"
- "The Armoury" - audio commentary - Greg Beeman
- "Prisoner of War" - audio commentary - Greg Beeman
- "Grace"

- "Silent Kill"
- "Sanctuary" - part 1
- "Sanctuary" - part 2
- "What Hides Beneath" - audio commentary - Noah Wyle & Mark Verheiden

- "Mutiny"
- "Eight Hours"

The "Extras" are on disc 3 are:

~ Animating the Skitters
~ San Diego Comic Con 2011
~ Behind the Scenes - "The Unknown"
~ Behind the Scenes - "Second Mass"
~ Unanswered Questions - Season 2 Sneak Peak

I admit that I like survival stories, ever since I became hooked on the Resident Evil games a couple of years ago, which is why I like series like "The Walking Dead". It makes a change (for me at least) for the enemy to be Alien rather than a zombie.

It is an enjoyable bit of fun, but did leave me feeling a little let down. I wanted more fighting back and less loving. That said, I am looking forward to a second season to see how the story develops and how the fight back, which started in the final episodes, works out.

* Soundtrack: English, French, Spanish
* Subtitles: English, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews