Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Hopkins shows why he is the world best actor now
Absolutely loved the film.The movie house was packed out and by the screams and gasps from the audience ,they loved it too.
The filming of the locations made the film even for macabre.
I think this shows Anthony Hopkins in a new light .His talents far far exceed any actor or actress in this film .
This movie MUST be seen just for the acting of Anthony...
Published on 2 Jun 2011 by Mr. P. Barley

versus
27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Rite Rumpus
This film is physically and, as you would expect, metaphorically dark. A young, sceptical novitiate priest with a troubled childhood is posted to Rome to learn the arcane arts of exorcism.
He soon meets the voice of experience played by Antony Hopkins and sees some "real" exorcisms. Hopkins' performance and the movie generally have been panned by the critics but I...
Published on 13 Mar 2011 by Neil STUART BANKS


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not rite at all, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Maybe i was expecting more,on the whole i was disappointed.The storyline was slow ,and if we are to believe what goes on in the film,possession by demons is quite common ,if you live in Rome.Anthony Hopkins plays a priest who makes house calls to people claiming to be possessed. Supposedly being based on truth i found it over the top and unbelievable,sorry not my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Hopkins at his best !!!!, 2 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Almost as good as "The Exorcist" - Anthony Hopkins was his usual brilliant self. Kept your attention throughout and really enjoyed the suspense, drama and brilliant acting. You must watch this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Rite - Exocist Lite, 13 April 2011
By 
N. Cannon (UK, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I so wanted to like this movie, Hopkins is great as usual, but the other main male lead is just plain forgettable... see! I've forgotten his name! zero charisma and lets the whole film down.
Saying that, the script wasn't that great either, very predictable, the obvious stylistic nods to The Exorcist and The Exorcist 3, but hardly any suspense, as the whole struggle with faith angle was telegraphed from the start, the whole "I believe in the Devil etc.... speech was ripped off from Exorcist 3 (Legion, the official follow up to the Exorcist) Do yourself a favour, rent Exorcist 3 instead, a far, far, superior film that tackles similar notions of faith, good and evil, but with a great cast starring George C Scott Exorcist 3 [ 1990 ] Uncensored - Widescreen And genuinely delivers chills and a few nerve shredding scares.
The Rite had a few interesting moments, hence the 2 star rating and not the 1 I wanted to give it, but it's just so limp, predictable, spoon feeding the audience, this was a Disney Exorcist movie, infact Bambi has more scary moments than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Wanted to watch this fil since it first came out in the cinema. When I brought it it was in perfect conditiona nd arrived before time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome! Loved it, 23 Jan 2012
By 
Thelma L. Workman (thelma workman) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This is a fascinating movie on the edge of my seat, an interesting relationship between the main characters a must buy for Hopkins fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars True story? Hmmm......., 23 Dec 2011
By 
Kentspur (Er...Kent) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
While Anthony Hopkins is okay (ish) in this and there are a few nice shots of Rome, one can only think this got a cinematic distribution because of the True Believers who see this stuff as documentary rather than horror (check out the five star reviews.)

There has been one absolutely excellent exorcism film - The Exorcist - and two pretty good ones - The exorcism of Emily Rose and Exorcist Three - and a few 'devil' films that have been tremendous fun - End of Days; The Devil's Advocate; The Omen (not the remake); The Usual Suspects - but did we really need a play-it-straight; demonic-possession-is-real; the-only-hope-is-to-believe-in-God time waster? I think not. Tension is absent because instead of tap-dancing around the fundamental problem with 'devil' films - if there's a Devil, there's a God, so the Devil's always going to lose - The Rite glories in this as a Christian existential truth. In the tussles with the demon, I found myself shouting from the touchline 'just say you believe in God and everything'll be fine, mate!'

I'm not an Atheist - the arrogance of Dawkins, Fry et al drives me potty (there is no God - I know this because I'm very clever and only stupid people believe, which puts me in mind of two pretentious ants stating there can be no such things as aeroplanes because they cannot conceive of it) - but, in a film, simple, faith-based solutions to diabolic difficulties make for dull narrative. A full on, skeptical documentary with footage of the 'real' exorcists going toe-to-toe with Ba'al or whoever, cool - let's make up our own minds - but this neither fish nor fowl, limp drama - nah! Give me Linda Blair and Max Von Sydow any day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a keeper, 6 May 2011
By 
Caught this film a few weeks ago and was quite disappointed...young trainee priest has doubts about his vocation so is sent to Rome to learn how to become an exorcist...Apparently based on a true story...but who knows..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rite, 26 April 2011
By 
Daniel Wilkinson (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This film ticks all the predictable boxes it is done strictly by the numbers, nothing in this film is cutting edge & in my opinion its a 3 star film purely because of Hopkins, the other characters are just meerrrr blah blah. Better films in this genre are out there & if a true thrill is what your after try something else, want to kill 90 minutes on a weekday evening then this will do it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Looked forward to seeing this film as a great fan of Anthony Hopkins but got so bored did not even watch to the end! Did not hold my attention at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Rite [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
i watched this film in cinema's and it was the best ive seen. this is the 9th exorcism movie i have seen and this is one the the best. i will be buying this as soon as it comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rite [DVD] [2011]
The Rite [DVD] [2011] by Mikael Håfström (DVD - 2011)
£2.73
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews