Customer Reviews


1,091 Reviews
5 star:
 (858)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (40)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1,138 of 1,164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Song of Ice and Fire: Part 1
Here it is then. the long awaited television interpretation of the first part of George R.R. Martin's epic fantasy series. This show will affect you in different ways depending largely upon two possible scenarios, 1. you have read the book(s) beforehand, or 2. you haven't.

If you have read the books then you will have the added advantage of going into this...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by Pankow27

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Bad DVDs
This review is for the dvds only. The show itself is great and you'll find details of that all over the internet.
However, the dvds are not great.
I received this last year as a Christmas present and due to being busy with Uni, I have only just been able to watch it. The menus are fine, the case is fine (if a bit flimsy as the plastic sections of the case were...
Published 2 months ago by Zeon Rat


‹ Previous | 1 2110 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1,138 of 1,164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Song of Ice and Fire: Part 1, 8 Dec 2011
By 
Pankow27 (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Here it is then. the long awaited television interpretation of the first part of George R.R. Martin's epic fantasy series. This show will affect you in different ways depending largely upon two possible scenarios, 1. you have read the book(s) beforehand, or 2. you haven't.

If you have read the books then you will have the added advantage of going into this series with some serious background knowledge, which, given the expanse of Martin's literature, can only be a good thing. It is good (as a fan of the books) to see the characters portrayed on screen by, what can only be described as, an excellent cast. My personal favourites are Sean Bean (fellow Yorkshireman like myself) who plays Lord Eddard Stark, the proud, strong and brave (if not a bit stubborn and old-fashioned) Lord of Winterfell, the icy kingdom of the north. And, Peter Dinklage, who gives, as ever, a wonderful performance as Tyrion of House Lannister, a noble-born dwarf cursed by the hatred of his proud father but blessed with an unmatchable wit and intelligence.

The story is relatively straightforward insofar that nothing groundbreakingly orignal happens. Martin's fantasy literature is about believability and realism; it is completely unlike Tolkien in that way (I don't like to compare the two authors, but most people seem to be doing so lately). Whereas Tolkien favoured Orcs, Goblins, castles and wizards, Martin prefers the medieval touch, dealing with knights, lords and priests. The story is very intricate and may leave you slightly unfulfilled at the end of the series, but, bear in mind this is only the first part of seven.

One good thing, as a fan of the books, is that Martin had a very close hand in the production of this series which means very little tinkering has been done. If you compare it to The Pillars of the Earth for example, parts of the tv series didn't even come close to representing what happened in the book leaving hardcore fans a little bewildered, and not a little irritated. Martin's books though are so jam-packed with plot and character building that there really isn't much room for artistic license for the directors. They have a lot of story to get through, and only 10 episodes to do it in!!

If you have never read Martin before then, what can you expect? Well, it is fantasy first and foremost (like I said earlier, with a medieval twang). Without spoiling or giving anything away the main plot is basically this: the continent of Westeros, ruled by king Robert Baratheon, falls into turmoil amidst a hungry power struggle between the realms nobles and knights. Expect a lot of plot twists and cliffhangers at the end of each episode. A quick word of warning to any of those sensitive souls out there as well, this series contains graphic bloody violence, nudity (tactful), swearing and some scenes of a sexual nature. It certainly IS NOT for kids (like Lord of the Rings etc.).

Overall then I will sum up for you in some quick bullet points:

+ George R.R. Martin's literary masterpiece brought to life
+ great cast
+ wonderfully made, no corners have been cut, everything looks imacculate and professional
+ entertaining plot, good twists, beautiful ladies, handsome men, fighting, loving, laughing, crying (really, something for everybody here)
+ hour-episodes mean for a great amount of entertainment for your money

- series 1 deals with book 1 of 7, if you get into this now, don't expect to see the ultimate conclusion for at least another 10-15 years (the last two books haven't even been written yet)
- a little cliched in parts (I really didn't get this impression from the book though)

I would highly recommend people to take the time to see this series and get into the number 1 fantasy series of the modern era. I would also recommend that you buy and read the books. Thank you for reading.

(Thank you to everyone who found my review useful. I hope you are enjoying GOT!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aged lady, 68. Is completely hooked on "Game of Thrones"., 6 Jun 2014
This review is from: Game Of Thrones - Season 1 (DVD)
Just can't get enough of this remarkable series. Started watching it about two weeks ago - wanted to know what all the fuss was about; not sure if I've received the final disc of Series 1...there was an inconclusive quality to the last disc I watched...will find out when I order Series 2. How different watching TV
Is these days...more or less instant gratification via "box sets"! Not sure if this is an entirely good thing; it makes me forget I "have a life"! In the old days one was required to remember what happened a week ago, and one got on with one's daily duties: Now I can spend a whole Saturday, even if the weather outside is gorgeous, watching an entire series, which. as far as Game of Thrones is concerned, with all it's convolutions and surprises, is almost necessary.

In any case, the casting is just about perfect, the characters demand the viewers' involvement, the plot is a "stonking" one...forget Lord of the Rings...so much, so same. Computer generated graphics have never been more effective...well, in my opinion, at least. Perhaps it's because, so far, it's the wonderful scenery which is computer generated. There are no real monsters, just monstrous people...and even they have recognisable and empathy arousing qualities. No one is totally bad or good...except I hope the dreadful Joffrey gets his "just deserts" at some time in the future...little weasel-faced s***! I'm sure the actor enjoys being so evil..."bad guys" are always the most fun to play...probably because it's somewhat liberating to do stuff on screen that one would never dream of doing in real life.

I'm hooked and I'm 68 and a half. It's an amazing and thoroughly engrossing program. And I don't even fast forward through the repeated opening: a map, for God's sake. Congratulations to everyone involved with this significant artistic venture. It's broken new ground.

I hope this review gets to some of the movers and shakers responsible for such superlative entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


204 of 219 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, Entertaining, Brilliant Drama, 23 July 2011
By 
Magic Jem (Peak District, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I was somewhat cynical when mentions of Game of Thrones cropped up all over the web with gushing reviews so it took me a while to give it a whirl.

Predictably though, I was hooked from the first of the ten episodes. Compelling, well cast characters - well known faces mixing with new - and engaging dialogue, there are some fantastic performances - not least Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage and Emilia Clarke. This show is a much needed breath of fresh air in schedules crammed with middle of the road dramas and programmes well past their peak, it makes the fantasy genre watchable again and pulls you into it's world completely. Far from being hammy like many other programmes with a medieval/fantasy bent, it is complex, gritty and many layered. Nothing here of the brain dead TV that spoon feeds and recaps viewers every 15 minutes.

I'm now keen to read the books during the wait for season 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


500 of 547 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fantasy for Adults only.., 30 May 2011
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I havent read the books so i am going to give an unbiased review of the television show only.

I think its fantastic, an amazing cast, extremely well written and authentic to the likes of which i had never seen.

This series is quite astonishingly violent, its brutal, bloody, graphic and will make you turn away from the screen, i know i have several times so far.

In some of the later episodes i was heaving, some of the scenes in it are quite astonishing disgusting they made me sick to my stomach, and im amazed in the sense that they have the guts to show it on screen, but this is what HBO does best, it pushes the boundaries. There is one scene where one of the characters eats a fresh horse heart and i was almost sick, but it was a vital moment in the storyline.

It comes with warnings about extreme violence and scenes of a sexual nature, so be warned if you are faint of heart because you will see blood, you will see killing, you will see sex, lots of it actually, and yes a few full frontal scenes do make it on screen, so if your a prude i really wouldnt buy it.

This show is going to go on to be know as one of the greatest television shows ever made, the attention to detail is astounding, the opening credits are probably the best i have ever seen on a tv show, and the Dothraki language for example was created especially for the show.

George R R martin who wrote the books is an executive producer of the show and co-writer so you can bet that not only will the show follow his books to the letter but that also 50% of the main cast will be dead before it ends.

The casting is brilliant, Sean bean is amazing as Ned Stark, Mark addy as King Robert is also brilliant and watching the friendship between these 2 on screen is quite marvellous to see.

I really like Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jamie Lannister. he is sexy and charming but quite vile, and Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister is hilarious, he is funny, charming, sarcastic, brave and prob the nicest of the Lannisters and should win Emmmys for his performance.

The stand out actor for me however is Emilia Clarke who plays Daenerys or Dany. She is sublime in this role, she is sweet, naive, submissive and fragile, sexy and strong and really comes into her own over the course of the season. I have been told that She plays a very important and large role throughout the entire book series so i shall look forward to watching her role grow.

The very end shot of the season finale will literally put chills down your spine, incredible.

I will not write a detailed synopsis as i hate spoilers so i will give you a premise into what the show is about

SPOILER FREE...

Set in the fictional realms of Westeros and Essos, A Song of Ice and Fire follows three principal storylines, divided by geography and participants, struggling to claim the Iron Throne and rule all the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros.

Each of the following houses are battling to win the right to rule the kingdoms.

House Arryn
House Baratheon - Robert Baratheon is currently King.
House Greyjoy
House Lannister - Robert is married to Cersei Lannister
House Martell
House Stark - Eddard stark is the current hand to King Robert.
House Targaryen - Daenerys is married to a horse warlord called Khal Drogo

What you need to know is that the entire 1st season of Game of thrones is based on the book written by George R R Martin A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1) and HBO have said that each concurrent season will be based on the books in sequence so there will be 5 seasons in total, however George R R Martin has now written a 5th book and plans to write 2 more so potentially there could be 8 seasons as book 3 was written in 2 parts.
If you wish to read the books in sequence here are the links:

Book 2 - A Clash of Kings: Book 2 of A Song of Ice and Fire

Book 3 part 1 - A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3 Part 1)

Book 3 part 2 - A Storm of Swords: 2 Blood and Gold (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3, Part 2)

Book 4 - A Feast for Crows: Book 4 of A Song of Ice and Fire

Book 5 - A Dance With Dragons: Book 5 of A Song of Ice and Fire (Song of Ice & Fire 5)

Books 6 and 7 will be called The Winds of Winter and A dream of spring and will be published in the next few years.

I dont know about you, but now having seen all 10 episodes i want to know what happens next so i am going to buy the books and start reading.

The score written by Ramin Djawadi is beautiful and dramatic and really adds to the suspensefullness of the show.

One last thing, this show is not for kids, i wouldnt let anyone under the age of 16 watch it personally, it is made completely for adults and its nice to see a show that does not pander to the rules of censorship.

A classic in the making !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, on every level., 13 Feb 2012
By 
R. Keech (Berwick upon Tweed, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Where to start? Beautiful scenery, diverse well rounded characters, and more twists than a bag of pasta.

I started watching this series with absolutely no knowledge of the George RR Martin books from which it was written. I had nothing invested in these characters beforehand, no preconceptions and, other than having seen an advert for the series before the launch of sky atlantic, no hype to live up to.

Right from the first episode I was hooked. It was fantasy as I know and love, but something was different? The way these characters spoke, behaved and reacted to one another felt so much more real! There is no posturing, no grand prophecies filled with foreboding, etc. Though not completely original, it seemed to be avoiding a lot of cliches too.
The real lynch pin(s) of this first series have to be the brilliant Sean Bean, who plays Eddard Stark - Lord of Winterfell (one of the seven kingdoms in which the series is based); along with the similarly superb Mark Addy, who plays Robert Baratheon - King of the aforementioned seven Kingdoms. For a show that has no real clear 'good' or 'bad' characters, these two really stand out early on. However, as the series progressed - I started to find all the accompanying characters just as compelling.

The story, deep and complex as it is, revolves around a variety of Houses or Families as they struggle to maintain the balance of peace in the lands whilst simultaneously struggling for the power of the iron throne (upon which Mark Addy sits). After the untimely death of his right hand man, King Robert (Addy) calls upon his friend Ned Stark of Winterfell (Bean) to join him at his court as the hand of the king. A reluctant Stark agrees to join him and slowly begins to uncover threads of conspiracy, deceit and possibly murder that he tries to piece together while the King drinks, eats and enjoys the company of ladies other than his wife.

No one family or House is painted as the House the viewer should support (as one reviewer wrote: the characters are all painted in shades of grey; some more grey than others). Interestingly, as you get to know the various characters a good number become firm favourites - even when their ultimate goals are directly opposing. Game of Thrones reminded me very much of The Wire in this way; you find yourself wishing for impossible outcomes as for one favourite to succeed, the other must fail.
Aside from the King and his hand, there are a number of other quality characters that emerge as the story progresses. Much has been made of Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister - and rightly so. The Imp, as he is so called, is the comic relief, sharpest wit and unsung hero at different times. Relative newcomer, Kit Harrington, shines as Jon Snow - the illegitimate son of Ned Stark; also Alfie Allen continues to impress as stark's ward, Theon Greyjoy.
However, I feel I have to make mention of the incredible talent of one Jerome Flynn - yes THAT Jerome Flynn, as in "Robson and Jerome". He plays a relatively small part of Bronn, a hired sword in the company of Tyrion Lannister. A lot has been said of Peter Dinklage, but I feel its the quality and chemistry of his AND Jerome Flynn's characters that make for the most memorable scenes.

I was eagerly anticipating season 2 of the great epic, until my EVENTUAL realisation that this series is based of the Song of Fire and Ice series of books (sorry long term Martin fans!!!) and have promptly gone and bought the first 4 books in the series. I am at the end of the second book so far and it has me very excited for April when the second season comes to the UK!

Highly recommended series, my favourite TV show of the last few years! Let's hear it for Jerome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Bad DVDs, 8 Oct 2014
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This review is for the dvds only. The show itself is great and you'll find details of that all over the internet.
However, the dvds are not great.
I received this last year as a Christmas present and due to being busy with Uni, I have only just been able to watch it. The menus are fine, the case is fine (if a bit flimsy as the plastic sections of the case were coming away from the cardboard, but that's the nature of these cases) and there are enough special features. All of this is perfectly fine and as expected.
However, the picture quality is appalling. I've tried them on multiple TVs, dvd players and on two computers and the quality is bad on all of them. I have twenty year old vhs tapes with better picture quality than these and every disc is the same. The picture is very, very pixelated and looks worse than some illegal copies friends have shown me. I have recently bought the Babylon 5 dvds and despite this show being over twenty years old, the picture quality on those dvds are infinitely superior. Indeed, the picture quality on this season of Game of Thrones is comparable to a 170p youtube video.
I don't know if they have improved in the year since I received this season but if not, I would advise plumping for the blu rays as these are almost unwatchable on a smaller tv. I've just been able to make do by watching on a large tv but from far away.
This is confined only to season one as I also own seasons two and three and the picture quality is as to be expected from a dvd.
This is one of the very few times I've felt the need to leave a review as the picture quality is very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones - the first season, 11 Jan 2013
This review is from: Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Game of Thrones - The first season

Winter is coming..
In Westeros summer lasts ages but when the time is up, winter brings forth famine, cold and other dangers one would not want to think of. Despite the danger of the changing seasons the war around the throne of Westeros rages on, not on the battlefield but by intrigues, matchmaking and devious murders.

Turning a book into a movie often turns out to be a dissapointment to the reader and sometimes even to the watcher.
So how about turning a book series into a television series?

The american premium cable television network, HBO adapted the fantasy novels A Song of Ice and Fire" by american author George R. R. Martin into a fantasy television series.
David Benioff and Daniel B. Weiss developed the series and titled it Game of Thrones", referring to the title of the first volume of A Song of Ice and Fire".

Game of Thrones" is a series that combines beautiful medieval landscapes and settings with talented actors and a plot that will leave your mouth wide open and your eyes wet more than on one occasion.

Appropriate to the quality of this high-budget series the DVD-Box is also thoughtfully crafted with its grey in black design and the hook for the series, Sean Bean, on the Iron Throne.
It contains five DVDs all with their own place in the foldable box. This foldable box fits neatly into another solid box which contains the smaller box with the DVDs, an artbook and an episode guide.
Also the DVD box contains bonus material such as an audio commentary, From the Book to the Screen" and many other insights into the making of Game of Thrones".

I have read the books and the series is very close to the books, at least in the first season.
To me, Game of Thrones" is the perfect medieval fantasy series and as in the books, I got connected to the characters really quick. They are played by very talented and upcoming actors.
The plot is sometimes hard to follow since there are so many players on the field, who play the game of thrones but it's worth the time and you will get so involved with the plot that you'll crave the next episode coming up.
Since there are a few more books to go, I'm excited to see up to seven following seasons of Game of Thrones".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Game of Thrones - Season 1 [Blu-ray] [Region Free], 30 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought my wife would love this as she loves Sean Bean, alas no. However my twins and I are addicted, brilliant series. Can't wait to get series 2. As we don't have Sky, we have to buy it!
Although produced by the US company HBO, filmed in Europe with mostly British actors.
I've never read the books but am told they are also great.
A mixture of sword and a little sorcery with excellent casting, plot lines and lots of intrigue.
Well recommended as sometimes, no frequently, there is so little worth watching nowadays unless you are into reality TV and X Factor style programmes, this is shocking, entertaining and amusing, though not always at the same time! A refreshing change to bland TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for me, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I appear to be very much in the minority (I was bored by the first book) but I really am not enjoying the TV series. I get that it is a feast of dark, complex political manoeuvrings, that it is very well cast and acted (mostly by Brit and Irish actors I happily note) and it is a totally brilliant visual spectacle (the music and title sequence is amazing), but it doesn't do it for me. The violence is every present, bloody and vicious, the female nudity gratuitous as hell and the lack of humour, other than the wonderful Peter Dinklage's Tyrion Lannister, makes the whole thing somewhat of an ordeal of blood, guts and gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story and the Blu-ray version is much better than the DVD version, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The blu-ray version of this series has much more detail and some nice touches too. There are a lot of extra, plot-line infos and explanations in this box set compared to the standard dvd. This helped me a lot to get into the story.

The story itself is vast and hard to explain. Needless to say that it is about the control of several kingdoms (the thorne) and unlike most plot lines you really can't tell who will live and die; even main characters can (and often do) get dumped off! The story line is compelling, often shocking and some times amusing. It is set on a different world where magic and dragons exist, although on the whole the story line follows a more conventional line.

On the whole, then, this is a great dvd and well worth the extra for the blu-ray version.

NOTE: This series is not for the squeamish -- be prepared for some shocking scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2110 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD] [2012]
Game of Thrones - Season 1 [DVD] [2012] by Sean Bean (DVD - 2012)
£13.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews