Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skilfully compiled box of seventies Elvis
You will rarely get two people to agree about the merits of the music Elvis recorded in the seventies. Even if they agree about it being patchy, they will invariably disagree about which tracks are good and which are bad. In compiling this set, a clear attempt has been made to pick out the best, but it is inevitable that you (like me) will think that some tracks should...
Published on 22 Feb 2003 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars lots of tracks good value but many poor ones too.
there are many tracks on this set that are good, but some very poor ones that shouldn't have been included. would have been better to make it a 4 cd set and remove some very poor tracks which detract from the set.
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by John R. Bryan


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skilfully compiled box of seventies Elvis, 22 Feb 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk a Mile in My Shoes (Audio CD)
You will rarely get two people to agree about the merits of the music Elvis recorded in the seventies. Even if they agree about it being patchy, they will invariably disagree about which tracks are good and which are bad. In compiling this set, a clear attempt has been made to pick out the best, but it is inevitable that you (like me) will think that some tracks should have been excluded to make may for others that were omitted. In that context, this is a brilliant compilation.
The first two CD's are filled with hit singles based on both British and American charts. This explains the inclusion of Green green grass of home, a minor British hit. The compilers didn't have to decide what to include - the public had decided on these tracks in the seventies via their purchases. Tracks that had been recorded in the sixties are to be found on the equivalent sixties boxed set. Even if it was the seventies when they became hits, you won't find them here. So these two CD's include all the seventies hits that Elvis actually recorded in the seventies, most notably The wonder of you, Its only love, Burning love, Always on my mind, Promised land, Trouble, Moody blue and Way down.
The third and fourth CD's include studio highlights, while the final CD contains live highlights. It is the selection of songs here that is subjective, but I enjoy everything that has been included. There are tracks I would have liked included that weren't, but I solved that problem by buying CD's that had those tracks on. And therein lies the strength of this set - you get all the hits and a lot of other great music, but you don't have to buy all the rubbish to get them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great and Good of Elvis in the 70's, 20 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Walk a Mile in My Shoes (Audio CD)
This set was given to me by a friend, who tried to convince that Elvis still counted as a singer long after "suspicious minds". He has succeeded. Thoug I am not an avid Elvis Fan (unlike my friend) this 5 cd set surprised me positively time and time again.
First, its show the wide array of songs Elvis could sing. Country, gospel pop and rock it's all there. Many of the songs are highlights of the 70's studio albums and great in their own right as the show Elvis on top of his singing. Unlike Sinatra, singing came natural to Elvis & he proves he can cover any ground blindfolded and running. A great voice, well recorded.
Some of the songs lyrics may appear non-engaging - though bearing in mind his personal tragedies (losing Priscilla and Lisa Marie) this changes somewhat and many of these songs become much more personal.
But the most stunning and the one cd I play most is the fifth CD, entirely consisting of live performances. Here Elvis rocks and is loaded with energy. The band is giving a top performance as well. This CD just shows what the world has missed since. Elvis is by no means the fat singer with a slurred voice, but a stage animal, easily beating soem of the tacky or static performances of some of greatest rock'n'roll bands of the world. A truly rocking experience - and it still impresses.
If you like Elvis, and don't want to delve deep into his records of the 70's buy this one. If you want an introduction to Elvis beyond "that's allright mama" , " king creole" and the like - this is the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cream of an uneven decade., 26 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is a grat collection of Elvis's seventies recordings, the five C.D.s actually seem too short, as the energy packed performances fly by. True it is a different kind of energy to that displayed on his fiftys work, here he can sound a bit compalcent, like he doesn't even have to try, but his band is funky and well, he is Elvis, when he gets it right he sounds inspired. And this set hits all the right spots, given that his recorded seventies legacy could easily fill 15 C.Ds. If you buy this, you wont regret it (unless of course you subsequently need the money for a life saving operation), even then you'll enjoy you're last days more. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE KING, 9 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Walk a Mile in My Shoes (Audio CD)
FROM THE WONDER OF YOU TO UNCHAINED MELODY, WALK A MILE IN MY SHOES IS AN ASTOUNDING BOX SET; HIGHLIGHTING ELVIS PRESLEY'S ASTOUNDING BODY OF MUSIC FROM 1970-77.
THE VARIETY AND DIVERSITY OF TRACKS IS BREATHTAKING, NO OTHER ARTIST, BEFORE, SINCE OR MAYBE EVER HAS BEEN SO OUTSTANDING OVER A RANGE OF MATERIAL THIS HUGE AND DIVERSE.
ELVIS PRESLEY'S VOCAL RANGE REMAINS UNRIVALLED, FROM THE ROCKIN BURNING LOVE TO THE TOWERING UNCHAINED MELODY VIA COUNTRY, SOUL, BLUES, POP, GOSPEL, BALLADS AND MORE....ELVIS IS THE GRAETEST VOCALIST OF ALL TIME, NO QUESTION ABOUT IT.
THIS SET IS WELL WORTH IT, TRULY A MUST HAVE, ESSENTIAL AND MOST DEFINATELY AN INDISPENSIBLE SET THAT YOU WILL CONTINUE TO GO BACK TO, DISCOVER, RE-DISCOVER AND BE ASTOUNDED BY THE MASTER, THE KING, THE HILLBILLY CAT, THE GREATEST OF ALL TIME, THE ONE AND ONLY ELVIS PRESLEY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best, 20 Oct 2011
By 
Mark Greenley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters (Audio CD)
Elvis made great records in the 50's, 60's and 70,s and even today with some great re-mixs but i like Elvis live in the 70's most of all.

yes most fans will have most of these tracks already and ther are many non live tracks to show just how great his voice was on and off the stage so if you like Elvis in the 70's buy this set the sound quaity is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great songs, 27 July 2011
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters (Audio CD)
i bought the full size elvis 50's and 60's boxes some time ago these cost about 40 each.
i wanted the 70's box but never got round to ordering it until now.
fantastic value and still full of great songs if not my all time favourites.
i bought the slimmed down 60's last year so the 50's can't be far away.
this will probably be out in time for christmas.
you will be able to buy all three for the price of one original.
what are you waiting for!
Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70'S Masters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A PRODUCT WORTHY OF TWICE THE PRICE, 25 April 2011
By 
Mr. Terence Peddle "TERENCE.A. PEDDLE" (NORWICH,UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters (Audio CD)
I BOUGHT THE 60S MASTERS,THROUGHLY RECOMMENDED TO,AFTER NOT PURCHASING FIRST TIME AROUND THE SAME WITH THIS 5 DISC MASTERPIECE.REMASTERED,REPACKAGED A COLLECTION OF 70S RECORDINGS 2 DISCS OF SINGLES A&B SIDES,2 DISCS OF STUDIO HIGHLIGHTS & I DISC OF A COMPILATION OF LIVE RECORDINGS + A FEW REHEARSALS + A FEW UNEDITED TRACKS A STEAL AT DOUBLE THE PRICE + ITS THE ONLY PLACE TO GET A GOOD RECORDING OF "SOFTLY AS I LEAVE YOU". BUY-BUY-BUY...........NOW BRING ON THE 50S ESSENTIALS PLEASE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters (Audio CD)
Fabulous 5 disc set. the disc storage could have been thought out a little better but still excellent value and quality discs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70'S Masters, 25 April 2011
By 
G. Kitchen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters (Audio CD)
Lennon said Elvis died when he went in the army. This set suggests otherwise.

At this price just buy it.

Disc holders poor, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Japanese information!, 7 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters (Audio CD)
Bought this for my partner who has loads of earlier Elvis CDs but not many of the later ones. We are really pleased with it, both the design of the box and the variety of songs. Would like to point out, however, that when it was played on the computer, all the album details, title, and list of songs, came up in Japanese! We can't find a way to change this so are having to delete details on all 5 discs and re enter in English! Very time consuming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters
Walk A Mile In My Shoes: The Essential 70's Masters by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews