Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved it
Having seen Green Wing before this, and completely adoring it, I had unrealistically high expectations of Campus.
No, I don't think it's as good as Green Wing, but that doesn't mean it isn't great.
There are a few similar characters in Campus and Green Wing - Matt Beer reminded me forcibly of Guy Secretan, and I thought Jonty was the Sue White of Campus - and I...
Published on 19 May 2011 by Chloe

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better
There is something about Campus that just doesn't seem to work as it should do and I feel it could have been a lot funnier and more effective programme with a few changes - Like another reviewer I am slightly surprised by the amount of 5 star reviews here on Amazon. The series is based at Kirke University - a down on its luck establishment - and it has a few basic...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by J. Bloss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everyone should watch!, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
Such a great series! Looking forward to seeing the extras on the DVD but would still buy it just to watch the series again and again! Recomend to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be the funniest thing in years - completely random yes, but that certainly doesn't preclude a storyline. Or three. The characters are genius - Jonty de Woolf's comments and actions are so inappropriate you wish it was real. The interaction of the love triangle is so ludicrous you feel the need to intervene and as for the accountant's 'gaydar'..
Critics have largely panned Campus and that's even more reason to buy it. If you didn't see it on C4 recently, you missed out. I only hope enough people watch and buy the DVD so they make series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finds its comedy feet after episode 1, 11 May 2011
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
It's a bit of a shame that Campus started with a weak and not especially typical opening episode; after that this semi-improvised series grew steadily better and better. It is most definitely worth persevering with for some magnificently surreal moments (where its affiliation with Green Wing, with which it shares some writers, is most marked), excellent acting (particularly from Andy Nyman as the repellent but mesmerising Jonty de Wolfe, Joseph Millson as the louche Prof. Beer and Lisa Jackson as a wonderfully gauche Dr Moffat). There are some extraordinary, laugh-out-loud set pieces, and the offensive crassness which seemed to characterise the first episode rarely returns (this is not to say that it doesn't teeter on the brink at times). For me, only the character of Lydia Tennant was consistently unfunny and never developed. I very much hope that it gets a second series. If you missed it first time around, are a University vice-principal/chancellor hoping to pick up a few management tips, or just want to savour that remarkable ending again, this is definitely worth a bob or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The epitome of comedic excellence!, 30 Aug 2011
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great series, with all the elements you would expect from a well-structured drama, let alone a comedy that started off as a pilot with no expectation of a series. I can't top what other reviewers have said but I whole-heartedly recommend this series to anyone.

It's comedy is very similar to that of Family Guy: a mixture of potential offensiveness and original, laugh out loud one-liners. It should have had the same cult following of the other comedy programmes in the same strain (Little Britain, Green Wing, The Inbetweeners etc.), but it never seemed to gain momentum of that department. I must criticise Channel 4 for its poor publicity and advertising of the show (one trailer to mark the beginning of the series just isn't enough), and a 10pm time slot isn't the most popular spot it could have been given.

Because of this, it hasn't been given a second series run, which is very disappointing. I would loved to have seen how the characters would have developed, and what other barriers would have come up against the running of Kirke University. Having said this however, I feel the last episode in the series rounded things off well, and gives an ending which is satisfying: the amazing musical number at the end and a situation where you imagine your own ending.

I love this series, so don't let this comedic gem go to waste!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 18 May 2011
By 
S. Craig (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
What an incredible show....and to think I was originally a bit unsure about watching it!

Terrifically written and wonderfully acted by a great cast, this is, in my opinion, the funniest comedy of 2011, so far. Aside from the laugh out loud bits, it has loads of surreal moments; strange, random things that make you think: "what on earth just happened there!?!" (or words to that effect!). The DVD therefore is perfect for rewinding and rewatching all those mad, mental moments!

A special word of praise is merited for Andy Nyman, who plays the Vice Chancellor Jonty De Wolfe. He is quite brilliant; he has somehow developed a character who is unsettling to watch, yet often hilarious. A monstrous, comedy lunatic, the likes of which is rarely seen on TV. What a performance.

Can't recommend this show highly enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very funny!, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't get to see this on tv but I am so so glad I have it now on DVD! It is very clever, well-written, extremely well cast and I am amazed that this series was cancelled. Someone,somewhere is sitting in the Channel 4 commissioning offices regretting that decision..or they should be!

Get part the first episode (which is not the best) and then enjoy the rest of this series Don't compare it to others out there, just enjoy it for what it is. The ending was what I would have expected from Jonty and co, nothing less!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OK, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
Surreal but not really very funny. Bought as a recommendation after watching and absolutely loving Green Wing. Written by the same guy but in a different style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Campus!!!, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Emma Fordham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
If you haven't seen this: DO!
Green Wing fans, just English-comedy fans in general. This show is SO, SO GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky Sweetness., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
Charmingly absurd with awkwardness taking centre stage. It's a shame it couldn't have gone for another series. Perhaps, Green Wing conquered the theme of silly but touching love tangles and surreal antics too well, leaving Campus being wrongly judged as the lacking younger brother. I'd say that comparing them doesn't lessen the enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Get through the pilot episode.. and its brilliant., 16 April 2013
This review is from: Campus [DVD] (DVD)
Campus is awesome. I could watch it endlessly. People may be put off by the pilot episode - which is fairly crude / borderline racist. But persist! Very enjoyable watching. Lovable characters, great plot. Mad Mad Mad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Campus [DVD]
Campus [DVD] by Andy Nyman (DVD - 2011)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews