Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Read "Life After Forty" first!
When i first received this book i didnt realise it was a sequal to an earlier book and now after reading it i really want to go back and read the first installment as without that prior knowledege i felt the characters lacked the depth need to protray an otherwise good book. The story itself meanders through to the finish but is well worth a lazy read.
Published on 12 Feb 2012 by K. D. Squire

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soporific - Badly Edited
Was disappointed with this book.

Expected it to be a feel good book about female friendship and support in mid-life, but finding it a struggle to read as it is so soporific and long winded. There are several key characters but they are not really distinguishable from each other as there is little character development or indication of what drives them, although...
Published on 5 Feb 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soporific - Badly Edited, 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inseparable (Kindle Edition)
Was disappointed with this book.

Expected it to be a feel good book about female friendship and support in mid-life, but finding it a struggle to read as it is so soporific and long winded. There are several key characters but they are not really distinguishable from each other as there is little character development or indication of what drives them, although you are told their size/weight!

Maybe something got lost in translation as there are odd descriptions that do not necessarily make total sense to native English readers as other reviewers have alluded to. The editing was appalling. For example, there are a couple of pages describing a scene in a gym with Lena acting as handball coach to some children including one child having to go the loo; other books would just make a reference to the final whistle blowing rather than the irrelevant pages of a match description that add nothing to the storyline.

Normally I enjoy reading at least 15-20 minutes a day, but I would rather do the washing up than settle down with this book! I hate being defeated by being a book but am pondering whether life is too short continue to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this - wish I'd enjoyed it more, 2 Mar 2012
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inseparable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Books that take you back to happy times in your life are to be treasured. I really hoped this one would do that for me and remind me of my German friends from thirty years ago, when we all lived in a small village and enjoyed meeting up for coffee and cake, meals out and playtime with the children.
I so wanted this book to bring back some of the times but the characters just aren't deep enough. The bond between the women is reminiscent of the friendships we had but the portraits are oddly two dimensional.
Usually in books where not a lot happens the strength of character description is what keeps you reading.. well, not here.
Perhaps I expected too much. Perhaps something was lost in translation. All the positive mentions of Dora Heldt's first 'Christine' book have inspired me to look out for that one. So that's something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Possibly better in the original German, 4 July 2012
By 
Mark Shackelford "mark shackelford" (Worthing, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inseparable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a translated book (from German) and, I suspect, one needs a better understanding of German culture than I have to get the most out of it.

The characters seemed rather flat and indistinguishable. The style is a bit heavy-going (which may be a problem with the translation). The book si probably also aimed at the female reader, who may well get more out of the relationship details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A little weak, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Thinker - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inseparable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the story of the arrangement of a party for a 44 year old Woman who has lost touch with past friends, and her current friend thinks it will be great to find people from her past again, meaning we get to hear the back stories along the way.
It was just not interesting enough for me though, it was like listening to a half interesting conversation. Too slow and just not enough of a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Female friendships is the theme, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Mistyange "Mistyang" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Inseparable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had not read Life Over 40 so this author was new to me. Inseperable is a strange title for this story. Christine is reaching her 44th birthday and a couple of friends, her sister and brother are arranging to contact all Christine's friends from days gone by inviting them to attend a party for Christine's birthday. I got confused with all the different women at one point and went back to re-read thinking to myself "which one is she". It was an ok book but not one I would rave about or read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Familiar and Rewarding, 27 Feb 2012
By 
M. J. Saxton (Dewsbury, West Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inseparable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Like a good glass of wine, this book can be savoured, but not left to stand for too long. It carries you away in the slightly excitable air of professional women of a certain age having a go at middle-aged crises.

Christine is getting to her mid-forties and doesn't have a best friend. This is a bone of contention among her colleagues, so Ruth and Gabi enlist the help of Christine's sister Ines to track down some of her "best friends" from her schooldays to the time of her marriage and invite them to her birthday party.

Of course this leads to a lot of soul searching among all the ladies involved. Along the way various affairs are revealed, started, ended, there is a lot of angst and red wine drinking; plenty of fashionable clothes, women reinventing themselves after being lost to housewifery, and people writing for fashionable magazines.

Now this all may sound a bit naff - not at all. It makes for a great piece of contemporary entertaining fiction for readers who like a bit more depth than cliché in a familiar plot style. You know what you are getting with this book, that is probably why you would buy it, but you get a more interesting angle. There is a touch of soap about it, or maybe a bit more "drama series" - that's the market.

One drawback to the translation: it was a bit too lost in the mid Atlantic. Some words and phrases are very American and that I found hard to cope with in a book set in Germany, but there were also some clashingly English words which didn't sit well alongside some of the Americanisms.

Most of the time, though, brilliantly entertaining fun with just a smidge of provoked thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read "Life After Forty" first!, 12 Feb 2012
By 
K. D. Squire (Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inseparable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When i first received this book i didnt realise it was a sequal to an earlier book and now after reading it i really want to go back and read the first installment as without that prior knowledege i felt the characters lacked the depth need to protray an otherwise good book. The story itself meanders through to the finish but is well worth a lazy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fiction, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. G. Johns "Master Mason 6407" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inseparable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is about several women, different lives, growing old, looking back. As the main character's birthday is looming her friends decide to organise a party. What entails is the basis of the story, keeping you entertained and enthralled by what might happen when everyone comes together. Years older, all with different issues with reasons why they lost touch, will there be a happy ending, read this book to find out. Light hearted but with a good storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, heart warming, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inseparable (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't sure about this book when I first downloaded it but very glad I did. It is well written, and a topic close to many of our hearts-our girlfriends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plodding, 15 Nov 2012
By 
kehs (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Inseparable (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I found this plodded along at quite a tedious rate. I wasn't drawn into the tale at all and found it a struggle to finish this book. The characters are flat and I just didn't care about any of them. I kept going because I was hoping it was going to improve and pick up the pace. It didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inseparable
Inseparable by Dora Heldt
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews