Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
15
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.30+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2014
This is a film which creeps up on you; if after a few minutes you are not hooked, it is well worth giving it a little more time. I first came to it via the soundtrack (by Jóhann Jóhannsson), which on its own is stately, beautiful, almost religious. The film, like the music, is reverent and heartfelt - but more than that, it succeeds on an artistic level. If you are not moved by the early footage of miners and the Thatcher-era mayhem, I should be surprised. This is - both emotionally and artistically - an outstanding achievement by Bill Morrison and Jóhann Jóhannsson.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
Fordlandia

An excellent film showing the mining industry and its people over the industries last 100 years with outstanding archive footage rarely seen.
Ultimately a sad story of the end of an industry and the end of an era, and worse the birth of a new era! of greed and individuals.
The score is another triumph from the Icelander Johann Johannsson (Fordlandia) and I recommend both the music CD and the film to you all.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I saw this yesterday at Cheltenham Music Festival.

It's not a documentary but an art film, starting out with aerial shots and showing you what has replaced some north east mines.

Seeing images of miners heading off to work and also down the pit brought back a different time. There was also images of marches with banners from probably the Edwardian era and also probably the 60s and I think we saw some of the Battle of Orgrave.

I found it highly moving.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Having worked underground in Durham and other parts of the UK later in life and being born and bred into a mining family,father killed at Bowburn Colliery May 1963 aged 42 years,I can easily relate to the tone of the Miners' Hymn.
Also I attend Durham Big Meetring and go into the Cathedral later for the banner dedications.
John Milburn
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
Durham-centric mining history enough to tug at the heart and moisten the eye. There's likely a Great Grandfather on there.

NOT A DOCUMENTARY

Lovely archive footage and the Durham Miner's Lodge Banners interesting, intro has some aerial views of current use former pits.

Footage of nightshift miners walking to work with picks was other-worldly. Matched to stirring music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2014
interesting look a the history of the mineworkers, set to music, bought as a gift and the recipient really enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Not at all like totle. I expected to hear miners singing./ Music accompanient extremely depressing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
My land , my people but a great piece of work that will repay anyone who watches this moving work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
Well worth the money great viewing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2015
entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£14.85

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)