Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highbrow and well researched
Few alternative views in new age books are carefully researched as this is. It appears to be a scholarly work with numerous examples of archeology taken out of context and time, which makes it suitable for further research and needs to be taken seriously. It is a good read although the examples being numerous can be tedious at times, but that is what the book is about -...
Published on 12 Sep 2012 by V. Pyle

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The wedge of Krishna creationism
"The Hidden History of the Human Race" is the condensed version of "Forbidden Archaeology", which somewhat confusingly has the subtitle "The Hidden History of the Human Race". Both books are authored by Michael Cremo and Richard Thompson. Cremo is the more well-known of the two, often starring in TV specials on alternative history, forbidden knowledge, and the like. Cremo...
Published 13 months ago by Ashtar Command


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highbrow and well researched, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Few alternative views in new age books are carefully researched as this is. It appears to be a scholarly work with numerous examples of archeology taken out of context and time, which makes it suitable for further research and needs to be taken seriously. It is a good read although the examples being numerous can be tedious at times, but that is what the book is about - showing that modern archeology is often just following a set account of the past because teachers and set accounts cannot be challenged without loss of job or professional credence.
I have kept my copy of the book because it is worth referring to or to read again. I don't think this book will date until more info comes to light and I have had it for several years now.
I would recommend anyone buying it who is seriously interested in this subject.
(Another book with the same title (or similar) I found not very good - not so well researched or as interesting).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thought provoking, 25 Nov 2008
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This book exposes the deplorable manner in which the so-called elite of archeology simply dismiss overwhelming evidence of greater antiquity of man (for instance, "modern" artefacts discovered in strata dated to 300 million years ago) because it doesn't fit existing data.

Yes, it can be dry reading at times, as it is very repetitive, but it is not boring. All in all, it is highly informative, and has opened my mind to the idea of a new timeline for human evolution. Cremo and Thompson do a tremendous job of exposing the high degree of subjectivity that is involved in screening and evaluating evidence of the presence and lineage of modern man. They credibly call into question the established timeline and path of human evolution, and do a good job of it. The open-minded nature of their approach is unusually refreshing in a field typically defined by unreasonably hardened opinions and condescension.

This book combines a vast amount of both accepted and controversial evidence from the archeological record with sociological, philosophical, and historical critiques of the scientific method to challenge existing views and expose the suppression of information concerning history and human origins. The authors should be congratulated, because they spent eight years producing the only definitive, precise, exhaustive and complete record of practically all the fossil finds of man, regardless of whether they fit the established scientific theories or not. NO other book of this calibre exists. It should be compulsory reading for every first year biology, archeology and anthropology student and many others, too!

The authors exhibit tremendous courage in including all reports from the past two centuries that can be considered credible based on eye-witness accounts. When it exists, they also present contrary opinion. Rigid conclusions are generally avoided and the readers are left to decide for themselves how to interpret the evidence. Criticism of this book ironically follows the same sort of strategy that the authors discredit - namely that full attention is given to the weakest evidence, while the stronger is ignored.

Some of the negative reviews appear to be attempts to STOP people from reading this material. But the more people know about anything the less dictatorial they become on that subject. That is why real scientists tread the ground carefully. True science knows its limitations. The great scientists are humble and conservative. They know the difference between theory and fact. They distrust themselves and their findings. Perhaps as a first step our textbooks should be more realistic and honest about what we know (really very very little) and don't know.

No, I am not a creationist. Nor am I a Darwinist. Both views are seriously flawed. The truth probably lies somewhere between...

Later note: Source Field Investigations by Wilcock includes some amazing new scientific information about DNA and evolution. There's also the fascinating alien/hybrid origins of mankind explained in Shannon Dorey's three books, starting with "The Master of Speech". And there's Icke's best, so far, "Perception Deception" which refers to this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars extremely thorough, well documented, 7 Feb 2011
Style is quite academic and dense. If you're looking for light reading this is not a good choice, but if you're looking for a well-argumented, well-documented, objective analysis of archeological evidence which contradicts current main-stream paradigms on the antiquity of civilization on earth, this is the book you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly Comprehensive, 8 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst some of the OOPARTS in this book are well known, many are not! It is an amazingly comprehensive review which deserves a place with the greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 63 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FASCINATING READ, GREAT REFERENCE, 3 Jan 2001
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This being the shorter version and so exhaustive in scope, I shudder to think what a mountain of reading the unabridged Forbidden Archaeology must entail. Part One deals with anomalous evidence in the form of bones, eoliths, paleoliths and neoliths and goes on to discuss artifacts and manufactured objects found in ancient strata, plus human skeletal remains. Part Two casts a critical eye on the accepted evidence and demonstrates convincingly how flimsy the evidence of scientific orthodoxy often is. There is also a chapter on Cryptozoology and a final look at the latest finds from Africa. The book is served well with tables summarizing anomalous evidence related to human antiquity, a good index and a massive bibliography of 27 pages. Black and white photographs and illustrations enliven the text. The authors have eloquently made their case in the most thorough and complete detail. But I must add that this doesn't always ensure "jouissance" in the reading experience, as of necessity there must be a lot of repetition. Nevertheless, a magnificent achievement and an excellent reference work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Speculation, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a bit of a let down in some respects because it does draw on quite old sources of archaeological investigation. From the current archaeological perspective these older digs and their methods, interpretation and findings would be considered invalid. This would be based on the lack of knowledge and the misunderstanding of scientists and archaeologists at the time and because things have really moved on in more recent times.

HOWEVER. Yes there is room for serious speculation about the origins of modern humans and not all of the evidence that baulks the modern perspective - cited in this book - should be written off. Scientific materialism and those who are devoted to the new religion of "evolution" are prone to chop and change things to fit the orthodox scientific picture. Therefore it is possible that hominids and humans were contemporary in the past and that there is not a smooth linear path of evolution from ape to human - and the evidence for this is not "evidence" it is speculation, assumption and scientific arrogance - as this book will clearly demonstrate.

So this book opens up other areas of speculation but it fails to deliver conclusive proof and I found myself feeling rather bemused after reading the final few pages. This is because the early hominid finds are numerous and convincing but the claims of gold chains, iron pots and so on, allegedly found embedded in coal deposits of over 300,000,000 years old, seem to me to be entirely incredulous and the work of fraudsters. Therefore, I think a middle line is called for where some of the claims of modern archaeology need to be stretched back in time in time with a less dogmatic idea that we all evolved from the African ape. If you blend a human with an ape you might be tempted to say that the human evolved from the ape but is that the right interpretation? Likewise,am I alone in thinking that the neolithic monuments in the UK, France and elsewhere are far far older than 3000 BCE? Those monuments look and feel very very ancient to me and if I were asked to date them I would hazard a guess of perhaps 200,000 years. I can't prove it but I don't think that the re-usage of these sites by later neolithic peoples would be sufficient evidence to date them the way that orthodox thinking has done. The dates given for stone sites are too recent and I think that the work of Forbidden Archaeology shows us that the ideas we hold about modern humans are also far too recent to be taken seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking., 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden History of the Human Race (The Condensed Edition of Forbidden Archeology) (Kindle Edition)
A great read if you question everything about life.
People have to wake up to the wrong story being told.
The question is though how can the history everyone is taught change?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent condensed version of doorstep original, 29 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden History of the Human Race (The Condensed Edition of Forbidden Archeology) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent condensed version of the doorstep original. The examples keep coming and coming of how we have clearly got so much wrong in our understanding of our origins and many of our theories on evolution and the emergence of modern man need to be radically re-thought but it's an uphill battle, because existing theories and scientific speculation have become Recieved Knowledge that cannot be questioned, and any examples that emerge that serious do so, are either at first studiously ignored or if that doesn't work, debunked by a propaganda machine Geobbels would have been proud of. An intelligent, cogent book, that anyone with a serious interest in archaeology and primeval history must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars May end up being one of the most important books ever., 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hidden History of the Human Race (The Condensed Edition of Forbidden Archeology) (Kindle Edition)
Great read, packed full of interesting information, could be an extremely important book. So much to digest and cross-check though, and so much new stuff being discovered these days that could further support some of the claims and conjecture in the book, that it may well end up being a 'five star' rating and one of the most important books ever given time. Well written and easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What they didn't tell you in school..., 2 Sep 2009
By 
An excellent insight into the true nature of the world we live in, which has until now been kept from us. This book examines the REAL history and implications, backed by physical evidence. Get ready for a shock... the human race has been here a lot longer than we have been taught. Darwin's theory may be correct for animals, not for humans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews