Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!
Fantastic! Once I started I couldn't put this book down!
Lots of twists to keep you guessing throughout the book but ends exactly the way it should
Published 5 months ago by Kate

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just ok and BORING
I have been trying to finish this novel for night after night, but it bores me to death!! the long detailed aimless encounters and events
Published on 20 Jun 2011 by elle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars just ok and BORING, 20 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
I have been trying to finish this novel for night after night, but it bores me to death!! the long detailed aimless encounters and events
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it!, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faking It (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic! Once I started I couldn't put this book down!
Lots of twists to keep you guessing throughout the book but ends exactly the way it should
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjiyed, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faking It (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book a little predictable but still a fun, nice easy read found it definitely pulling you in couldn't wait to find out about Bailey!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 7 Jun 2011
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
Was not impressed with this book at all but it is not my usual read. Found the plot starting off with a promising premise but then everything happens too quickly. The editing was a bit all over the place and I found the page long paragraphs off putting. The character names were amusing but not always that original. Have read better chick flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Debut Novel, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
I am always suspicious of books which get consistent 5 star ratings (particularly when those reviews seem very similar in writing style) which is what piqued my curiosity to buy this book.

'Faking It' is Lotte Daley's debut novel - and it shows.

I don't mean that in a bad way at all; the writing style is witty and fresh - something which is often lost when an author gets successful and formulaic. Daley writes like she is talking to a friend and it is this which enamours Katie (the heroine) to readers.

The plotline is good with a range of laugh out loud moments and interesting characters. The one problem I did have with the book (and this is why I marked it at 4 stars and not 5) was that the ending was almost chaotic. I found myself having to really think about which character had which traits and this spoiled it for me as it seemed to lose the flow that it had had all the way up until that point.

I am an avid reader of chick-lit and this is certainly up there with books that I would recommend to a friend. Whether Daley can live up to a second book of the same calibre remains to be seen, but I certainly hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Reads like a first draft, 23 July 2011
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
The sample chapter seemed fine. Not exactly great literature, but that's not what you want from something like this. You want a comforting, competently written story about characters who are at least vaguely entertaining. You know that the girl will be sweet, a bit disorganised and very normal-looking and that her work will surround her with size-zero gorgeous bitches. There will be an unfaithful ex. The love interest will be one of three things: someone who's been her friend for decades that she's 'never looked at like that'; someone she meets who seems unattainable because they instantly dislike each other; or someone she meets who has a secret that stops him acting on his instant liking for her. The obstacle to true love will be essentially a misunderstanding about motivation; the guy will wait till the last moment before changing his mind and coming back for her.

That's really all you want when you buy a book like this. Anything extra is a bonus. But the minimum we should expect is competent writing. The first few chapters of this were fine, but by 25% of the way in it became evident that no editor had looked at this text. It veers wildly between tenses, as if it was written in the present tense initially and then the author decided to change to the past - but only using a find & replace tool. Literally, one sentence will say 'she said this' and the next will say 'I say in reply' and the next will say 'she answered me'. It's really annoying.

The text also degenerates rapidly in terms of characterisation - by the time the heroine is in bed with the handsome new guy, their motivations and actions are changing as rapidly as the tenses of their verbs. It might be meant to convey confusion or mixed emotions. If so, it doesn't work. It reads like two or three different versions of the book have been merged with each other like packs of cards.

We don't ask much from this genre of novel, but how dare you ask for money for something that clearly needs to be rewritten so comprehensively, not just for style or characterisation but for basic English?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This author isn't "Faking It" Brilliant Book #Recommended, 23 May 2012
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
I want to leave a quick review for this fab book. "Faking It" is an ideal summer holiday read and one of those books you just can't put down. An interesting plot with lots of well written characters. I couldn't wait to find out what happens in lead character Katie's life from one chapter to the next! There are some great funny moments as well as those 'must have' sexy moments with hot lead male. An engaging and exciting fresh modern chick lit. I'll be recommending this one on my blog too! A bargain at the price and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't live up to its promise, 24 Jun 2011
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
This book is an average read and could have been so much better if edited down by about 100 pages. A good start and promise of being a fun and sassy story but then it was downhill all the way from about chapter 10 onwards.

The main character Katie is portrayed as the dumbest blonde imaginable, easily manipulated and influenced by those she sees as being more intelligent (they aren't really but Katie thinks so). Katie's mum is the best character in the book, a pity she only appears about 3 times. There is no depth to the supporting characters and the revelations at the end, well, nothing new or unexpected there.

If this book had been outrageously OTT about make-overs it would have been an excellent summer read. Instead the make-over is sidelined in favour of details of all the characters love lives and believe me, they're not that exciting.

You will either love this book or not, personally I preferred Martel Maxwell's "Scandalous" and Jemma Forte's "Me and Miss M".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read - first time I have read anything by ..., 16 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faking It (Kindle Edition)
A great read - first time I have read anything by Lotte Daley - would read this author's books again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just an OK read, 2 Oct 2011
This review is from: Faking It (Paperback)
I was disappointed by this book. It was all a bit very fluffy and quite predictable. I didn't really feel myself routing for the main character. Many of the other characters are a bit vacuous. Fine if you want a really easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Faking It
Faking It by Lotte Daley
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews