Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars68
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2000
I have only just started reading this book and I am already hooked. Phinn has a lovely writting style very similar to that of another author called Jim Parton. For a good read that is not too exciting too soppy or too uninteresting this is the perfect choice I would certainly buy the preceding book, 'the other side of the dale'. It was a superb read something that I can't stress enough.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Well written by a man that loves Yorkshire and its children in particular! Laugh out loud in places, some of his characters are really well drawn! Gervaise doesn't mind sending himself up and I so enjoyed his pursuit of Christine! I took the book on holiday and read and enjoyed it too quickly! Such a good read for anybody.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
I could hardly stop reading this second book of the series - just like the first it was a superb read, full of interesting tales with a great deal of humour. Can't wait to start the thirdI. I am recommending these books to a few friends especially those from Yorkshire. Thank you Gervase for your talented writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I just like the way Gervase writes. This should be required reading for anyone in education about to have an Ofsted inspection.
I love his descriptive prose. Good to read modern English by somebody that can still write in English. I thought that art had died with Thomas Hardy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
I bought this for my sister for Christmas or was it her birthday and she had since lent it to me. I found the book very amusing, rather along the lines of the James Herriott books but the encounters with the children were funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I love the gentle humour in these books. The tales of the children are typical and I think most of us have worked with at least one person like his colleagues! Not always laugh out loud, but cheering all the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2015
Wonderful book.....made me laugh a lot. He really captures Yorkshire not only the glorious countryside but also the characters and their delightful humour and blunt way of speaking. Will definitely read more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2013
My son missed it on TV and was curious why I raved about it. So I bought the DVD and we watched it together. he loved it and I am enjoying it just as much as the first time around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Gervase - always amusing- nut his first THE OTHER SIDE OF THE DALE is best and it now seems virtually unavailable on CD. I wish this could be provided at a reasonable cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
Informative without being boring, it has thr ring of truth about it. It is well-written, highly amusing and easy to read. It will appeal to a wide range of readers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)