Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest amusing account of life as a school inspector.
Being a teacher and having survived the dreaded OFSTED, I was drawn to read about the life of a school inspector in the hope that it would make them seem more human! Gervase Phinn writes with honesty and warmth abouth his experiences whilst working as an inspector in North Yorkshire.
At times I was laughing out loud at his tales. Phinn describes in detail the sort...
Published on 6 Jan 2002 by svic@btinternet.com

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure
This is the second book in the Dales series (It goes 'The Other Side of the Dale', 'Over Hill and Dale', 'Head Over Heels in the Dale', 'Up and Down in the Dales' and 'The Heart of the Dales'). They tell the story of Gervase Phinn's school inspector days. This book is about his second year.

The book made me chuckle to myself but it wasn't quite as good as the...
Published on 23 July 2011 by C. Rucroft


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An honest amusing account of life as a school inspector., 6 Jan 2002
By 
svic@btinternet.com (Rotherham, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
Being a teacher and having survived the dreaded OFSTED, I was drawn to read about the life of a school inspector in the hope that it would make them seem more human! Gervase Phinn writes with honesty and warmth abouth his experiences whilst working as an inspector in North Yorkshire.
At times I was laughing out loud at his tales. Phinn describes in detail the sort of embarrassing incidents that you believe only happen to yourself! I especially loved his account of when he caught head lice and then passed them on to all his colleagues in the education department!
Phinn details the lessons that he has observed and the words of wisdom that came from the mouths of the children. He shows a genuine interest in the children and is at times moved to tears by their contributions.
This book will be enjoyed by anyone with a sense of humour but especially those in the education sector!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So real!, 6 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
I'm a school secretary and (although I don't always come across incidents in the same situation as a teacher may do), during my 11 years in this job, I have seen and heard some very, very funny things! Gervaise Phinn just sums them all up!
You don't have to work in a school to appreciate the humour and events contained within this author's books. Everyone can identify with the characters (we all know at least one of them!) and, especially if you are from Yorkshire, you cannot fail to smile at many of the little anecdotes contained within!
A lovely book and a joy to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yorkshire Tales to Warm the Heart, 9 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
Gervase Phinn writes in the way you imagine most teachers would - with a wry view of the world supported with anecdotes from the classroom. The result in this case is a tale that I could not put down.
Phinn describes superbly the landscape and attitudes of Yorkshire. If you have lived there and loved it as I have, then so much of this will ring true.
I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone who is diconbobulated by the violence and harshness of City living - a true tonic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure, 23 July 2011
By 
C. Rucroft "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
This is the second book in the Dales series (It goes 'The Other Side of the Dale', 'Over Hill and Dale', 'Head Over Heels in the Dale', 'Up and Down in the Dales' and 'The Heart of the Dales'). They tell the story of Gervase Phinn's school inspector days. This book is about his second year.

The book made me chuckle to myself but it wasn't quite as good as the first. This wasn't helped by the fact that I have read 'Twinkle, Twinkle' (which is a collection of tales by Gervase) and many of the tales from this book are in there. I also read it straight after the first and feel it might be an idea to have a break between the books so they don't become too 'samey'.

I will read the rest of the series, just not one after another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be a Teacher to enjoy this book!!, 13 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
I've just finished reading this book and am so disappointed that I'm now going to have to wait until October for Mr Phinn's new book to be published. It's warm, gentle humour has had me laughing out load .......and I'm not a teacher !!! If you want a feel good read, buy this book and enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 16 Jun 2010
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
This is more of the same from Gervase Phinn - the second year of his job as a school inspector in the Yorkshire Dales. Once again, we meet a cast of wonderful characters, including the three other inspectors - Harold, David and Sidney; Connie, the rather draconian caretaker of the Staff Development Centre; and, of course, Miss Christine Bentley, the beautiful young headmistress that Phinn is gradually falling in love with.

The writing is eloquent and at times beautiful, as Phinn describes the awesome sights of the Yorkshire Dales that he encountours in the course of his school inspections. There is also a wonderful sense of his deep and abiding respect for the institution of teaching, and the part that teachers have to pay in the formative years of children.

The children here are the stars of the show - blunt, yet innocent Yorkshire children who are more accustomed to seeing rabbits being shot as pests than as the main characters in stories by Beatrix Potter! There are little anecdotes about each school visit, including some lovely tales of nativity plays.

The other side of the Yorkshire Dales is also explored here - the inner city schools and in some places the dire lack of basic education for children who are not expected to amount to more than factory workers and labourers.

Altogether, a delightful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful tale of Yorkshire folk, gentle humour., 11 Dec 2001
By 
Mrs. Kl Riding (Burnley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
I loved this book. It is full of witty and well observed incidents. The characters are nicely described and the scenery......well it makes you want to go. These books are similar to the Herriot series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I really liked it, 25 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Hardcover)
I have only just started reading this book and I am already hooked. Phinn has a lovely writting style very similar to that of another author called Jim Parton. For a good read that is not too exciting too soppy or too uninteresting this is the perfect choice I would certainly buy the preceding book, 'the other side of the dale'. It was a superb read something that I can't stress enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Yorkshire Humour, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Kindle Edition)
Again another cracking read from the maestro of the Yorkshire dialect and earthy humour. Wonderfully descriptive and engaging.A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over Hill and Dale (Paperback)
Got this for my wife on her birthday as I had bought her one of his later books she wanted this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Over Hill and Dale
Over Hill and Dale by Gervase Phinn
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews