Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2001
George Orwell wrote some of the greatest novels of the 20th Century. Some of his ideas and expressions have become part of everyday language. "Big Brother" and "Room 101" are both based on people and places in his masterpiece '1984'. But all his novels are quite rightly regarded as classics. 'Animal Farm' is a wonderful satire on Communism and the way that absolute power corrupts - absolutely. 'Keep The Aspidistra Flying' is a grainy, desolate portrait of a man who tries unsuccessfully to live outside of the rat-race. This collection is a must for any lover of great literature, a fabulous collection.
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Just perfect! I haven't read Orwell's novels since schooldays, so am looking forward to re-acquainting myself with this genius. And this compendium will let me do just that. I like the fact that the novels are published using uncorrected text, and I wasn't expecting to receive the three other favourites: Wigan Pier, Down and Out in .... and Catalonia!

What's more, serendipity dictated my book arrived a day earlier than estimated, just in time for the weekend. Blissful reading ahead. Thank you.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
I had never read Orwell's works before but had always intended to. I was looking for "Animal Farm" on Kindle and found this edition of the complete works at a price I found irresistible. I find it very absorbing and amusing reading and find that limiting myself to one chapter per evening allows me to take in the true meaning of the words.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2004
What can I say. The COMPLETE NOVELS!!! of the greatest British writer of the 20th Century. My personal favourite is "Coming up for air". The picture it paints of a Black and white world of humdrum tedium, interspersed with the wonderful colourful world of childhood, moved me like no other.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
Collection of Orwell novels:
Animal Farm - political story on a farm, banned as anti-Stalinist
Burmese Days - story of a small British-run village in Burma
The Clergyman's Daughter - story of religious upbringing and amnesia
Coming Up for Air - a family man takes a break from his humdrum life
Keep the Aspidistra Flying - a man's attempt to go to war with money
1984 - the famous dystopian novel, about an imagined future

All great prose though some parts of Aspidistra were hard going, negative stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
I actually wanted Animal Farm and 1984 on my shelf. In these Orwell almost takes on the function and insights of a prophet. Seeing this 'omnibus edition' with both, plus four other offering from such a great writer, I thought it was ideal. I haven't actually finished reading all six books, but so far it's as good as I hoped, and will not be appearing for resale!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
Orwell is a brilliant writer, clear, concise and compulsive. His three 1930'3 novels - A Clergyman's daughter, Coming up for air, Keep the aspidistra flying, are wonderful evocations of the 1930's - and avoid the simplistic social analysis of contemporaries. The better known novels - Animal Farm and 1984 - remain powerful reading. A Master!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2010
The complete works of Orwell brings together some of his most important works under one cover. This is a triumph for his fans, notwithstanding it is a neat way of introducing younger readers to this most intelligent of English writers. No education is complete without reading a least one book by Orwell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Everyone should read Orwell. He had an insight into human behaviour which is timeless. Animal Farm is told simply but illustrates the complexities of the Russian revolution and aftermath better than the history books. Do younger readers realise that Big Brother and Room 101 owe much to the great man?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
Very good mid 20th Century work by a contemporary British author. It is particularly scathing of Communism and deals frankly with imperialism. This is interesting given that the author was a civil servant in Burma and a lifeline socialist.

Animal Farm and 1984 are particularly fascinating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse