Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpieces
Orwell is my favourite author. I read many books, but everytime I come back to Orwell it's like a breath of fresh air. The clarity with which he writes is his greatest skill and his powers of observation a close second.
As far as this particular book is concerned what you get are his two best known novels 1984 and Animal Farm, and then four other less well known...
Published on 5 Nov 2003 by J. Clinch

versus
84 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The collected fiction of a great writer - horrible edition, though
I have huge admiration for Orwell's work as a writer and I am a strong admirer of his fiction, although apart from his last two novels I don't think it was the field he was best at. I urge any reader interested in his stuff to seek out his novels and read them. However, this is definitely not the best edition to read them in. Orwell's work was only subjected to proper...
Published on 20 Aug 2008 by lexo1941


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpieces, 5 Nov 2003
By 
J. Clinch (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Orwell is my favourite author. I read many books, but everytime I come back to Orwell it's like a breath of fresh air. The clarity with which he writes is his greatest skill and his powers of observation a close second.
As far as this particular book is concerned what you get are his two best known novels 1984 and Animal Farm, and then four other less well known works. All of these works tell tales of society 'going wrong', but from different perspectives of empire, money, individual freedom, totalitarism, and state control. Comming up for Air and Keep the Aspidistra Flying are particuarly good tales of individual rebellion against 'the system'. Most of these were written between the wars, but seem even more relevant today.
Although titled 'The Complete Novels' other works such as Road to Wigan Pier, Down and Out in Paris and London and Homage to Catalonia are absent, probably because they are more social comentaries based on his real life, rather than novels. If you like this book then you'll also like these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The collected fiction of a great writer - horrible edition, though, 20 Aug 2008
By 
lexo1941 (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
I have huge admiration for Orwell's work as a writer and I am a strong admirer of his fiction, although apart from his last two novels I don't think it was the field he was best at. I urge any reader interested in his stuff to seek out his novels and read them. However, this is definitely not the best edition to read them in. Orwell's work was only subjected to proper editorial scrutiny in the late 1980s, with the release of Peter Davison's magisterial Complete Works. This book is a modern reprint of much earlier collection of uncorrected texts of his novels. The type is so tiny that the book is hard on the eyes, plus the texts of the novels are in most cases very corrupt.

If you want to read these books, the only reason you should get this edition is that you are very young, new to Orwell, have really good eyesight, and are too broke to afford buying each novel in the current individual Penguin editions, which are corrected texts. Otherwise, get them all individually; this book is both unreliable and almost unreadable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE READ, 13 Feb 2004
Hi there, I'm principally writing concerning the review below, stating that this book does not contain the complete novels. Actually, it DOES contain the complete novels. George Orwell wrote 5 Novels: _Burmese Days_, _Keep the Aspidistra Flying_, _A Clergyman's Daughter_, _Animal Farm_, and _Nineteen Eighty-four_. These are all present in this collection, the three titles mentioned below which are not included (_Homage to Catalonia_, _The Road to Wigan Pier_, and _Down & Out in Paris & London_) are not included because they are NOT novels. The five novels included, however, are quite possibly Orwell's most enchanting work -- I first read _Keep the Aspidistra Flying_ over 10 years ago, and Orwell hasn't left my side since. I've read nearly all of the published works, and am slowly but surely making my way through the variety of newspaper columns, etc. But if you are unsure as to where to begin your Orwell education, for it is that, START HERE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six of the best, 17 Sep 2002
By A Customer
Obviously 1984 and Animal Farm are so well known as to not need any further comments about their quality. If you haven't read them, then now is the time.
However the less well known novels are just as interesting, especially as many aspects of Orwell's own life show through. From the despairing colonial offical in "Burmese Days" to the homeless hop-pickers in "A clergyman's daughter" via a down and out writer in "Keep the Apidistra flying" he writes well because he essentially writing from his own experiences.
These are novels of the highest quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great literature in a compact package, 18 May 2013
This is a basic but very economic collection of the novels of Orwell. It includes all six of his fictional works and would be ideal for a newcomer to Orwell or a reader who wants these novels in an easy, organised compendium.

Obviously Orwell's two classics, `Animal farm' and `1984', are present and they are every bit as fantastically written, engrossing and thought provoking as you might expect. Whether by good planning or by mere chance, they are the first and last novel in the order presented. This means that they virtually frame the less well known works. These include `Burmese Days', `The Clergyman's Daughter', Coming Up for Air' and `Keep the Aspidistra Flying'. Even though they cover quite different settings and environments there are common themes running throughout that make this feel more of a coherent collection where the novels compliment each other, rather than a vague group of books by the same author. Obviously the political satire and critique, the ever advancing tide of industrialism and capitalism, the exploration of class systems, and the corruption of power and imperialism are ever present. More importantly though these novels concentrate on the effect that these things have on the individual, the everyday person, and how they struggle to find their place in societies where they are pressured to become little more than cogs in a colossal machine. They are poignant studies in human psychology as every bit relevant today as when they were written. The inevitability that these that these diverse and fabulously created characters are eventually broken down and forced to accept all they rebel against is a depressing exploration of the helplessness of the individual within civilisation.

The collection itself has quite thin, papery pages that aren't of a great quality. The cover though is quite reinforced and sturdy for a paperback of this size and weight. The binding on the spine is also quite strong. There is a lack of scholarly content or critique but this edition is not designed for such purposes and the introduction, though basic, is quite adequate for what is needed. This is a collection for enjoying Orwell's work rather than studying it. As such, and considering the price, this is ideal as a convenient collection of some of the greatest works in English literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection of literature which easily rivals Shakespeare, 30 Sep 1999
By A Customer
To read this collection from cover to cover, takes you on a journey of which I can only describe as emotionally intense. The ideas, opinions, characters, visions and aspirations come alive through the stories vivid descriptions. This vividness of description has, perhaps only been achieved by Dicken's and will rival any novel or set of novels.
This is a collection is a simple must, for anybody who wishes to have a novel to give him or her so much to think about, that you'll proberbly need not buy another novel again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars arrived on time, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I haven't read them yet but I was curious before buying if this would be a collection of separate books or one large book containing them all, it's one book not separate books, in case you wanted to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Im-perfect binding..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The early novels are very poor as novels- clumsy, over-written. But they are fascinating as documents in his development as a very serious and major political writer. He really doesn't find a consistent authorial voice until Coming Up For Air, published on the very eve of the Second World War: the result is imperfect but very readable and very enjoyable, contrasting the security of an apparently immutable provincial life before 1914 with the ghastly plastic 1930s, urban sprawl, pretend affluence, power of big money, and the immediate threat of the dictators Hitler, Stalin, Mussolini, the concentration camps, and aerial bombardment from fleets of planes.
Why only 4 stars: the physical paperback is too unwieldy, and too tightly bound, to be a pleasure to handle. In fact the binding is a damned nuisance.
Much better t buy the individual novels, I suppose. Oh well, I should have thought more carefully. Not Orwell's fault!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest writers of the Twentieth Century, 5 July 2007
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
George Orwell and Graham Greene are, for me, the two finest British writers of the twentieth century. Here Orwell's five novels are collected, and are well worth reading (get his non-fiction too). 1984 and Animal Farm are possibly the two finest pieces of fiction of the last century. The other novels are a mixed bag but still worth a look. BURMESE DAYS is a superb exposition of the reality of colonial rule in the early 1930s. A small group of English ex-pats forced together in a remote station in Burma. Gin soaked and bitter they lead miserable lonely lives. Local political machinations and the arrival of a young woman from England combine to shatter the fragile framework that holds them together. THE CLERGYMAN'S DAUGHTER is altogether a different piece and not quite sure what it is. It starts in the style of a D H Lawrence novel - the spinsterish daughter of the vicar; then it takes a comic turn as she loses her memory and ends up picking hops; then we have a Dickensian description of a grim private girls school; finally we return where we started. The tone is downbeat and the fact that nothing really happens is disappointing, though it is fun and interesting in parts. COMING UP FOR AIR is a nostalgic piece - an enjoyable description of life at the turn of the twentieth century, and the pointlessness of living in the past. KEEP THE ASPIDISTRA FLYING I find tedious. It is a long rant against the "money god" featuring a dull and self-obsessed young man. I am not sure what the purpose of it is, except to warn us against becoming too self-absorbed that we ignore reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astoundingly good value for money, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Novels of George Orwell: Animal Farm, Burmese Days, A Clergyman's Daughter, Coming Up for Air, Keep the Aspidistra Flying, Nineteen Eighty-Four (Penguin Modern Classics) (Kindle Edition)
If you have already read any of George Orwell's novels you will know why I have rated this collected works with 5 stars. Everything is here from the fairy tale satire of "Animal Farm", the well known dystopic novel "1984" to the wonderful autobiographical "Burmese Days" and "Voyage to Catalonia" not to mention the observations of very ordinary lower middle class life in "Keep the Aspidistra Flying". Every one a winner and written in Orwell's very direct, readable style. If you haven't read any Orwell, or stopped after the school rendition of "Animal Farm", now is your chance to find out what you have been missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews