Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wartime saga
This is the third volume in the Cazalet Chronicles and it is just as enthralling as the first two. I listened to the first two books on audio (read by Jill Balcon, a magnificent reading), but I just couldn't wait to find out what happened next, so I've just devoured Confusion, and I'm about to start Casting off, the final volume. The Cazalets are a middle-class family...
Published on 21 Nov 2002 by Lynette Baines

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numerous errors in this kindle version
I am really enjoying the Cazalet chronicles but I am afraid the errors in this kindle version are really spoiling my enjoyment of it. Amazon need to do some better proof reading.
Published 17 months ago by Susan M. Mcguire


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wartime saga, 21 Nov 2002
By 
Lynette Baines (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the third volume in the Cazalet Chronicles and it is just as enthralling as the first two. I listened to the first two books on audio (read by Jill Balcon, a magnificent reading), but I just couldn't wait to find out what happened next, so I've just devoured Confusion, and I'm about to start Casting off, the final volume. The Cazalets are a middle-class family during WWII. They are based at Home Place in Sussex, but as the children grow older, and the war intrudes on their lives, the focus of the series has widened. Elizabeth Jane Howard's great gift is to make the reader care about all the characters. The book is divided into sections focussing on one character at a time, and I would become so involved in that character's life that it was often hard to move on to the next section. After half a page, I was just as involved in the next section! The development of the characters is excellent. Zoe, who begins as a beautiful, spoilt girl with no thoughts beyond her own beauty and her own pleasure, has become a much more complex character by the end of the third book. The girls, Louise, Clary and Polly have grown up so convincingly. Rachel, the unmarried dutiful daughter is perfect. Maybe the most interesting character is Archie Lestrange, who becomes a friend and confidant to the whole family. His role as a man who is "practically one of the family" yet also an outsider is fascinating. I can't wait to read the final volume and see what happens to these people who have become so real to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confusion Cazalet Chronicle, 12 Nov 2010
By 
M. Jordan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any reader who enjoys a family saga must read the Cazalet Chronicles. Although there is a complex number of family members at first, a family list is provided for reference and every character is beautifully drawn. The Chronicles cover the members of this middle-class family and their relationships from pre-to -post World War 2 and their coming to terms with the social changes this creates for them all. Set in both Kent and London they are a warm and yet often thought provoking set of novels, with characters one can identify with and care about. Elizabeth Jane Howards's writing is in beautiful English which is a joy to read and justifies the opinion that the Cazalet Chronicles are considered modern classics. Please read them all in order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent but too many typos, 12 May 2013
This review is from: Confusion: Cazalet Chronicles Book 3 (The Cazalet Chronicle 3) (Kindle Edition)
I can't wait for the next in the series. What a pity this electronic version is so full of typographical errors. I wish I could correct them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Careless proof-reading of a modern classic, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confusion: Cazalet Chronicles Book 3 (The Cazalet Chronicle 3) (Kindle Edition)
I love the Cazalet Chronicles, read them first some time ago. Having missed most of the recent Radio 4 serialisation, I downloaded all four books and prepared to wallow, And I do still love them, their sense of history, and Elizabeth Jane Howard's sensitive and perceptive delineation of her characters growing and developing in war- time Britain is gripping and believable. but I struggled with the incredibly substandard proof-reading and copy-editing of all four books, and especially this one. Sometimes the errors were so ferocious that I had to re- read whole paragraphs before picking up the meaning. A great pity, whoever is responsible for this sloppy presentation should give these books the respect they deserve and withdraw them for corrections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Numerous errors in this kindle version, 30 Mar 2013
By 
Susan M. Mcguire "Story Magic" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confusion: Cazalet Chronicles Book 3 (The Cazalet Chronicle 3) (Kindle Edition)
I am really enjoying the Cazalet chronicles but I am afraid the errors in this kindle version are really spoiling my enjoyment of it. Amazon need to do some better proof reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, love it, love it, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confusion: Cazalet Chronicles Book 3 (The Cazalet Chronicle 3) (Kindle Edition)
I am completely captivated by this family. Engaging characters, variety of plots and themes and a definite sense of humour throughout. A great read. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confusion: Cazalet Chronicles Book 3 (The Cazalet Chronicle 3) (Kindle Edition)
I have nearly got to the end of the this, the 3rd book in the series and am loving it. I can't wait to get on with this story of the Cazalet family and their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two sides of a coin, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confusion: Cazalet Chronicles Book 3 (The Cazalet Chronicle 3) (Kindle Edition)
An unsettling but satisfying read following the comforting, cosy atmosphere created in the first two novels.The second world war was a time of great unhappiness, but also, for some, a time of adventure and opportunity. Through following the lives of the various members of the Cazalet family this third novel shows the utter confusion of a world where nothing was certain. Relationships developed and lost, uncertainty, fear, misunderstandings and false starts, are all underpinned by the sense of belonging centred on the family base at Home Place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cazalet Family Saga, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confusion: Cazalet Chronicles Book 3 (The Cazalet Chronicle 3) (Kindle Edition)
A lovely gentle read to lose yourself in. Having read the first book of the quartet I was hooked, and the other three quickly followed. The characters are well drawn, and involve you in the manners and mores of the time - which some of us can almost recall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why can't publishers of ebooks get proof readers?, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confusion: Cazalet Chronicles Book 3 (The Cazalet Chronicle 3) (Kindle Edition)
I love reading ebooks but my enjoyment is often disrupted by frequent typos - why is this? You don't get typos in paper printed books, so why do we have to endure them in ebooks??????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews