Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


151 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, but perfectly formed
The first thing you notice about the Kodak Playfull Ze1 is how small it is. It is about the size and weight of a Mars Bar or a slim mobile phone. Somewhat strange for such a diminutive video camera, the multi-language instruction booklet is about the size of a double CD case. Not really a problem as the use of the video or still camera is amazingly intuitive.

I...
Published on 3 Jun. 2011 by Nick Flynn

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kodak playfull Review- Please read
This camera is a hit and miss. It has it's advantages and it's pitfalls. The camera is pretty much the same size as a cell phone so it fits perfectly in the bag. It takes stills as well as making videos. Once you insert the USB into your computer, the programme will install. That does take a few minutes. I bought this camera so that I could vlog more regularly. There are...
Published on 21 Feb. 2012 by ren090485


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

151 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small, but perfectly formed, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
Nick Flynn "NickF" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The first thing you notice about the Kodak Playfull Ze1 is how small it is. It is about the size and weight of a Mars Bar or a slim mobile phone. Somewhat strange for such a diminutive video camera, the multi-language instruction booklet is about the size of a double CD case. Not really a problem as the use of the video or still camera is amazingly intuitive.

I was really impressed at ALL of the lead were included ... the charger of course, double bonus for me as the micro USB is the same as my phone, an HDMI lead and an AV lead ... all seem to be good quality.

The operation is smooth, there is a pretty decent image stabiliser built in, and even walking shots are pretty decent. The screen is small, but big enough to see what you are doing (I would suggest not big enough for serious editing ... you need to go to a computer or even TV for that).

On playback, the built in speaker might suggest that the audio quality is poor ... BUT ... playback on a TV or PC/Mac is really pretty good.

When I ordered the PlayFull I didn't realise it had a zoom facility ... I don't know what the specs are, but it does a decent-ish job at getting you closer to the action,

I fitted a 16Gb sdhc class 8 card into the camera, and am informed that will give me close to 3 hours of HD, 4 and a half SD record time and about 12,000 photos ... plenty for me.

There is a facility to do still shots, and again, very easy as the still/video button is a simple toggle. There is also a slot to attach the Playfull to a tripod ... I've used it and I think the feature would be very good for YouTube fans.

There is no flash or lighting facility, but all of the indoor, low light shots I have done are fine,

All in all, brilliant, I could have knocked a point off for no case, and no external mic, but really that would be very mean.

Almost forgot the share facility ... press one button on the camera (when connected to your PC/Mac and you can get content onto FaceBook, YouTube etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont hesitate buying this product (worths the money), 11 Oct. 2011
Nice camera , very slim , good video , maybe should have macro but it's ok. I recommend this to anyone who would like a simple and fast camera to record things happening around recommended to vloggers too! Also very nice mic even for recording, catches every sound! Buttons are smooth not making a clicky sound , usb on device helps a lot, software is ok not much of an editing tool (you can trim videos put some effects and music cover ).Package came normally all included as stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and very portable, 13 Jan. 2012
By 
Stefano Sarao "Dino Sauro" (Milan, Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This device is simply brilliant. I always carry it with me on trips and I also use it as a backup videocamera in case my state-of-the-art 60GB hard-drive unit goes on the fritz. It takes excellent HD videos and pretty decent still photos. It's practical, easy to use and a real bargain to boot. I recently used it in connection with a flexible "gorilla pod" and placed it on the car dashboard to film a road trip. Excellent results and zero hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 22 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kodak PlayFull ZE1 Full HD 1080P, Image Stabilisation with Built-in USB Arm - Blue/Silver (Electronics)
I bought this Kodak Playfull as i wanted a small, completely portable HD video/camera to carry around, and what a fantastic little piece of kit it is!! The video quality is great for such a small camera, and the picture definition is fab too. It is easy to use, has a built in USB so no messing when downloading to the laptop, it's sleek and stylish and the battery life is fantastic too!! Very pleased with this purchase and would definitely recommend it to all of my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does What It Says On The Tin, 6 Jan. 2012
Excellent product, quality build, easy to use, stylish.
But most importantly delivers exceptional quality video and still shots in all conditions.
A bit hit with my teenage daughter
Highly recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kodak PlayFull ZE1 Full HD, 2 Jan. 2012
By 
C. A. Gates "pepper1" (somerset, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great little camcorder, As a stills photographer i like to have a camcorder in bag just in case.
This works a treat, i disagree about the charging aspect as i read the reviews and purchased a external charger with spare battery for not a lot of cost, Problem solved very easily.
Camorder very easy to use point and shoot, Would prefer one without a still camera in it as no use to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small but perfectly formed!, 29 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Kodak PlayFull ZE1 Full HD 1080P, Image Stabilisation with Built-in USB Arm - Blue/Silver (Electronics)
I bought this camera to go on holiday as I wanted something small and light with which to take photos and video. It's great for that, but do note that by today's standard, the pictures will not be of outstanding quality - this is no 10 megapixel camera after all!. But for making sure you don't miss a photo opportunity entirely, it's ideal. It was light and small enough to pop in a small glasses case for protection and take with me when sightseeing. It takes a bit of time to get used to the shape after a conventional camera. The battery seems to be reasonable and charging is quick and easy. The charger supplied is a clever continental one which fits into a UK adaptor - very neat. Charged well from a laptop too. Do remember to buy an SD card - the internal memory only holds 7 seconds video or 5 still photos, just enough to test the camera. The software loaded from it onto the laptop very smoothly. It feels well made, the instruction booklet is reassuring thick(!) but helpful, and I'm looking forward to exploring all the clever features it has.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kodak playfull Review- Please read, 21 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This camera is a hit and miss. It has it's advantages and it's pitfalls. The camera is pretty much the same size as a cell phone so it fits perfectly in the bag. It takes stills as well as making videos. Once you insert the USB into your computer, the programme will install. That does take a few minutes. I bought this camera so that I could vlog more regularly. There are certain things that I dont like about it. It's not good in low lighting and sometimes when I play back, the words dont match my lips. However, once the videos are uploaded onto youtube, that issue seems to go away. Buy this camera only if you want it for a bit of a hobby. However, if you want it for professional reasons, this may not be the obe for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PRETTY GOOD., 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent video quality, stills also pretty good. Only let down is the finger nail breaking flaps which cover the card slot and HDMI out socket. The single button control could be a bit bigger, not realy suited for large finger tips. Still a good buy despite these niggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little camcorder, 18 Jun. 2012
This is a brilliant little gadget. I've used it for talking heads interviews and action shots and it performs really well. Voice pickup is sharp and clear, the functions are intuitive (fortunate as the manual is really basic) and the image is sharp until you zoom in, when the digital noise gives it a slightly retro feel.

The editing software that comes with it is also basic but fairly intuitive. My main criticisms would be naff transitions (aren't they always?) and that if you can have anything other than a block colour for your intro, I can't work out how.

But all in all I'm delighted with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews