Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stories... but presentation could be better
It goes without saying that the Sherlock Holmes stories themselves are superb; if anyone has not read them I strongly recommend they do. However the Kindle version has some failings that I feel bound to point out to would-be buyers.

1. As another reviewer has commented that for some reason the stories contained in the books `His Last Bow' and `The Case Book of...
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by Simon Butler

versus
29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great read, shame about the missing contents page entries
This eBook really needs to be considered in two ways: first, whether the Holmes stories and novels are a good read, and second, whether this is a good packaging of them.

The stories and novels are, in truth, something of a curate's egg. The characters of Holmes and Watson are brilliantly drawn, while the people they encounter give an insight into the 'types'...
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by P. Stephens


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stories... but presentation could be better, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Simon Butler (Belper, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
It goes without saying that the Sherlock Holmes stories themselves are superb; if anyone has not read them I strongly recommend they do. However the Kindle version has some failings that I feel bound to point out to would-be buyers.

1. As another reviewer has commented that for some reason the stories contained in the books `His Last Bow' and `The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes' aren't indexed in the table of contents, which is rather irritating if you want to find one of them and can't remember where it lies. This is further compounded by having some of them out of order. In most cases this will not matter much, but here there are some which have to be in a particular place because they allude to earlier stories.

2. It has a small number of illustrations, which is nice, but none of the maps and handwritten messages that can be found in the printed copies of the books are there. Not the end of the world, but the maps in particular were included for a reason: to help the reader follow the story. To omit them while including other illustrations seems rather odd to me.

Having said that, at under 1, it makes a very good buy, and benefits from the usual features of an eBook: text whose size can be altered to suit the reader's eyesight and so on. Just a bit of a shame about the above points: I hope this may one day be rectified by the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great read, shame about the missing contents page entries, 24 Jan 2012
By 
P. Stephens (Bath, B&NES United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
This eBook really needs to be considered in two ways: first, whether the Holmes stories and novels are a good read, and second, whether this is a good packaging of them.

The stories and novels are, in truth, something of a curate's egg. The characters of Holmes and Watson are brilliantly drawn, while the people they encounter give an insight into the 'types' (retired colonels, distressed gentlewomen etc) who populated England around the turn of the 20th Century. The mysteries are intriguing (how did the murderer get away without leaving any footprints on the other side of the moat?), Conan Doyle's style is surprisingly brisk for the period, and the action surprisingly physical at times, with Watson not shy of packing his revolver on a dangerous mission.

However the stories often seem too short, and to involve little more than Holmes being presented with a mystery which he instantly solves before being quickly proved right (this could be a context problem, as they may have seemed different when read as a quick bite of Holmes from the pages of Strand magazine). That said, they're addictive and each one can be read in a few minutes, so they're ideal for dipping into. The four novels, on the other hand, show that Conan Doyle was perfectly capable of pacing himself for a longer format, and read very well. The best is the Hound of the Baskervilles, which thoroughly deserves its classic status.

As a packaging exercise, this eBook has two flaws. The first is a big one; the lack of individual contents-page entries for the stories in the last two collections ('His Last Bow' and 'The Casebook of Sherlock Holmes'). This makes it very hard to find individual stories (although I suppose you can bookmark them once you have), and is fairly unforgiveable given how little work would have been involved in adding the links while preparing the book for publication.

The other flaw is that in some collections the stories are out of order - in most cases this doesn't matter too much, but in the 'Return of Sherlock Holmes' collection it does, since 'The Adventure of the Empty Room' contains the actual reappearance of Holmes after his supposed death at the hands of Moriarty, and really should be the first in the set (but isn't).

All in all a terrific, enjoyable and surprisingly modern read. At this price you can't complain too much about the presentation, but since there is another collection available for the Kindle at a similar price, minus the Tales of Terror and Mystery but with contents-page links to all the stories, it might be worth looking at that one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Earlier errors fixed, good presentation, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
I wanted a cheap and complete version of Holmes for my Kindle and this book delivered. A note that the errors mentioned by earlier reviewers (some books listed in the Table of Contents not hyperlinking to the stories) have now been fixed; the ToC is now fully interactive. A good collection with excellent format, except for paragraphs not being indented for some reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 9 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Only ever seen Sherlock Holmes on the TV. So I fancied reading the original. What fun I am having. It so easy to enjoy the language and the clever way Conan Doyle puts together the stories. Loving it. Will probably go on to read other things by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The collection to buy - with all earlier issues now corrected!, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
I love Sherlock Holmes - whether in print or on screen. Being too young to have watched the Basil Rathbone TV versions, nonetheless the Jeremy Brett version of Holmes for me is the definitive TV version of Doyles' masterpiece. Benedict Cumberbatch/BBC do a fine job, but they reinvent the stories & characters a little too much for my taste.

That being said, which of the 77p (at the time or reviewing) collections do I buy. Previously, I had the Holmes stories in their free, public domain format, but the option to get a collection of all the stories, in the correct order & from the Doyle estate was too good a chance to miss!

I looked at this collection & a number of the others & finally decided it would either be this version or the Maplewood Books; 2 edition (29 May 2014), ASIN: B00DCD53C2 and proceeded to get both sampled to our Kindle Touch.

As good as the Maplewood Books collection was, it didn't come up to this one. In this edition, you not only get the full Table of Contents navigable from the Kindle - with no omissions/issues as reported in earlier reviews (as with Maplewood), but you also get some nice "real book" enhancements with Doyle's signature & some lovely illustrations. I felt that the typography was also superior in this version.

No doubt about it, if you want all of Doyle's Holmes stories in easy to read, organised format for your Kindle device or app, then this is the collection to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wondeful stories , poor edition, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. L. E. Davies "mumshoes" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
I have no issue with the stories , they are wonderful. However the edition is rife with Spelling/typo errors . I also object to the use of Americanisms throughout. It is a pity that these issues marred my enjoyment to some extent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor formatting, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Was very disappointed by this book - full of typos, formatting errors, and inconsistencies in the typography that detract from the reading pleasure. Definitely would not recommend to others looking to buy the collected Sherlock Holmes works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but..., 7 Mar 2011
By 
Ferret (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Conan Doyle's masterpiece needs no review from me - like Coca Cola Holmes is a 'brand name' known world wide. This edition is well presented with pleasing illustrations, but why on earth are two of the collections (His Last Bow and the final Case-Book) not indexed like the others? For those who know the canon this is not a problem but newcomers (lucky people!) may not realize that there are 20 stories hidden away behind these two headings. Everything is here however and although this work is all in the public domain and available elsewhere it is convenient to have the complete works in one file at a reasonable price. The text is nicely justified and laid out better than the free versions I have seen (fills the Kindle screen well). Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile collection of mostly short stories, 22 May 2011
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Having read all the stories, this collection contains everything you need to enjoy Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's works. Points to mention are:

There are only 4 full length books - A Study in Scarlet, The Sign of Four, The Hound of the Baskervilles and The Valley of Fear. The rest are short stories.
How infrequently Professor Moriarty or Holmes brother Mycroft appear in the original stories.
The Tales of Terror and Mystery don't contain Sherlock Holmes, but are all well written and worth reading.
The short stories are understandably short, so don't leave much room for many twists and turns. Although well reasoned, Holmes pretty well always gets it right first time.
There is a lot of variety of characters and stories. It never felt like I was reading the same story twice.

The free sample gives you all of the first novel, and nearly all of the second. This collection is a worthwhile buy that has clearly stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avidreader...Sir Arthur..., 19 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: THE COMPLETE SHERLOCK HOLMES and THE COMPLETE TALES OF TERROR AND MYSTERY: Authorised Version by the Conan Doyle Estate, Ltd. (ILLUSTRATED) (Complete Works ... Doyle | The Complete Works Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Well past retirement age this is my first try with Sherlock. What a revalation the stories are phenominal. This appears to a very good edition on the kindle well indexed and easy to get around. The illustrations lend a certain ambience and I must confess I am experiencing a great deal of pleasure from the whole thing. Highly recommended will take ages to wade through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews