Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read
This book is good at being able to read and stop and pick up where you left its an easy read. The stories of her life is very much God lead and inspiring book of an ordinary but yet extraodinary woman. The hollywood film based on her life acted by Ingrid Bergman is not accurate to Gladys Aylwards real life. The book is far much more incrediable and truthful. Enjoy!
Published on 20 Jun 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but short
Amazing as a true story (even if a little difficult to believe in parts). But I knock 2 stars off for brevity and lack of detail and explanation at times. For example, when she starts adopting children she says very little about them. Still more fascinating than the Hollywood film version/fantasy though.
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by G. Sanderson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 20 Jun 2010
This book is good at being able to read and stop and pick up where you left its an easy read. The stories of her life is very much God lead and inspiring book of an ordinary but yet extraodinary woman. The hollywood film based on her life acted by Ingrid Bergman is not accurate to Gladys Aylwards real life. The book is far much more incrediable and truthful. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 30 April 2012
By 
M. Arton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember seeing the film (Inn of 6th Happiness) years ago but recently heard that Gladys Aylward toured England giving talks about her work in China. I was intrigued and bought both the film and the book. I could hardly put the book down - what an amazing lady she was. A really inspirational Christian missionary in every sense!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading, 1 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A small book about a small woman which contained a gigantic story, with powerful descriptions of her experiences, which were not exagerated and were simply stated.
A story of simple faith and determination, which occasionally was hard to read as the story being told was of cruel events and great hardship.
Recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ordinary people can make a difference, 14 Nov 2011
By 
D. M. Watson "inspired by books" (Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
An ordinary person with a lot of faith can make a difference in many lives. Thus being able to believe adds a dimension of usefulness to our everyday lives, as well as acting as an effective antidote to that "life is empty" feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do you want to be challenged?, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Peter M. (Bedfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladys Aylward: The Little Woman (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book describing how God sent Gladys Aylward to China to bring the gospel to the Chinese people, the challenges she faced and the many blessings received. Even the American spellings and many mis-spellings cannot spoil a fantastic history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An autobiography of an extraordinary woman.., 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladys Aylward: The Little Woman (Kindle Edition)
I have always been fascinated by the story of this very ordinary working class woman driven to lead an extraordinary life in turbulent times in a country far removed from her country of birth. I enjoyed every word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 25 Jan 2012
Great book, factual, inspirational and fascinating story. Gladys from a humble and approachable angle. Buy the Inn of the sixth happiness DVD but read the facts from here first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CherithC, 1 Jun 2007
By 
C. Cameron (NI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a very challenging book. firstly it shows us God's magnificent hand in the life of an ordinary woman, who was used to do extraodrinary things in the name of the Master. Secondly, it challenges us to attempt great things for God in our everyday lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but short, 13 Nov 2011
By 
G. Sanderson (Barnsley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing as a true story (even if a little difficult to believe in parts). But I knock 2 stars off for brevity and lack of detail and explanation at times. For example, when she starts adopting children she says very little about them. Still more fascinating than the Hollywood film version/fantasy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting account of China in the changes from Nationalists ..., 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladys Aylward: The Little Woman (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting account of China in the changes from Nationalists to Communists, plus the Japanese invasion. The gutsy triumph of one woman against adversity. Gosh, how determined she was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gladys Aylward: The Little Woman
£1.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews