Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My personal favourite, 10 Jun 2005
By 
M. J. Bailey (Nottingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I guess that if you're reading this then you are already an afficianado of aviation history. In that case, you'll love it.
The start is a bit prosey and dated, but once you're past the third chapter you will be so absorbed in the story that you won't notice.
It's the standard story of a tour on bombers (mainly Stirlings which is interesting), but told in a unique style which will have you alternating between laughter and tears. The foreward contains a ringing endorsement from Bomber Harris, so I suppose that says it all. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Thousand shall Fall, 6 Jun 2008
As an ex RAF serviceman; I appreciate the warmth and honesty and humour inside this well written book; So intersting I just could'nt put it down untill it was finished; It highlights the cost in lives of the Canadian service men, that toured with the RAF in those dark times; well done Murray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great overview, 10 Nov 2007
By 
Canuck Reader (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
This book covering Peden's service history gives a great overview not only of battle service but also training. The coverage here of the often overlooked British Commonwealth Air Training Plan gives the reader a look at how the air force produced the thousands of trained airmen required for the fight.
Eminently readable, it also gives an inner look at relationships that developed between the aircrew members. I find myself quoting from this book whenever a discussion of bomber command comes up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book About Bomber Command, 15 Nov 2010
By 
Marc H. Stevens "Carrera Marc" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although it was written in the 1970's, Murray Peden's masterwork succeeds and survives to this day by giving us youngsters an insider's look at life as a front line WW2 bomber pilot.

Peden's book is so personal that you will shed many tears while reading it. When friends are lost, they are your own friends, from school or work or social circles. And when Peden's wry sense of humour shines through, you will laugh out loud at the crazy antics.

Books written this well are rare. Books written this well about war, even less so. Congratulations and thanks, Mr. Peden!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars murray peden, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Shall Fall: The True Story of a Canadian Bomber Pilot in World War Two (Kindle Edition)
How I would love to hug this man and say thank you, I am free because of Murray and people like him many gave their lives for us, the book was a riveting read, tinged with sadness for those airmen who never made it back, and those so badly wounded their lives altered for ever. Buy it and read it and never lose sight what the cost of human endeavour was. I lived every flight with them, thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book., 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Shall Fall: The True Story of a Canadian Bomber Pilot in World War Two (Kindle Edition)
I don't unfortunately have the vocabulary to describe just how much Mr Peden's description of his experiences of his life up to and including his service in WWII touched me. It describes in vivd detail his experiences in working towards and subsequently being a bomber pilot in the Second World War. In equal part unbearably sad and uproariously funny, it gives a real insight into one man's journey through one of the human race's darkest episodes. Beautifully written with exhaustive detail, but also warmth, humillty and modesty. An extraordinary book, and one I feel both privileged and utterly humbled to have read.
I cannot recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 14 Nov 2013
By 
J. Towell (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Shall Fall: The True Story of a Canadian Bomber Pilot in World War Two (Kindle Edition)
This is a detailed and well written account of the authors experiences during WWII including training in Canada, service in the UK flying Stirling bombers and later B17's with 214 Squadron in the bomber support role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent !, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Shall Fall: The True Story of a Canadian Bomber Pilot in World War Two (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent account of life in Bomber Command from the point of view of its Canadian author and is recommended reading for any student of modern history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Shall Fall: The True Story of a Canadian Bomber Pilot in World War Two (Kindle Edition)
A beautifully written book. How these guys managed to keep going against incredible odds is beyond me.Truly one of the greats.......I recommend that you read it and remember the author and all his associates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a compulsory read for any student of the air war 1939-1945, 25 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Thousand Shall Fall: The True Story of a Canadian Bomber Pilot in World War Two (Kindle Edition)
Very well written, by turns extremely funny and extremely sad. We lucky baby boomers owe everything to heroes like these.
I cannot recommend this wonderful book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews