Customer Reviews


287 Reviews
5 star:
 (209)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible of Middle-Earth
It's more than slightly staggering to consider: the epic fantasy "Lord of the Rings" to be the tail end of Tolkien's invented history. The "Bible" of Middle-Earth, the "Silmarillion" stretches from the beginning of time to the departure of the Elves from Middle-Earth.
A complete summary is impossible, because the book spans millennia and has one...
Published on 28 Feb 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
68 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Deluxe edition
I have purchased the deluxe editions of the LOTR, and the three volumes of the History of Middle Earth. All of these books are superb and are printed on fine India paper. However unlike these books the Silmarillion deluxe which I bought is printed on much heavier, poorer quality paper. The print quality in the first few pages was also very dissapointing. Although...
Published on 6 Jan 2004 by MR S CONNOR


‹ Previous | 123 24 2529 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It answers every questions you have about the Tolken world, 9 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
The Silmarillion tells you exactly how the world was made in a very intertaining fasion (and may even be found appealing to ten year old children!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, but not for the faint hearted., 2 Aug 2002
By 
It's hard to review a book like this.
It's more like a history lesson then a book. I would not call this an easy book to read, but it is very rewarding.
I personally found the book rather hard going, but the end result is well worth the effort.
Dark corners of middle earth are illuminated so clearly by this book, if you read this in conjunction with the histories of middle earth. I am sure you will end up feeling you know more of the history of middle-earth then of "earth" as we know it.
Pick up this wonderfully bound book, settle down in a large comfortable chair, (with a decent drink beside you) and settle back. It's time to loose yourself...
I think this is the sort of book that will get ratings off 4 to 5 and 1, it isan't a book with much middle ground you will either love it, or find it just so much hard work and give up on it. Please, if you do find it hard going, trying sticking with it.
If you really want to know more about middle-earth through Tolkiens' eyes it's not a must read, but it's pretty damn close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent book, 27 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Hardcover)
Silmarillion is one of my most favourite books. Sometimes I'm not sure if I love more Silmarillion or Lord of the Rings. The stories in Silmarillion are noble and tragic, the heroes are much more complicated than those in Lord of the Rings. You must love them and regret them (Túrin, Maedhros, Maglor, even Maeglin). The stories of great friendships, great lords and kings, desperate and magnificent deeds, great love and also hate, the battles and long lasting war. This is Silmarillion and that's why I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astonishingly good!, 2 Jun 2010
By 
Yangonite (london United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Hardcover)
I bought a seconhand copy of the Silmarillion one day whilst out shopping. I ended up back at a S London train station with a view to getting the train home. There was a long wait for the next service, so to pass the time I did the obvious and started the book.
Almost from the first sentence I realised this was something really special and unique. It struck me how the book dictated the pace at which it had to be read - slowly and deliberately. I think this is quite important. Probably some of the people who find the book "difficult", and let's face it, there are quite a few, are not comfortable with the slow tempo. The conflict caused by trying to read it faster than the intended speed may produce a sense of "difficultness".
The power of the stories, the clarity of the mental images produced, and the insight into mythology, are for me the real strengths of this book. After finishing it I even found it shed light on things in human history: how the races came to colonise planet earth from their African origins, how evil propagates thru' the world, how mythology illuminates anthropology and psychology. Workers in these fields have probably found benefits in a reading.
In short, this book spoke to me in a way only a really good book can and it's undoubtedly my favourite book.
I've not got into comparisons with other Tolkien works because I believe this book stands alone. OK, so there are obvious threads between it and the Hobbit, and LotR, but I believe these came after most of the Silmarillion was written.
Tolkien never published, or even intended to publish the S as a book. It was the stuff he wrote for himself rather than as a commercial endeavour. The Hobbit was published and received surprising commercial success, along with a clamour for further details of the characters/events referenced back to. This prompted Tolkien's publishers to press for a sequel. This was LotR, definitely a project with a view to making money - not that that is necessarily a bad thing. If T hadn't bothered, how much poorer would english literature and culture be without The Lord of...?
So in summary, in my view a really special, profound and powerful work, offering deep insights into human-history, -psychology and -culture.
Thanks to the Tolkiens - both senior and junior for enriching my life, and my outlook on life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enchanting, 12 April 2005
By 
Mathew (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
a very hard read, with very similar sounding names and places - but for anyone who loved the Lord of the Rings this is essential reading. The only one word that truly reflect the book, its story and its fantasy is 'enchanting'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let there be life!, 6 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
Okay so you have read LOTR and the hobbit, you want more what now? The silmarillion will tell you how middle earth began and will tell of the events leading up to the third age when the more popular books are set. This is a book you will read and then go back to again and again for references and just for fun. Christopher Tolkien has done a masterful job bringing his fathers notes to order and giving us something which would have been a sin to hold back. I seriously recomend this book to anyone who has read Lord Of The Rings and the Hobbit. BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the silmarillion, 2 July 2006
By 
bairdie "commonly know online as marduk" (manchester, england, great britain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
this is a great read-though, a word of warning to the casual reader or those incapable of reading a wide variety of styles-it is a hard one to get through the first time if you prefer a far more subjective kind of style i.e from on main protagonists point of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reveals mythological basis of later work, 20 Dec 2002
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
The best way to appreciate this work is if you understand a little of the background to what inspired Tolkein. He was a philologist who had a particular interest in Anglo Saxon and Nordic language and mythology and the influences show throughout his work. The whole concept of separate races of men, elves and dwarves originates in Norse myth, as do several of the names that Tolkein employs including Gandalf (a largely unimportant dwarf connected to the Nieblunglied) and Gimli (a sort of post Ragnarok New Jerusalem). Of all the people in his work the Rohirrim most closely resemble the Anglo Saxons, down to their toast (was hail) and even the scansion of their epic poetry.
Tolkein's first love was language however and Quenya, the Elvish Language, lies at the heart of all his later works. Composed largely as an esoteric intellectual exercise, the Silmarillion had its genesis in giving this language context in the form of the myths he loved so well. Thus was the whole idea of Middle Earth (Midgard) born.
These tales inevitably bear the traces of their pseudo mythic origins and it is best if they are approached in this vein. Indeed the complete body of work that this, fairly coherent, collection is drawn from is often contradictory and incomplete as is often the case with genuine myth (if that's not a complete oxymoron).
That said the work is far from a derivative recreation of the Nordic cosmology and Tolkein succeeds in making them his own. This is most especially true of the elves and when the world thinks of elves it is in Tolkeins terms rather than their mythic forebears. The characterisation and writing are often patchy but certain passages (Fingolfin's fight with Morgoth and large portions of the Beren and Luthien tale) show Tolkein at his evocative best. The narrative and pace do pick up considerably towards the end of the Quenta Silmarillion proper and becomes consequently easier to read and more straightforwardly enjoyable. If a lot of this sounds pretty dry and academic than that's deliberate as this is not a straight forward piece of writing and its certainly not a novel or a collection of short stories.
However for those who want to know their Tolkein and are prepared to take a bit of effort, and aren't put off by the needlessly esoteric opening chapters, this is a rewarding read. It does stand on its own as a work apart, its mythic basis is part of what sets it, and Lord of the Rings, miles ahead of the opposition, but unless you've read Lord of the Rings or else you're just really into mythology, you probably wouldn't bother. If you just want the background to Lord of the Rings though you're better off just sticking to the appendices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Tolkien fans., 24 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Hardcover)
I must admit that when i first started reading the book, in the first few chapters i found it hard to understand and enjoy. Although as the book progresed i found it really enjoyable and enjoyed reading about the creation and the lifes of the men and elves. This book is a must for all of the Tolken fans out there, if you want to know more about middle-earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tolkien fans only, 11 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Hardcover)
Dry is not the word. This is not really a story and is hard going. If you're going to read it then go somewhere that there's nothing else to read even newspapers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 123 24 2529 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silmarillion
The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien
5.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews