Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (210)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The bible of Middle-Earth
It's more than slightly staggering to consider: the epic fantasy "Lord of the Rings" to be the tail end of Tolkien's invented history. The "Bible" of Middle-Earth, the "Silmarillion" stretches from the beginning of time to the departure of the Elves from Middle-Earth.
A complete summary is impossible, because the book spans millennia and has one...
Published on 28 Feb 2006 by E. A Solinas

versus
68 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Deluxe edition
I have purchased the deluxe editions of the LOTR, and the three volumes of the History of Middle Earth. All of these books are superb and are printed on fine India paper. However unlike these books the Silmarillion deluxe which I bought is printed on much heavier, poorer quality paper. The print quality in the first few pages was also very dissapointing. Although...
Published on 6 Jan 2004 by MR S CONNOR


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Majecstic insight into Tolkien's inner workings, 10 Dec 2001
By 
Neil Benson (Richmond, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Having read Chrisipher Tolkien's reworking of his father's notes in 'The Silmarillion', I don't believe that JRR ever really intended them to be published. The history of Middle Earth is a many splendid thing, but ne'er made complete even by his son's most passionate editing.
But the wondrous voice of Shaw adds a magnificent majesty to the plight of the Elves and the forces of good against the Dark Lord. Unabridged, unsurpassable. I imported the CD version of Silmarilion through Amazon.com a few years ago and was entralled by every word Shaw recited of this great biblical history of Middle Earth. I've only listended to this entire collection hundreds of times, and I can only imagine tiring of it's retelling several lifetimes from this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get into but well worth the effort, 8 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
It took me three attempts to get past the first chapter - the song of creation in which the world is formed - but it the effort was worth it.
The full majesty of Tolkien's vision unfolds in this book, which was only hinted at in Lord of the Rings. The Silmarillion tells the history of the Elves, the Dwarfs and the Men - who were born into paradise only to see it spoiled by their own weaknesses and the machinations of The Enemy.
The Silmarillion explains the glory of the Elves, and why Tolkien loves them so much, but also allows for the triumph of Beren, a mere Man who achieves the greatest feat in Tolkien's history.
If you have read Lord of the Rings, you have to read the Silmarillion - and then read Lord of the Rings again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brief history of everything, 21 Jan 2004
By 
S. Polling (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
It is a testament to the Silmarillion that it makes the Lord of the Rings feel so small. The battle for the one ring forms little more than a footnote in the vast expanse of history that Tolkien has created here, and Sauron is a mere footsoldier in the armies of Morgoth (read Satan).
The Silmarillion reminded me of the early books of the bible, but fortunately without the "and Ahab begat Mephibeseth" etc. Tolkien has written a creation myth all his own, and were it not for that fact that he never published his work, it might seem as though the Silmarillion were a work of arrogance, simply a showcase for the staggering imaginative power of the writer.
As several reviewers have already commented, this is not story-telling in the Lord of the Rings genre, and it has little in the way of character development. However, I would recommend this book to anyone who is prepared to spend some time to understand their favourite childhood story a little more fully. This book will explain how wizards came into being, and will show why Aragorn is so important as the leader of men. Peter Jackson also borrowed from this work for his film, for example the very first scene in the Fellowship is nowhere to be found in the Lord of the Rings.
The book also stands alone as a work of great literary power. Although there is little room for character development, Tolkien refers to his protagonists with such awe and reverence throughout that this can be easily overlooked. To ask whether Feanor felt guilt at times, is like asking whether Nelson enjoyed sugar in his tea. In this account of great deeds, the smaller details are inconsequential.
In my personal opinion, this is a greater achievement than the Lord of the Rings, although I would not expect many to agree. It does take some patience initially, and many people will not have read anything like this before. However, those people are in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Unique and Memorable Experience, 30 July 2008
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
I would not consider myself a Tolkien fan- I put Lord of the Rings down half-way through The Two Towers. To be even more frank, I felt apprehensive about reading this book. It has the aura of being the nerdiest book ever written; even thinking about reading it threatened my self-image. Fortunately, my curiosity overpowered my insecurities, and I picked up the book.

The first thing potential readers should be aware of is this is not a novel. I think the book puzzled the big wig critics because they expected a novel. The closest thing to The Silmarillion that I've encountered is the Bible. The Silmarillion is an anthology of various works about Middle-Earth. It contains a creation story, a sort of theogony, and a collection of stories that give the history of Middle-Earth. Tolkien fans may be quick to praise the book for the depth it gives to Tolkien's world. I think the fans are right, but to stop at such a vague description would be to overlook the genius of the book.

In the Silmarillion, Tolkien constructs an entirely new worldview that we, as his readers, can experience. We do not simply read stories but we gain a new metaphors through which to see the world from his pantheon of god-like beings and his history. But the book is not heresy; it is purely imaginative fun.

I enjoyed Tolkien's Silmarillion because of how it immersed me in what I experienced as a new and unique worldview. Perhaps medievalists or mythologists will find it familiar, but to the layman, this book offered an entirely unique experience. It allows readers to see through the eyes of an inhabitant of Middle-Earth. The experience will stay with me for a long time. So, I recommend this book to the open and adventurous. Don't expect a novel; expect to immersed in a new world. For this reason, I thoroughly enjoyed the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tricky At Times But Worth The Perseverance., 30 Jan 2003
By 
Astore Stargazer (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
The Silmarillion is basically the history of middle earth and its surrounding lands, from the view point of the goings on in the war of jewels, the Silmarils, 3 precious jewels that contained the light of Valinor, the light of gods of E,A, the creators of middle earth. That were stolen by the evil Melkor, one of the lesser gods turned to evil ways. From the very beginning you are thrown into the very mythology of Tolkien’s world from the start and creation of the earth.
At times the book can be a little to difficult to follow, and it does take some perseverance at times, as they are so many different tribes of elves each with their own characteristics, and as the book continues the names of so many get confused as often the names of people and places are changed with only a little hint as to when or why. Each chapter is like a little story, and tells of the different people’s of middle earth and their own dealings with the evil Melkor, who in time was renamed Morgoth. The first dark lord and how also his servant Sauron was seduced by him to turn to evil ways with him.
Within the book you get to learn about the creation about all the creatures of middle earth, and how the Orc’s came to being, and also Balrogs and dragons, made by the cruel hands of Morgoth. At this time the map of middle earth was different to the one more commonly looked upon in the tale of the ring, but also you get to learn why it was this way and how it changed over the years.
The book covers much of the history of middle earth starting not only with the creation of the earth but also the first age right up until the end of the third age, where the popular names such as Aragorn and Gandalf are now part of, but also the book covers the first war of the ring when Isildur cut the ring from the hand of Sauron and his reluctance to destroy it there after which does make for good reading. I don’t think that this is the best of Tolkiens work, as it was edited by his son Christopher, and most of these compelling stories aren’t in detail, which sometimes is a little tricky to grasp in parts, but some of the stories are quite excellent and make for gripping reading, as all the stories written in the Silmarillion are written in their full version in other books, but here you have a collection of the important happenings of middle earth and still are bound together well as they all have their importance in making this book into a extremely interesting climax. In general if you want to know more about the history of middle earth and don’t fancy reading through the whole host of 12 books, then this book is for you, as here is a collection of stories that become crucial to the outcome of all the peoples of middle earth in later times, and sets up the mythology for Tolkiens great tale of the Lord Of The rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The book no Tolkien fan can live without, 24 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
There are some things in life which you almost avoid, but when you finally get round to it, you wonder why it took you so long. The Shawshank Redemption springs to mind for me; I'm sure you have equivalents.
The Silmarillion may just be a book like that. I have seen my father's version on the shelf for years, but despite reading The Lord of the Rings several times, I just never got round to The Silmarillion - if this sounds like you, READ THIS BOOK!
Never before, nor again I imagine, have I been immersed in a world of such depth and imagination. It has been said this book is dry, this is somewhat true, but let your imagination run wild and the bare-bones structure which is laid out becomes colourful and entertaining.
If you are looking for a light, quick book then you should look elsewhere, but if you want a book to lift the spirit this is it. You will have to pay attention though; characters come and go frequently.
Tolkien's Catholicism is brought to the front several times, and many parallels can be drawn between traditional religion, mythology and his creations. However, everything is presented with Tolkien's usual genius, and it all seems fresh.
In summary, I would definitely try this book. You may find that it is 'not you', but the risk is definitely worth the rewards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Documentary!? in the form of a book!, 6 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
This is a masterpiece of mythical grandeur that fully deserves 5 stars. Ok, so its not easy to read, and the flow of the book is not like that of LOTR, however somehow this adds to the enjoyment. This is not a book to be rushed through, it is easy to pick it up and think because it is not as long as LOTR that it will be quicker and easier to read. This is a falsity.
If you're going to buy this book take your time reading it and your the enjoyment of The Silmarillion will be much greater. Tolkien feeds you beautifully crafted information throughout the book, a little like a documentary would. The historical and philosophical background of Middle Earth is explained is wonderful detail, and is intricately interwoven with the story of LOTR.
I recommend this book to everyone and anyone who has an interest in Tolkien's world. However if you have not yet read LOTR or The Hobbit then this is perhaps not the best place to start as a grasp of Tolkien writing style, and an understanding of his philosophical underpinnings are useful when starting The Silmarillion.
But what really makes the Silmarillion stand out is its contribution the shear historical 'massiveness' of Tolkien's world.
Wonderful, brilliant, superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly beautiful....., 13 July 2006
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Paperback)
Few words can truely describe the complexity of the world that Tolkien created...only hinted at in the Lord of The Rings and The Hobbit. Even though this book goes into a far broader depth and narrative your still left with a feeling that this is but the tip of the iceberg; a sapling from which Tolkiens grandest creation only began to develop, and you want more by the end of it.

The Silmarillion is a book of eloquence and beauty; Truely epic on a scale that no other fictional book has and perhaps will achieve again in such short a number of pages. From the forming of the world by the music of the Ainur, to Beren's first awestruck glance at Luthien dancing in the moonlight. It's content is so broadly whispered, that it leaves nearly every character and story an element of mystery, deepening the wonder and leaving you eager to read more.

Creating such a detailed and believable mythology, it boggles the mind to think of Tolkien's genius considering that before this, there was nothing else to go by other then ancient mythology...which is exactly what he has created here - His own mythology. And it's always important to remember that every fantasy author out there does owe something to Tolkien, if only in the most subtle of ways.

The books plots are centred around races as a whole: primarily the Elves who are a wonder to read about. It's obvious from reading that they were Tolkien's foundation for the whole world; of which it's origins can be derived from a language - Elvish. A race grew around that language (Elves) and finally a world formed around the race...It's a perspective and angle of creation that I can't imagine anyone else ever pursuing. Tolkien being primarily a linguist at heart...the fact that he had an amazing imagination, a talent for writing and an ability to tell a damn good story aswell, simply makes this a one of a kind.

People have branded this a difficult read. My opinion is simply that if your interested in Tolkiens world and you appreciate and understand what he was trying to achieve here, then you'll find it hard to pull yourself away. Opening the pages of this book takes you somewhere else, where paradise, beauty, heroics, love, suffering and treachery all co-exist, spanning thousands of years. You'll know great happiness and bliss and then be taken into tragedy and despair.

I would certainly advise people to first read The Lord of The Rings once or more times and perhaps The Hobbit before attempting this. Of course with the great movies out now (though a shadow of the books glory) it's even easier to get some background on Tolkiens world, which you will certainly need if you do not want to be utterly confused by aspects of the book. You do certainly get used to the language of the book and names that at first sound very much alike do get easier to recall - and be warned...there are A LOT of names in this book.

One thing I will say regarding the book is the "Of Beleriand and its Realms" chapter detailing the vast and mind blowing geography of the land. As amazing as it is to think Tolkien had nearly every tree and hill visualised in his mind, it's difficult for us as readers to comprehend what the scene looked like on such a detailed level. Names of geographical features flood this chapter and all but a few have any relevance to the story...it does however add to the believable mythlogy.

A truely awe-inspiring book of epic proportions and a fascinating creation, born from the mind of just one man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful History of Tolkein's World, 12 Feb 2004
By 
This review is from: The Silmarillion (Hardcover)
This is a truly beautiful book. I've read Lord of the Rings twice now, and I wanted to know more about the history of Tolkein's world, before the events of Lord of the Rings, and I wasn't disappointed! It starts of with the beginnings of the world, or Arda, and an account of the Valar and their different qualities and powers. Then there's the main Silmarillion which tells of the curse of the Silmarils and the Noldor division of the Elves, and their battle against Melkor, the Dark Enemy of the World.
It is quite heavy going, to start with, and it took me two tries to read the whole thing, but trust me, it is worth it. I particularly love the stories of the lives of Luthien Tinuviel and her lover Beren, and of the life of Turin.
After the Silmarillion, there is the history of the island of Numenor and the Dunedain, from whom Aragorn (in LOTR) is descended, and some background about the making of the One Ring and other events of that time.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about the background to Tolkein's world, although it would probably be better to read the Lord of the Rings first, since then the events in the Silmarillion will make more sense to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here's a copy worth having!, 5 April 2002
Firstly a note on the text;...this is not a book to begin your reading of Tolkien with. But that does not mean you shouldn't continue with it. It is very different to the other two of the 'Tolkien Three', namely the Hobbit and LotR. Far grander in scale than even LotR, more alike to a history than a story (as again has been said many times). The prose (and the surprisingly scarce poetry) is archaic, which deters some people, but you soon become accustomed to it, and begin to enjoy it (well I did anyway). It is certainly, in my estimation at least, a book worth persevering with...
Secondly a note on the copy: The 16 images are Tolkien's own hand-drawn emblems, representations of which are easily found, but those contained in this are more difficult to obtain.
The postcard is, as the box describes, just stunning and it will take me a long time to find a worthy occasion to use it for.
The Map and booklet are contained in a book-like thing, the booklet describes the book adding more of Tolkien's inspirations than the blurb. It also contains descriptions (or similar) of places on the map of Beleriand. Which brings be nicely along to here: The map is an artist's impression, rather than a cartographer's work. But that artist is John Howe. Also it means you have a larger 'map' of Beleriand (the land lost to the sea prior to the events of LotR), which is generally overshadowed by maps of Middle-earth.
It is wonderful to hear someone, especially CT, reading the chapter. Also good to polish up your pronunciation: EldaliŽ anyone? And they couldn't have picked a better chapter. I have heard that Martin Shaw's performance is better, but I can't find flaws in CT's!
Finally(!) the book itself. This was the only part which I as slightly disappointed about (hence the 4), it is a hardback...technically, but the paper isn't particularly nice and seems more paperback-ish. But it is light, and the covers are appropriate. As an aside the book and box are actually a lightish grey/gray, rather than the white it seems to photograph as. It is a pleasant colour, though.
In short it is ironic that the CD is advertised as free, as that struck me as one of the strongest points of the package. But if you want this to be THE copy that you own, I don't recommend it: that said I do think it's worth having, if just for the extras. And the price, I think, is just.
And if you don't buy this copy, buy another at least. I won't say you won't be a serious 'Tolkienite' without it, but it won't hurt. Even that aside this is a beautiful book; thanks Proff :o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 329 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silmarillion
The Silmarillion by J. R. R. Tolkien
£5.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews