Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good
Rin Ogata was an up-and-coming ballerina but when an injury forced her to give up dancing she found her life somewhat unfulfilling. When she enters university she discovers the RideBack Club and when she tries to ride one of these unusual machines she discovers that she has a natural talent and grows to love the feeling of riding. Meanwhile, terrorist organisations and...
Published on 26 Jan 2012 by T. R. Alexander

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RideBack to the video store.
£24.99 is much too much to pay for this anime. The show lacks character development, struggles to make the story interesting, and worst of all, it has no heart. Thankfully, not long ago it was only £7.99, and that was still too costly.

The characters are introduced one by one, but all, to the end of the show, shall remain bland and one dimensional to the point...
Published on 27 May 2012 by R. Meredith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 26 Jan 2012
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Rin Ogata was an up-and-coming ballerina but when an injury forced her to give up dancing she found her life somewhat unfulfilling. When she enters university she discovers the RideBack Club and when she tries to ride one of these unusual machines she discovers that she has a natural talent and grows to love the feeling of riding. Meanwhile, terrorist organisations and the corrupt and oppressive GGP who begin to use RideBacks for their own purposes and Rin slowly begins to be drawn into the conflict between the two.

I didn't know anything about this series before I started watching it and I was pleasantly surprised how much I enjoyed it. The RideBacks themselves are a nice mix of motorbike and mecha and I did like many of the characters, especially Rin. The animation was good and the English dub is reasonable as well. The setting is interesting and although the plot is good, I feel it could have been just as good if the series had stuck with the racing element from the beginning of the series rather than gone the armed rebellion route. The only real problem with the series is that it is only twelve episodes long and it is all over far too soon.

This was a very nice series and I feel it deserves four and a half to five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rideback, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
i like the story of rideback and like part for end of episode she was dance so buy this anime it is good and bit sad so i gave rate 5 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun adventure without going anywhere, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
its a nice concept, i sure like to have a semi robo/moterbike looks like great fun to ride
the story is good and not as far off as alot of anime not that i myself dislike those series.

overall good story, nicely dubbed

ps. its one of those you will propperbly see more then once the first week you own it ;)
enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ride forward too., 8 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. Roy Williams "mid point" (Croydon,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is all about balance.A talented ballet dancer breaks a leg and has to retire from competitive performing.
Next thing we know,a friend of a friend asks her to try to use her knowledge of ballet,and how the body attains some of the moves,to instruct riders of a new contraption.It's like learning to control stunts on a skateboard,but motorised.
There's a meaningful scene where our protagonist disappears over the brink of some steps.
She disappears from view and everybody thinks the worst and rightly so.
What were they thinking ?!
Still,luckily,because she's used to recovering her balance during ballet.......,
She survives ! It gives her the rush she remembered from ballet after a brilliant performance and...,yep..,she's hooked !
There are some rivals who've been riding longer but none better.
That's the theme of this film.Overcoming obstacles in more ways than one.
The DVD cover of a dynamic girl on wheels is about right.Of course,having long flowing hair helps.
It's madder than a motorbike and as graceful (if you've got what it takes) as ballet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clever and Different, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The concept and the story was quite good. If it lacked anything then I would have liked to see more racing. Having said that it was paced well and was one that had me interested right up to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rideback, 15 Dec 2011
This review is from: Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
rideback is a little under the radar gem ,
it has great story telling and themes of lost dreams , freindship , hardships
the animation is fluid and vibrant it looks stunning
soild dub performance and great music that adds to action and dramatic sences
well worth buying this
for a full video review on youtube look for the walking00dead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RideBack to the video store., 27 May 2012
By 
R. Meredith "Cons" (Wrexham, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
£24.99 is much too much to pay for this anime. The show lacks character development, struggles to make the story interesting, and worst of all, it has no heart. Thankfully, not long ago it was only £7.99, and that was still too costly.

The characters are introduced one by one, but all, to the end of the show, shall remain bland and one dimensional to the point of being annoying and unlikeable. One character dies in quite sad circumstances, which in most shows would have been a powerful and symbolic moment. RideBack expects us to feel for this particular character and even shows flashbacks to previous episodes, but even though that person was arguably the most developed (a tiny, tiny bit), it had absolutely no emotional effect on me.

And you could say, "well it's under 15 episodes, it'd be hard to provide much development". But there are so many wasted episodes in the middle where the characters could have been taught valuable lessons or we could have seen more of their past, I'm not prepared to forgive the show.

Just like Wall-E, just like the Tachikomas, just like a Rozen Maiden doll, we should easily fall in love with the quirks of RideBacks, right? Nope. Not once are they portrayed as having a mind of their own, or capable of doing things without human interaction, which makes the whole 'RideBacks and their riders are equals' shtick fall flat on its face. They clearly aren't very intelligent robots, so stop telling me they are!

So if the characters aren't much use, and the RideBacks rely so heavily on these characters, we're left with the sensation of being isolated from the show's story. There is no involvement.

So yeah I can't really recommend RideBack, sadly. Ultimately, this anime would get a 2.5/5 from me (but Amazon doesn't allow half star ratings just yet), but I rounded up in the off chance that the odd person will enjoy the show (it is probably possible, it isn't hugely offensive). But as for me, it was pretty disappointing. £7.99 seemed like a bargain too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD]
Rideback - The Complete Series [DVD] by Atsushi Takahashi (DVD - 2011)
£11.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews