Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Velvet Fog
This is an excellent selection of the early recordings of Mel Torme. It is worth a place in any collection whose owner appreciates good singing and songs with interesting lyrics
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Rodney Simone

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essence of Mel Torm
I bought this as I had good memories of Mel Torme singing Mountain Greenery and Jeepers Creepers. This album did not seem to represent his lively songs but a lot of slower ballads. It's a little dreary - but maybe my fault in too high an expectation and not checking out the titles too much..
Published 20 months ago by Mr. Christopher Cook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essence of Mel Torm, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as I had good memories of Mel Torme singing Mountain Greenery and Jeepers Creepers. This album did not seem to represent his lively songs but a lot of slower ballads. It's a little dreary - but maybe my fault in too high an expectation and not checking out the titles too much..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Velvet Fog, 18 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent selection of the early recordings of Mel Torme. It is worth a place in any collection whose owner appreciates good singing and songs with interesting lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A legend !, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much to say just that there's not a single track on this cd that I don't like. Brilliant artist and a must for any serious listener of good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essence of Mel, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used to have several tracts of Mel on LPs and to bring bring them back on one CD was really good. there are plenty of ballads but the ones I really like are the up tempo ones with the tremendous backing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 82 year old mum wanted this for Christmas and it arrived quickly, well packaged and at a good price. She and my father enjoyed listening to it on Christmas Day - so great result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GOOD BUY FROM AMAZON, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Gordon Clay (Manchester, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
TV PRODUCER, ACTOR, WRITER, PIANIST, DRUMMER (I HAVE A PHOTO OF MEL PLAYING DRUMS WITH A BENNY GOODMAN TRIO) COMPOSER, ARRANGER AND VOCALIST, MEL WAS A FIRST CLASS SCAT SINGER, REPRESENTED ON THIS CD.
I HAVE ALWAYS HAD A LIKING FOR SCAT SINGING ( i ONCE HAD A JOB WHERE I BACKED A TRUMPETER/VOCALIST WHO WAS GOOD AT SCAT & I REALLY ENJOYED IT)
I CAN WHOLEHEARTEDLY RECOMMEND THIS CD TO ANYONE.*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essence of Mel Torme
Buy MP3 Album£8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews