Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars12
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2014
Different from the style of previous Mrs Oliphant novels that I have read, and an excellent novelist exposes the hypocrisies and pretensions of the aristocracy - and the labouring classes too - with light humour. Much to be recommended.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
BEWARE!!! The edition I have just purchased, as illustrated above, orange flower on cover, (General Books LLC, Memphis, USA), is INCOMPLETE. It contains Volume One only. I have only given it one star - but this is to show my anger at being conned by Amazon and the publisher. The story is wonderful - another Oliphant masterpiece and happily I have been able to find the remaining chapters elsewhere.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
I really enjoyed this. It was a very satisfying and thought provoking read. It was a little like reading Anthony Trollop, but with a lighter touch. Well worth trying if you enjoy Barchester. I shall read some of Margaret Oliphant's other books now as she was new to me but I find there are quite a lot in Kindle format so it will be a treat to look forward to.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
A well-written story of an upper-class family brushing with the horrors of socialism! The graciousness of the central mother figure is over-emphasised, in order to justify her privileged position. The roughness of the idealistic socialist and his more practical daughter are similarly dwelt on, so that ones sympathies should be drawn in the right direction. Despite this, the book shows the hypocrisies that underlie the privilege through an interesting story.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
I really loved this book. It's a lovely story, with characters you can really feel for, and beautifully written. I thoroughly recommend it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Shenanigans in the county! Oh my! Lost heir, broken dreams, marital desires thwarted, riches appear, surprise! Happy endings, all is well...the possible tragedies turned into idylls, and money money smooths all paths...oh well...a fun read some lazy afternoon, but Trollope cuts closer to the bone...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
A Victorian comedy about what happens when a new and unexpected heir arrives in a family. I didn't enjoy this quite as much as some of Margaret Oliphants Carlingford books but it is an interesting sidelight on Victorian life and anxieties about class, race, radicalism and belonging.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Well written, with a satisfying conclusion. I have to admit that I had not heard of this author before this volume came up on my Kindle suggestions list and the odd title only really makes sense once you have finished it! I am now reading another book by the same author.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
I found this a bit 2-dimensional. The characters were very much 'types' rather than living, breathing people. Interesting, but not compelling.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
I would have put No stars if that had been available.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.