Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practice as well
Initially I borrowed this from the library, but I bought it because there are lots of written exercises and I wanted to go through them putting notes in the book. As a novice, the practical excercises really help in understanding pitch, rhythm, harmony and so on.
A CD is included and for some exercises some kind of key board would be useful, or they suggest singing...
Published 24 months ago by Holly

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok for a beginner
I only got part way through as it spends a long time going through basic material. Probably best for a self teaching beginner.
Published 15 months ago by DD1234


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practice as well, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Initially I borrowed this from the library, but I bought it because there are lots of written exercises and I wanted to go through them putting notes in the book. As a novice, the practical excercises really help in understanding pitch, rhythm, harmony and so on.
A CD is included and for some exercises some kind of key board would be useful, or they suggest singing the notes yourself! It's not just dry theory. And it's clearly and concisely written - no distracting and annoying anecdotes like you get in some teaching books!
Don't know how far I'll get as it looks quite complicated towards the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music Theory, 11 Dec. 2012
By 
A. N. Howe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to understand for an aged novice with no previous knowledge of the subject, better than 2 borrowed from library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, for the complete beginner. I read the reviews and ordered this book, which I'm happy I did. It's very straight forward and uses English terms (although it's also helpful that it refers to the American descriptions as well). I also ordered the AB guide to music theory which is also very good and a "must have" if you are learning an instrument like the flute as it follows the normal curriculum. This book gives a more "adult" approach in its' teaching method.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, but poorly set out CD, 30 April 2013
By 
Bruce (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a thoroughly good book covering the theory of music. It has one draw back, and that is that the CD is difficult to use. I could not easily find the exercises Margaret does in each unit. It may be improved if each exercise had its own track number. Otherwise it is a helpful book to use as an aid in learning the material needed to pass the eight grades of the ABRSM exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful book for teachers of the subject., 1 Feb. 2013
By 
M. Hughes "Fusspot" (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fresh approach to music theory. . I use this as a teaching resource. You still need to know what the requirements are for each grade, but when you have a group of mixed grade learners it is great because you can take a topic and go into depth with those at higher grades. I am finding it very useful and enjoyable to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book for learning music theory. Buy it!, 9 Oct. 2011
I borrowed this book from the library first and found it so useful so I bought myself one. It's easy to read. All the exercises are well thought out. The price at Amazon is amazing. Buy it, read it and enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok for a beginner, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understand Music Theory: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
I only got part way through as it spends a long time going through basic material. Probably best for a self teaching beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
By 
robert martin simons (pontarddlias, swansea. west glamorgan. south wales. uk.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understand Music Theory: Teach Yourself (Kindle Edition)
very good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understand Music Theory: Teach Yourself
£4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews