Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
50
3.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 September 2013
As you may have guessed from the cover, this is another car gone bad movie. This car not only can repair itself, but can change into another type of vehicle. The low budget aspect of this film only allows us to "see" the morph once. Most of the time we just see it as one car one moment, then when the camera goes back, it is suddenly a different car! Oh the magic of cinema! Unlike Christine this car kills indiscriminately.

When the car was in an accident it is towed to the police garage where the night crew must combat the vehicle. Shannon Beckner stars as Tilda, a female mechanic with a jobless boyfriend, a nephew (Ryan Kennedy) who also works at the garage and their overbearing boss, Ray (Oded Fehr of various Mummy and Resident Evil movies ). We all want to see him die next. He provides the inner conflict within the crew because harmony in battling a man eating car isn't enough drama.

Tilda comes to work in her tank top and puts on a dark blue work shirt. After an incident involving said car, the blue work shirt suddenly disappears and she is back in the tank top. Oh the magic of Anchor Bay movies!

(Plot spoiler?) They manage to get the hood pried open and lo and behold we have the film's meager special effects as we see some sort of creature lives under the hood. They surmise this creature has evolved while living along side of a road, to the point it can change forms for hunting humans. Ray doesn't want any help hunting this creature, and prefers that the garage mechanics do it to the dismay of Tilda. Melanie Papalia, as the secretary is the other eye candy of this film for those who like fish nets.

The acting was good considering the weak plot and being an Anchor Bay movie. No Mercedes were harmed in the making of this film.

No sex. No nudity. I don't recall any F-bombs, but don't hold me to it.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
Don't even think about buying this. It's not even good 'bad'. Still me and my pals got through it. It was their first threeD film sadly,. the only way is up after this. I didn't think the 3D aspect (lol) blew me away. We had laughed our way through The Core once upon a time, but this was genuinely dreadful. I think I will bin it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Since the dawn of time the creature's have lived alongside man-kind undetected, they prey upon man's
natural instinct of curiosity.
One of the creatures currently disguised as a car becomes involved in a smash with another vehicle and
is taken to a garage.
What happens has been witnessed by one of the garage staff members, has it's cover been blown ?
Two of the staff have already fallen victim, to the shape-shifter, a man-eating car ?
Now the being has a need to finish the job, there are four remaining prospective victims within the
premisses.
The remaining staff have seen a little of what the creature does to it's victims, they decide to try and
prepare a trap for the unexplainable predator.
Trouble is, the prowling creature has so far out-thought it's intended victims.
Trapped inside their place of work they'll need another plan of action if they are to survive.
Though a low budget offering it's actually an okay watch (not to be confused with the 'Stephen King'
classic 'Christine')
It does have a few tense moments and will almost certainly hold your attention.
Picture and Sound Quality is Good (The disc has both the 2-D and 3-D version)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Hybrid is a good film it may not be to everyones taste but personally I enjoyed it, yes its dumb yes the acting isnt going to earn the actors oscars but thats not what or why I enjoyed this film. The film reminds me of other vehicluar horrors such as "The Car, Duel, and lest we forget Christine", which is no bad thing the movie was made with next to no budget but there was still an eerie suspense to it the 3D dosent exactly put the TV through its paces but there are some nice touches I did feel though that given a larger budget and better cast this film would have been better hence 4 stars. Movie gets 4 stars for pretty good film, average 3D but the price less than £4 has to be a winner!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
In Germany they take many films and convert them to 3d using a computer program , this one was done by the studio. The results are great depth on outside shots. And ok depth on inside shots. So it's a step above those many german 3d titles that were done on a home computer. and there are many of those titles. This was made for theatrical release and converted. Just like 'harry potter' was. The story is about a monster that can change itself into a truck or car. It's hard to kill and our heroes are stuck in multi level garage with it. The effects are pretty good too. Of course the whole thing is rather silly. but it's fun to watch and the acting is fine. It was a b movie and not a z movie or c movie as some have claimed. In fact they did have a decent b sized budget for this movie and the cgi looks impressive. THey should have shot in 3d though , it would have been better. The conversion is ok though. This was released in the states as 'superhybrid' in 2010 with a limited release there. The blu ray looks fine and it has a 2d version as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
This movie was awesome. There was a car, there were people. Then the car drives around on its own, with aliens under the hood. It tries to run people over, and sometimes does. Then they kill it. In 3D. I mean, how can you go wrong with an lien car hybrid movie in an underground parking garage in 3D?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2012
Another film by the AFTER DARK club & the Director of ONE MISSED CALL, this film could of been so much better, they had the right idea but did'nt quite pull it off.. There is a breed of creature that has lived amongst us & unnoticed for centurys "untill now" it is the perfect PREDATOR complete with "Predator style VISION" has succesfully camouflaged itself through the ability to change form just like the New KNIGHT RIDER car & adapt to its surroundings... THERE IS SOMETHING LIVING UNDER THE BONNET ! Why its in 3D beats me, there is no good visuals or set pieces to showcase it, just watch it in 2D, this film could of had so much pottential, a failed effort, thats why it has sat on the shelf for 2yrs made in 2010.. It stars ODED FEHR of The MUMMY & RESIDENT EVIL-EXTINCTION fame.... Still its worth a view "BUY WHEN ITS A BARGAIN" Note Amazon state there are 2 discs thats wrong you only get 1, with the option to watch in 3D/2D......
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
The plot for this movie left a lot of potential untapped and this film could have been a lot better. One of my pet hates as an adult is when they censor the few swear words which many teens use in their daily conversation. Overall I'd say it was OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Not only was this a bad film, but further disappointment of the 3D. THIS IS A 2D FILM PROCESSED INTO 3D. There's very little, if any, 3D depth... most of the time it's a 2D film with very, very small hints of 3D!!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2012
This is a real let down, plot, acting, production all what can I say......."crap". The 3d was good and thats the only reason we kept watching. Have seen and watched worse bit not many.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)