Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars50
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 February 2016
In this 2011 supernatural suspense [aka: After Dark], Emily (Leisha Hailey) and Nate Weaver (Gale Harold) move to the countryside to Nate's empty family home after Emily suffers an horrific miscarriage, but the charming house has a dark past and soon reveals some spooky coincidences. Will Emily discover the secrets it holds before it is too late, or is she simply imagining it all?
There is a constant feeling that something is lurking under the surface which helps provide suspense but the first half spends too much time building momentum for the climactic finale and the scares and tension are spaced too far apart to keep it fast paced [lose a *]. Despite feeling I had seen this film before, I concluded it was essentially an amalgam of other films with similar plot lines, yet it still entertained.
The single disc opens to 3 trailers before going to main menu offering play, scene selection and special features [fertile ground trailer, main event trailer. And don’t watch it till after you’ve seen the film].
With one instance of topless nudity, a full frontal ‘old’ photo, a mild sex scene, sporadic violence [mostly off shot for the first half] but plenty of intense moments, make this an 18. An excellent late night Tv movie but will not please gore fans but the ending helps pull this back to a ****.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
As mentioned in other reviews, this is far-from-satisfying as a horror film, due to the story being generic and all aspects of the plot being guessable. I would also question whether an "18" rating was justified by some blood from an abortion, some bloody stabbing and flashes of naked breasts (the latter being probably the most exciting part of the film).

State-of-the-art or other decent special effects are totally lacking. What laughably passes for those are the likes of: 1 pictures falling off walls after being straightened: 2 figures appearing in paintings on second viewing; 3 strange noises at night; 4 doors shutting and locking on their own; 5 toilets backing up with effluent; 6 children appearing in the garden; 7 people appearing in the room; and 8 dreams occurring.

To add insult to injury it's a pretty bare disc with a poor static menu, no subtitles and no extras bar a trailer and advertising trailers for other releases. That is simply not acceptable in a blu-ray release of a modern film. Overall it barely scrapes to an "OK".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Watched this last night, hoping for a really good horror movie, and sorry to report: this wasn't it. The opening scenes were excellent (spoilers alert here), and the awful miscarriage was handled horribly well, in that it was convincing and shocking. But then there's the now familiar pattern to all this: city-based couple, clearly very fond of one another, experience horror/loss/whatever, and move out to a beautiful house in the country.And after a very short period of comparative content, everything goes wrong. And as so often happens, it's the husband who turns from a really nice guy into something much less likeable. The main actress is very good at projecting loss, angst, horror... And the poor bugger seemed to spend most of her time crying, or about to cry. And I felt like going the same way... This started well but after a little while began to come apart. There were good themes but nothing convincing. Nor was there any convincing closure. I'm not recommending this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
Wow what a brilliant film, better than I expected. It's filled to the brim with lots of very eerie moments that'll make the hairs on the back of your neck stand bolt upright, the suspense-filled scenes are great, it's engrossing from the start as ghosts from the past return, resulting in a truly terrifying climax.

Fertile Ground is one of those films that you so wish had a few extra hours in it as it really is that good. There's wonderful acting from the two main characters, a house even I wouldn't stay in by myself overnight and I'm a paranormal investigator, there are intense creepy goings-on that'll make you wish you put your cup of coffee down (advisable about fourteen minutes in because you'll jump out of your skin like I did) and this film is that good, I'm going to watch it again.

Highly recommended viewing. It has everything you could want: creepy sounds and background musical effects, realistic acting, superb camera angles to emphasise terrifying moments and the storyline is a brilliant one too. I cannot praise this film enough, it's a must-see. I'm going to buy the DVD of it and I only buy films if I think they are worth it and are excellent and this one is. I didn't expect the ending to be like it was, but it added an unusual unpredictable twist to it, so that's good too as a lot of films in this genre have a tendency to be predicable. It's good to see one that isn't.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
Great film with lots of jumps and scares. Ending could've been better thought out but overall a really good saturday night film.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
One of the worst filmed I've ever seen! Terrible acting, no plot, annoying charecters- utterly awful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
It seems horror movies produced in the past 10 years or so have been dull, boring and unoriginal. however after after watching this flick, it seems the director has clearly brought back a spark that was wonders in the 80's

Fertile Ground certainly doesn't try to be masterpiece, most of the cast is unknown, but the suspense, mystery and fright it brings compensates for it. I really enjoyed watching it from start to finish, doesn't give a conclusive ending but at a sad one to say the least.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Like all the others not seen it yet. But what I've read about it's sounds good thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
Predictable story about the loss of a child before it was born.

More of a snore than a scare.

Avoid.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Dreary, formulaic, predictable script, shocking special effects and sound. Do not waste 1.5 hours of your life!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.48
£2.24

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)