Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love someone who makes you toast?
A beautiful piece of film indugence. From its warm, retro soundtrack, supplied courtesy of Dusty Springfield's songbook, to its technicolour perfection, this is a beautiful, lovingly shot adaptation of Nigel Slater's early years.
The casting is spot-on, and the whole has an intelligent feel to it. Without giving the game away, there is some very clever camera...
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by R. Sanderson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not of great interest tome, butobviouslytosomeviewers.Story a little bitty,not toocohesive.
Published 19 days ago by Mrs. P. G. Penny


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love someone who makes you toast?, 25 Feb 2011
By 
R. Sanderson (Wigan, GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toast [DVD] (DVD)
A beautiful piece of film indugence. From its warm, retro soundtrack, supplied courtesy of Dusty Springfield's songbook, to its technicolour perfection, this is a beautiful, lovingly shot adaptation of Nigel Slater's early years.
The casting is spot-on, and the whole has an intelligent feel to it. Without giving the game away, there is some very clever camera imagery at work when Mrs Potter is busy scrubbing, hoovering and polishing her way into the Slater household.
Feel-good viewing, with some heart-wretching moments (but then, that's life, isn't it?), the whole has a the feel of one of those perfect summer days from long ago - with a lemon meringue pie cooling in the kitchen, of course! Watch, and allow yourself to be indulged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Plans for Nigel, 28 May 2011
By 
This review is from: Toast [DVD] (DVD)
At first i wasn't sure about this film as i only ever knew a little of the writer and cook Nigel Slater from what i had seen on the T.V. I was hooked! What an amazing film it is and so honest and openly written that i bought the DVD as soon as it was available! Wonderful storylines, wonderful acting and a lovely suprise at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taste this toast!, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast [DVD] (DVD)
Beautifully acted. I had read Nigel Slater's book before watching the DVD, but thoroughly enjoyed watching his story unfold in a poignant but entertaining way. The different stages of his growing up years were portrayed with thoughtfulness and humour. It is a very human story, which obviously showed his developing interest in cookery, but could be enjoyed for its own sake, as his development takes place against a variety of aults and the influences, for good or bad, which they have on him. A DVD which could be watched a number of times in order to enjoy everything in it, especially the mood and atmosphere of the time period in which it is set. Amazing Amazon for getting it to me so efficiently, and at such a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast [DVD] (DVD)
Not of great interest tome, butobviouslytosomeviewers.Story a little bitty,not toocohesive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast [DVD] (DVD)
Freddie Highmore and Helena Bonham-Carter are amazing but this was quite a boring movie, however, not too bad (emphasis on the too).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, funny and moving, 7 April 2014
This review is from: Toast (DVD)
I loved this film a lot from the very beginning. The setting is superb, the soundtrack is perfect, the actors are perfectly cast and spot-on, the story is endearing and has a lovely surprise at the very end.
A little gem
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 2 April 2014
By 
Mrs. S. Lang (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast (Amazon Instant Video)
Excellent acting - Helena Bonham Carter is splendid as the loathsome stepmother. A sensitive, moving portrayal of a young boys childhood with a cameo appearance by Nigel Slater. The time-period was faithfully reproduced though some of the costumes were more fifties than mid-sixties, but that was a minor point. I could watch this again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bonham-Carter stole the show..., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast (Amazon Instant Video)
I really enjoyed this novel, but however, I don't think this film captured the book's charm, or its passion for food, in quite the same way. It needed more of a voice over, to connect with the central character Nigel, to the food, the era and the situation. Bonham-Carter stole the show, and she was meant to be the antagonist, but actually came across as more likeable, in the end. It was perhaps more enjoyable for people who hadn't read the book, as they would've had less expectation. Made me smile in parts, but ultimately, lacked the books nostalgia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast [DVD] (DVD)
Saw this on TV really enjoyed it, and simply had to buy the DVD. I'd love to cook that wicked Lemon Merangue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toast [DVD] (DVD)
My partner and I loved the film; I actually preferred it to the book! I can recommend this film to other people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toast [DVD]
Toast [DVD] by Balazs Bolygo (DVD - 2011)
5.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews