Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a look
A well-constructed effort that, for its genre (modern western), hits the mark. All the cast give good, convincing performances, most especially Steve Bisley (Old Bill). An added bonus is the use of Australia's southern alps to good scenic effect. Shot in and around Omeo, state of Victoria, this is an edgy and suspenseful film that holds the attention right up to the...
Published on 28 May 2011 by Bill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'HELL IS COMING'
'Shane Cooper' (Ryan Kwanten) moves to 'Red Hill' with his heavily pregnant wife 'Alice' (Claire Van Der Boom), they have been told that moving to a less stressful environment could help them avoid losing another pregnancy.
'Shane's' job is with the 'Sheriff's department.
A prisoner 'Jimmy Conway'(Tommy Lewis) has escaped from jail, 'Red Hill's' Sheriff knows...
Published 5 months ago by rbmusicman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a look, 28 May 2011
By 
Bill (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Hill [DVD] (DVD)
A well-constructed effort that, for its genre (modern western), hits the mark. All the cast give good, convincing performances, most especially Steve Bisley (Old Bill). An added bonus is the use of Australia's southern alps to good scenic effect. Shot in and around Omeo, state of Victoria, this is an edgy and suspenseful film that holds the attention right up to the finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'HELL IS COMING', 28 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
'Shane Cooper' (Ryan Kwanten) moves to 'Red Hill' with his heavily pregnant wife 'Alice' (Claire Van Der Boom), they have been told that moving to a less stressful environment could help them avoid losing another pregnancy.
'Shane's' job is with the 'Sheriff's department.
A prisoner 'Jimmy Conway'(Tommy Lewis) has escaped from jail, 'Red Hill's' Sheriff knows that the now heavily armed escapee is heading back to the town in which he'd been arrested years before.
Hell is about to break loose, the body count is rising, however despite two opertunities to do so, 'Jimmy' doesn't kill 'Shane'
'Shane' smells a rat, something is not right.
This is a far better film than i was lead to believe, hardly a classic, however...........worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unrealistic Tosh, 9 July 2011
By 
Paul Morris "Unclemo" (Ventnor ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Aussie movie got good reviews and I duly got suckered in by the hype ( for that is exactly what it is - hype).
This was a very formulaic "thriller" but the acting was OTT,the sound effects rubbish and the contrived circumstances riduculous.
In fact the award for most effort should go to the make-up person for the "baddies" physiog.
Maybe this is actually a comedy and I got it wrong - whatever; it was the type of thing my son and his pals could have improved on.
If you like movies don't buy this.
If you like Tosh - buy it - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bush Tucker Western., 4 Jun 2011
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Red Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Things seem to be happening in the film world down under these days. I am finding more and more good films that are being made in Australia and New Zealand these days. The recent World War One film "Beneath Hill 60" was an excellent example of this and the haunting "Van Diemans Land" was another very fine film set in the dense Tasmanian forests, but they seem to have topped both those films with the grimly funny western satire "Red Hill". This film really brought a smile to my face at times. It is intelligently written, well acted, imbued with typical Aussie good humour and set in the wide open spaces of Australia's outback. Those who enjoy their westerns will be reminded of the American prairies at times. Before you begin to wonder, I should state that I am not Australian and have no connection with that country at all. In fact when they used to give us a good larruping at cricket I did harbour some small animosity towards them, but now that we in turn are are giving them a good larruping, that has of course changed. The fact is I simply like a good film, and this is certainly one of the best I have seen for a while.

Like the recent films "The Proposition" and the "The Tracker" this one falls resoundingly into the Antipodean western category. Italy had its halcyon days in the sixties with the western, so perhaps it is the turn of the Australian "bush tucker western"? The story is a bit like Clint Eastwood's "Coogan's Bluff" in reverse, with a bit of "No Country for Old Men" thrown in for good measure. In this film a young city cop is posted to the backwoods town of "Red Hill" at his own request, so that his ailing wife can enjoy the invigorating peaceful climate. One of the opening scenes shows our young policeman walking into work past the bullet riddled sign of "Red Hill". Now call me Mr pessimist but I always take this as a bad omen when I am on my travels. Things start to go badly no sooner than the rural rookie walks through the door of his new station. It turns out there is a killer on the loose, and he is after blood in Red Hill. Things begin to liven up, and nothing is as straightforward as it seems. Our man is in for a long shift, but the overtime will be hard earned.

You know you are back in western territory as soon as our law officer, resplendent in the Aussie equivalent of a stetson, rides out on his horse ready for battle, to the appropriate and excellent strains of a strong country and western soundtrack. He has a killer to contend with who is every bit as ruthless as Javier Bardem was in "No Country for Old Men". He doesn't even give them the old toss of the coin get out clause option. The film has a few surprises up its sleeve and keeps the action and interest up for the entire running time. Look out for that panther, and its not pink! Writer/director Patrick Hughes has done a very tidy job. The cinematography is impressive thanks to the use of an inspired location at Omeo in Victoria. The film was premiered at the Berlin film festival in February 2010, but has only been recently released in this country. It has generally received positive reviews which it deserves. I will add my insignificant name to its list of admirers. If Hollywood doesn't get to pinch some of the burgeoning talent from the Australian film industry we will hopefully get to see more films like this. Lets hope so! I enjoyed the blu-ray version which was of the desired quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..VERY COOL MODERN WESTERN..", 28 April 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Red hill is a classic revenge theme movie in the form of a modern style western, with police on horses and shootouts and plenty of violence in a small Australian town, basically the story is about a new deputy who gets involved in a local cover up when an escaped criminal comes into town for revenge, a very small film done a low budget but used very well with a fantastic style and direction, the movie is paced out really well and keeps you interested in the characters and the story as it unfolds, there's plenty of cool shootouts and bloody violence, the cast is great too, very entertaining and well worth a watch, gem of a movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A modern Classic, 26 Nov 2012
This review is from: Red Hill [DVD] (DVD)
This film is most defiantly a modern classic it's a very good film and I would recommend it to film lovers and western lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Aussie revenge flic, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
What a great low budget Aussie film,miles better than most big budget Holywood revenge films.great cast,acting,story,music and the location is spot on,very Sergio Leone.Dont understand why anyone would give this a one or two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe my eyes, 1 Jan 2014
By 
TJD "TeeJayDee" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Hill [DVD] (DVD)
This has got to be one of the most overrated films ever made. It's got everything; cliches, bad acting, bad script, plot holes, and absolutely no connection with reality at all. Those people who compared it to No Country For Old Men need to watch both films again, and if they really do believe they are comparable, then they should take their tvs and blu ray players, and throw them in a skip, as they are of no use to you any more. A dreadful waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revenge with a difference, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Helier John (Birmingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hill [DVD] (DVD)
My son recommended this DVD to me and I was not disappointed. The revenge storyline is good, though it is not as good as the film "Cape Fear" starring "Gregory Peck" and "Robert Mitchum" which was exceptional. Never the less I enjoyed this film and I am sure that many others have too, it is well worth purchasing. Good Storyline-Good Acting-Good Entertainment. Buy It!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Panther of the Prairie., 3 Dec 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Red Hill is written and directed by Patrick Hughes. It stars Ryan Kwanten, Steve Bisley, Tom E. Lewis and Claire van der Boom. Music is by Dmitri Golovko and cinematography by Tim Hudson.

Young city cop Shane Cooper (Kwanten) gets a transfer to Red Hill, a place he hopes is a quiet enough town for himself and his pregnant wife to successfully raise a family. But his arrival at work coincides with the escape from prison of aborigine Jimmy Conway (Lewis), who is heading into town with revenge firmly on his mind.

Jimmy Conway has escaped and he's bringing hell into town.

Utterly splendid Neo-Western out of Australia. For his feature film debut, Patrick Hughes has crafted a loving homage to the Western genre whilst also imbuing his film with its own suspenseful blood. Blending Ozploitaton thriller values with Western genre staples of the past, Red Hill unspools on narrative terms as a gritty and rugged revenge piece.

Red Hill the town is fronted by gruff sheriff Old Bill (Bisley), he leads a pack of scuzzy characters who consider it their town and god help anyone who stands in their way. Into this maelstrom comes fresh faced Shane Cooper (yes the name is Alan Ladd and High Noon purposely spliced together), a genuine and honest copper harnessing a tragedy as well as a moral code that's not for shaking.

After quickly finding out that Old Bill is lacking in human graces, Shane finds himself coming face to face with Conway, who is all the horsemen of the apocalypse rolled into one. Face badly scarred and adorned with weapons and duster, Conway seems to have supernatural resources to go with his expert tracking skills and knowledge of the surrounding outback terrain (so think High Plains Drifter & Chato's Land then).

How come, though, that as he callously goes about killing off members of the scuzzy crew, each time he meets up with Shane, who is in full tilt survival mode, Conway refuses to kill Shane? And just what is that symbolic Panther doing stalking the edges of the landscape? One and the same, perhaps? It will of course all be revealed, and in truth it's no great surprise, the beauty is in how Hughes has toyed with our perceptions about Conway, this in turn makes for a cracker-jack finale.

Performances are superbly in tune with the material, Cooper, Lewis and Bisley really manage to steer their respective characters away from being histrionic or cartoonish. Musically it features stabs of delightful grungy rock blending in with Golovko's mournfully ironic score. The widescreen photography is most interesting, in that there's often smart shifting between a washed out palette to emphasise the remoteness of the setting, to opened up capturing of the beautiful vistas (filmed on location in Omeo, Victoria). The Blu-ray is a must for anyone interested in the film.

The sparse location is matched by sparse dialogue, there is no need for extraneous conversations or pointless filler, Hughes knows what he is doing. It's made with love and respect to one of the finest of film genres, and hooray to that! 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Hill [DVD]
Red Hill [DVD] by Patrick Hughes (DVD - 2011)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews