Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lone Ranger
A great "B" western, tho I've not seen this version myself. I am writing in sadness and frustration. Why, please,does the releasing company put the incredibly well known Clay Moore as The Lone Ranger on the cover when anyone who knows anything must know he/it has NOTHING to do with "Raiders..."? I'd love an answer. Perhaps I should ask them....!Later...This remark only...
Published on 17 Feb. 2011 by A. W. Wilson

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed second feature Western.
I received my copy today. I originally went to see this film in June, 1958, aged eleven, as the supporting film to "Blue Murder at St Trinians" at the now long gone ABC Empire, Longton, Stoke-on-Trent. I went to see it because I had already been to see Jim Davis in "The Badge of Marshal Brennan" six months earlier and liked it and I wanted to see if "Raiders" was as good...
Published on 15 Mar. 2011 by Mr. David Rayner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Action-packed second feature Western., 15 Mar. 2011
By 
Mr. David Rayner "David Rayner" (STOKE-ON-TRENT, STAFFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raiders Of Old California [DVD] (DVD)
I received my copy today. I originally went to see this film in June, 1958, aged eleven, as the supporting film to "Blue Murder at St Trinians" at the now long gone ABC Empire, Longton, Stoke-on-Trent. I went to see it because I had already been to see Jim Davis in "The Badge of Marshal Brennan" six months earlier and liked it and I wanted to see if "Raiders" was as good. It's a good job that "Raiders of Old California" wasn't released on a Western double-bill with "The Badge of Marshal Brennan", or cinema patrons would have been doing a double-take, as both films were shot back to back by the same company; had the same cast (wearing the same clothing, albeit playing different characters); the same producer, director and film crew and even shared a few of each other's scenes. The only mystery was that "The Badge of Marshal Brennan" was released by Allied Artists and "Raiders of Old California" was released by Republic.

SYNOPSIS: A former US Cavalry officer (Jim Davis) aided by some of his fellow ex-troopers, becomes a land baron in California by stealing a land grant and murdering anyone who gets in his way.

DVD: The quality is passable, but it looks like it was transferred from a very old and grainy VHS video, which in turn may have been a recording of an old and worn 16mm print. I was expecting this, as by now, everyone is used to Pegasus Entertainment using the oldest and cheapest transfer available of a film and have no intention of paying for a film to be expensively restored. However, the sound quality is very good. Unlike my old NTSC VHS video copy of the film, the Republic Pictures opening title is missing from the version used for this DVD. Also as usual with Pegasus releases, the images on the front of the DVD cover have no connection to the film on the DVD. Lee Van Cleef is on the front cover in 1950s Western garb, but not as he appeared in the film. In the background are modern images of cowboys in 1980s / 1990s Western attire. Can it really be true that Pegasus couldn't find a image from the film to put on the front cover? Oddly, there are three frame captures from the DVD on the back cover.

THE FILM: Fast-paced, with plenty of action and excitement, although the usual 1950s Western cliches are all there, including Mexicans always being dressed in white and always being portrayed as cowards who can't fight back when they're attacked. Looking at the film now, fifty-three years after I first went to see it in 1958, I'm surprised that the British Board of Film Censors at the time gave it a U certificate, as there is a lot of gratituous violence in it, most of it portrayed by Lee Van Cleef, who plays a really sadistic psychopath in it. I see the DVD also carries a U certificate.

THE VERDICT: As this is probably going to be the best version of this film we're ever likely to see on DVD and with virtually no chance of a restoration from the original negatives, I recommended this budget release for all Western fans. Three stars out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lone Ranger, 17 Feb. 2011
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A great "B" western, tho I've not seen this version myself. I am writing in sadness and frustration. Why, please,does the releasing company put the incredibly well known Clay Moore as The Lone Ranger on the cover when anyone who knows anything must know he/it has NOTHING to do with "Raiders..."? I'd love an answer. Perhaps I should ask them....!Later...This remark only applies to the DVD version that actually does have Clay moore/Lone Ranger on the cover. Mind you, this one seems to think Lee Van C is the lead. He's not!! LATER..16 Mar 2011-Took a chance and bought the Pegasus DVD (the one with Van Cleef on the misleading cover.) Briefly, I was pleasantly surprised - the quality isn't mint, but it's perfectly watchable, sound and picture. This is such a rare chance to see this, and it is worth it. So if you like Jim Davis/(yes, and Lee V C) and late 50's Republic Westerns..Get this one, the price is fair and I certainly balk at the huge price asked for for "The Lone Ranger" version!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of That Republic Eagle Please!, 7 May 2011
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Raiders Of Old California [DVD] (DVD)
How reassurring to see that emblematic Republic Eagle again preceding a good old fashioned fifties B western. Even better that I have amazingly never seen this film before. This one isn't even included in Phil Hardy's mammoth book "The Encyclopedia of Western Movies", which is a pity because it contains all the essential ingredients for a good western. Impressive cinematography of the American west, plenty of shoot em ups, galloping horses courtesy of the ever busy Hollywood posse, Comanche Indians and some A grade stunts that make a mockery of its clearly miniscule budget. For such a good film to simply get lost perhaps illustrates just how many good westerns are still simply gathering dust on the shelf. Pegasus entertainment have rescued yet another old black and white western from the vaults, for which we should be truly thankful.

The story is unusually set in 1847 just at the end of the second war with Mexico lead by General Santa Anna. Jim Davis plays Angus McKane a crooked Army officer who dishonestly takes land once owned by the Mexicans. He is aided by his ruthless henchman Purdee played by Lee Van Cleef. But he comes under scrutiny with the arrival of a judge and his son who is a Sheriff. Unravelling the truth does not come without bloodshed. The film is perhaps most unusual for having the country singing stars Faron Young and Marty Robbins on board. Young who used his own name in the film is particularly good as the all action Sheriff. It was a pity we never got to see him in more films as I liked the cut of his jib. Lee Van Cleef who is prominent on the front of yet another slightly misleading Pegasus DVD cover, once again plays a thuggish heavy. It took him a long time before the Italians finally made him a good guy! Jim Davis in typical Jock Ewing fashion simply swaggers through his performance.

The DVD cover might fool some into thinking this is a colour film. It isn't, which shouldn't be a problem to old western fans. You might also be forgiven from the cover for thinking that Lee Van Cleef is the star. Although to be fair he gets plenty of screen time, Faron Young and Jim Davis get the bigger roles. As usual Pegasus have done nothing to improve the picture quality which is very grainy in places. Again not a problem to me, but might be to those who like nice clear pictures. Like all of Pegasus's 'Classic Cowboy Collection', it is a bare bones DVD with no extras. Director Albert Gannaway who never stepped up from B westerns has made a good fist of this one. Admittedly it is quite formulaic at times, but it has an unusually literate script for a low budgeteer that elevates it above the standard fodder. This is the stuff of bygone Saturday matinee bliss. Keep it up Pegasus and dust a few more off for us western die hards. Vaya con dios amigos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome Western, 15 Aug. 2008
Raiders of Old California has everything to love about a B Western. There's plenty of action, with hombres biting the dust by the score, and an over the top performance by Jim Davis as the chief outlaw. And it's chock-full of those errors that makes watching these films such a hoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Cowboy movie!, 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raiders Of Old California [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of Marty Robbins for many years, I wanted to see this old movie as soon as I heard he was in it. Although Marty has a small role, the film itself was as you'd expect of a good old cowboy movie! I enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars DATED BLACK AND WHITE FILM, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raiders Of Old California [DVD] (DVD)
WHY ADVERTISE THIS IN COLOUR WHEN ITS BLACK AND WHITE? FAIRLY MEDIOCRE EXAMPLE OF THE GENRE WITH POOR STORY LINE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat the old ones, 8 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raiders Of Old California [DVD] (DVD)
Love these old films not full of arms and heads blown to pieces. arrived quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raiders Of Old California [DVD] (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Raiders Of Old California [DVD] (DVD)
GREAT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Raiders Of Old California [DVD] (DVD)
Topp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raiders Of Old California [DVD]
Raiders Of Old California [DVD] by Albert C. Gannaway (DVD - 2007)
£5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews