Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ahh, Tron - fits like a comfy old jumper
Watching "Tron" again filled me with a warm nostalgia for the three-and-a-half minute squawk of my brother's ZX Spectrum loading up on a Saturday afternoon. The impressive thing is discovering how good it still looks.
Of course it's dated somewhat. But the film has such a unique style that many of the computer animation effects still work. The lightcycle race, for...
Published on 17 Oct 2002 by P. Sanders

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia and innovation
It's fair to say that time has not been too kind on Tron, as can be said for any aging sci-fi film, but I still have immensely warm feelings towards this groundbreaking tale of the innerspace of computers. A top notch cast married with some iconic design elements give the film a kind of grandeur and scale that makes sci-fi fans of a certain age.

If you're...
Published on 17 Jun 2011 by J. Stockwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Matrix was born here, 23 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. I. A. Macpherson "Macca" (Leamington Spa, Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I first saw Tron when I was a young child, and loved the colours, style and of course the action with the light cycles etc. Now I am older and understand the conceptual representation of humans inside a machine, fighting against computer programs represented as other people, I can see that The Matrix owes an incredible debt of story to this film. Tron stood completely apart from the time in which it was made, and tried to communicate ideas about computing that few people really understood, whereas The Matrix embraced the time in which it was made and presented the ideas in a way that the mainstream could come to terms with, but both are really based on the same premise.

Tron deserves to be viewed and held up as a brave, visually stunning and, for the time, incredibly high concept idea that has stood the test of time. Yes the graphics and effects are dated, of course they are. Is Jaws a bad film because the shark looks like a rubber puppet? The sheer quality of film making does not tarnish with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tron, 22 Dec 2006
By 
A. L. YOUNG (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like an old friend, I've watched this film for 24yrs and still am not sick of it. Being technologically well ahead of it's time on release it leapt straight to cult classic status. The depth of acting isn't a strong point, but the simple special effects are just great, simple but great making you feel they were pushing the boundaries for which countless future films owe a great debt. Jeff Bridges definately a star here, but ultimately the light cycles were the star, how long before all trips to work are like this. A simple watch, which all ages can appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As a start to CGI it is great, 30 May 2008
By 
OK the FX of Tron are nothing to todays. But this film shows the level of CGI in 1982 the extra features illustrate how the FX are achieved and what a struggle this film was. Also the extra features tell the story of Tron from its earliest incarnations to the finished film. The film itself is not only a great story but it shows the level of computing at the time. Tron is in fact an Antivirus in a world before antivirus programs were even thought of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very stylish SciFi thriller - 25 years old and looking good, 9 Feb 2006
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
My son (8) quite enjoyed watching this movie, but probably I wanted to see it more having enjoyed it at the movies back in 1982. The actual film doesn't seem any better than I remember it in terms of picture quality, although apparently Wendy (Walter) Carlos's film score has been recovered as the original analogue master tapes had badly degraded. This 20th anniversary edition [and the similar Special Edition] also has a second DVD of stills, inspirational designs by artists Syd Mead, Peter Lloyd and Jean "Moebius" Giraud, and a new 88 minute documentary `The making of TRON' that is far more interesting to adults than kids. The documentary goes on a bit but has cast interviews etc. and is worth a view. Jeff Bridges and Bruce Boxleitner (TRON) are very good considering they were the first to act against a blue screen for mostly the whole movie. David Warner is excellent as MCP and Sark, reprising his equally superb role as The Evil Genius in The Time Bandits (1981). Peter O'Toole had turned down his role (as he didn't fancy acting against a blue screen). TRON is actually a Hewlett Packard BASIC simple debugging command of the period, and stands aptly for "Trace On". So as we all know, "That's TRON. He fights for the users". Let's hope he's still out there. Interestingly, first use of the term `Users' has been credited to this influential movie.

A sequel called TRON 2.0 was in the works, but only the visually outstanding computer game version was released in 2003. Despite it's innovation, on release TRON did relatively badly in the cinema (where it looked at its best), and ironically the well received TRON arcade game spin-offs made the most profit. Rumour has it that traditional Disney animators refused to work on this movie because they feared that computers would put them out of business. In fact, 22 years later Disney closed its hand-drawn animation studio in favour of CGI animation, following the rise of Pixar. TRON wasn't considered for an academy award for `animation' at the time, as it was felt that computer aided design cheated (it was nominated for both Best Costume and ironically Sound). In the "solar sail-ship" sequence, look out and see, for a brief moment, the cross-hatched silhouette of Mickey Mouse on the ground made to look like part of the terrain.

So the films worth owning as an historical cinema milestone, although the plot was a bit ahead of its time as many preteen boys, the target audience, naturally weren't quite so into computers and game consoles back then, and arcade games tended to be in 18+ locations. However it s well worth another watch, and the storyline can still hold most boys attention for one viewing (try renting if you don't want to buy even at this knock down price). The film was created in a period when one person could write the whole software, hence the storyline - Tron was the first, and best ever, global computer virus. This film is clearly the grand daddy of the quality movies 'Spy Kids III' and 'Scooby and the Cyber Chase', and is probably even better than both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tron, 24 July 2002
Remember 20 years ago when you watched this film and wanted an energy disc of your own and one of those killer lightcycles? Now you can relive the fun and adventure, and cringe at the 80's fashions. This film was groundbreaking in its use of CGI, and the menus are full of CGI graphics too. They make you feel like you are back in the movie. The bonus documentaries are interesting and informative. They give you a look back to the excitement that all of those involved felt at the time of production, as well as everyone's recollections of the shoot from a modern perspective. the 90 minute documentary has some fascinating rememberances of a time when Tron was just being conceived, and it's growing pains.
See, I knew that the scenes were all shot in black and white, what I didn't know was that all of the backgrounds were solid black. I knew where to spot Pac-Man, did you? I thought this was a great transfer, makes me hope that someday Disney will do the same thing with The Black hole.
I loved the DVD menus with their Tron Universe animations running around and driving through the background. I know any twentysomething who grew up with this film will feel the same. unless you are disappointed because you bought the other version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but still very good, 26 May 2012
Before watching the Tron sequel I decided to watch the original 1982 classic. Of course it is dated but the digital world sequences are still impressive and exciting (seems to have a futurist art deco vibe). The lightcycle challenge is the obvious stand-out sequence and still looks good.
I recommend seeing the original Tron if you haven't already, or revist it before seeing the new one (which I also liked very much).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Minor classic, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Olaf Barthel "Harmlos" (Lehrte) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tron [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was 12 years old when I first watched "Tron" in the cinema. Of all the amazing films that came out in 1982, this is the one that I remember the fondest. So when the original DVD first became available, I did not hesitate to buy it, and neither did I hesitate to buy the Blu-Ray version.

What makes "Tron" a minor classic is that its parts come together well. Story, music, visuals, actor performances and direction produced a solid genre film (science fiction/fantasy). However, this is not the kind of film that gets better with age. The story is very simple and, the older you become, it hardly shows new aspects you were completely unaware some 30 or 20 years ago.

What made "Tron" stand out in its time, and still does, are the visuals. The technology available at the time limited what could be done with computer graphics, but the art direction embraced these limitations. What looked futuristic then still does look futuristic now.

The Blu-Ray version does improve upon the original DVD release, which was already quite good at presenting the film. The much sharper image shows surprising details in what is, curiously, actually an animated film which combines hand-drawn and computer-rendered scenes with live action footage, shot using high resolution footage and cameras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray brings the film back to life, 25 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tron [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i love tron, and the blu ray version makes this great film even better.
Detailsi never noticed before, colours more vibrant and sound now pumps out even better then before!
Highly recommended, just wish they added more "features" to the blu ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unique, 2 Aug 2004
this film is brilliant. many people slag it off as corny or badly acted, but for me this film scores a definite four.
Its not so much the acting or the action sequences that do it for me, just the simplicity of the CGI and the uniqueness of the whole concept of being 'digitised' into a computer program. its cool!
when you watch old films like alien/aliens etc then the CGI in that looks decidedly dodgy whereas TRON is totally unaffected by date, due to the setting of the film, inside a computer.
Its got a real 'wow' effect for me, i know a fair bit about computers and this film is built entirely of computing history, and the smooth glowing lines and pulses of light really get the imagination going! Get this film, its really cool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting ride!, 31 July 2009
Tron was made yonks ago...(how long is a yonk, anyway?) and if it were to be re-made now, they would simply do the whole thing computerised; but the old cgi effects in my opinion are no less valid even now. The production values were very high and they still hold good.

As for the story-line, its a pleasant romp. Tron is a computer program, whom has been `written' by one of our human main characters, and his task is to clear all the junk out of the mainframe that shouldn't be there...a sort of cyberspace policeman. He has been captured by the big baddie program and locked away; enter Jeff Bridges. Jeff Bridges character has also been captured by the same evil program and locked up inside one of the computer games he himself had written. His task is to win at the games, find and free Tron and help Tron defeat the bad guys, free the system and find a way to get himself back to the real world again.

This is a fun family film with no serious violence, no sex or swearing. Find an evening with nothing on telly, grab your coke and pizzas and sit back and enjoy this film. It always leaves me with a smile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 310 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tron [Blu-ray]
Tron [Blu-ray] by Jeff Bridges (Blu-ray - 2011)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews