Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was it that long ago?!
Was it that long ago?! It say's something about this series that it made such an impression on me that I was staggered to find out when it was first released. Looking at it now you're reminded how far the technical improvements in Television have come. However you're also reminded how poor the quality of many TV programmes has become? This is an excellent documentary...
Published on 21 April 2012 by Mr. Geoffrey C. Brown

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a let down!
Although the contents of this series are just as entertaining as ever, a lot of the atmosphere is destroyed even before each episode opens. The original theme that was used when the series was first broadcast was Rod Stewart's excellent version of the song, "Sailing". That song, over the opening scenes, I feel, made the show.

They now use a rather bland,...
Published on 8 May 2011 by Bungy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was it that long ago?!, 21 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
Was it that long ago?! It say's something about this series that it made such an impression on me that I was staggered to find out when it was first released. Looking at it now you're reminded how far the technical improvements in Television have come. However you're also reminded how poor the quality of many TV programmes has become? This is an excellent documentary that covers many aspects of the life of a great ship, warts and all. No one can fail to be enthralled by the flight deck action which is very well presented from all angles. As fascinating is the coverage of the live's, problems and responsibilities of the crew. The calm understatement in the face of extreme situations seems to recall a way of life that's maybe lost to us now? Technically the 4:3 film format transferred from the video looks a world away from todays HD video but is non the less excellent. The copyright issues with the music mentioned by other reviewers are soon overlooked because the scripting and editing of this series means you're attention is focussed from the first scene to the finale. The bonus revisit with characters from the series 8 years on is interesting and a further bonus of a short about the operation of the carrier in the Med, whilst interesting, makes you appreciate how good the series was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Royal Navy as it was, 22 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
I left the RN in 1973 and was living abroad when the BBC showed this series. As an ex matelot, it brought back a lot of happy memories of my time in the "Andrew" although I never served on a ship as large as the Ark Royal. It shows life as it was on board a ship in the days when "Wrens" didn't go to sea. I would recommend to it any ex matelots or bootnecks and anyone else who wants to know what life was like in the Royal Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sailor, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
Having spent 30 years in the Fleet Air Arm myself 1981-2011 I found this DVD brilliant. A true grit documentary on the life at sea in a carrier with the hopes expectations and experiences of some great servicemen. Some friends you make in the Forces are for life but all the same you always remember the characters. This DVD clearly demonstrates the honesty discipline and dedication of the men serving on possibly the best warship ever. My only regret is to have missed these times. I loved it. Recommended !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Memories, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
I actually served onboard HMS Ark Royal at the time this series was made and featured in a couple of episodes. It has been brilliant to watch it again and relive some very happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Documentry On Life Aboard HMS Ark Royal, 6 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. Paul A. Harrison "Paul" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be the most realistic documentry series I have ever seen covering the life of real people serving aboard one of the greated Aircraft Carriers ever to sail. It is not scripted or staged and there is no interview going round asking questions. It is just an honest snap shot into the lifes of the Sailors at all levels through out the ship. It is probably one the finest examples of work from the BBC I have ever seen for just showing it as it is and not coloring or biasing any view points in any way. Worth a watch by anyone, it shows real people, working as a team in real life situations and in total open honesty. Something I think might have been lost with modern television documentaries.

Brilliant, Sobering and Heart Warming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as when it first came out on TV, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched this series th first time round it has been great to relive the memory. What a wonderful Navy we had back then!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
As an ex serviceman (RAF) who worked on Phantom aircraft of the RAF and Navy I loved this series and was pleased to find it available on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sailor, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a father's day present my dad loved this seris back in the 70s and enjoyed it all over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a let down!, 8 May 2011
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
Although the contents of this series are just as entertaining as ever, a lot of the atmosphere is destroyed even before each episode opens. The original theme that was used when the series was first broadcast was Rod Stewart's excellent version of the song, "Sailing". That song, over the opening scenes, I feel, made the show.

They now use a rather bland, military band version of the tune. There is a tiny notice on the packaging that just says "Edited for contactural reasons", but no specific details. A great pity because I feel the music they have used destroys the show.

Be warned - if you were expecting Rod Stewart to sing you in - think again before buying this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dads Present, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my dad as he actually appeared in this series when he was a very young man. Said it brought back lots of happy memories for him of his time on the Ark Royal and all the mischief they got up to whilst the cameras were rolling and not. I enjoyed watching it as well as it was a part of my dad's life when I was little so nice to see what he was like as a young man. Well worth buying especially if you have a dad or grand-dad who served aboard this lovely ship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BBC Sailor: The Complete TV Series [DVD]
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews