Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mount device
The Contour Vented Helmet Mount was ordered right after ordering the Contour ROAM Hands-free HD Camcorder. Although the Contour ROAM came with two different mount options, none of them was appropriate for attaching the camera to a MTB helmet, since these do not have a flat surface large enough to glue one of the bundled mounts.

Although relatively expensive,...
Published on 11 Mar 2012 by Diogo Gomes

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK -ish
Well it works but not without some mods! The straps weren't long enough for my helmet so I've now fixed it with cable ties! More secure as well. The degree of adjustment is pretty minuscule so you need to make sure it is on the right place on your helmet. I also find it quite hard to slide the camera on and off the mount.
Apart from that it's fine!
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by Rodmol


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mount device, 11 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
The Contour Vented Helmet Mount was ordered right after ordering the Contour ROAM Hands-free HD Camcorder. Although the Contour ROAM came with two different mount options, none of them was appropriate for attaching the camera to a MTB helmet, since these do not have a flat surface large enough to glue one of the bundled mounts.

Although relatively expensive, the mount is just short of perfect. It is very easy to fit (I have a Trek Helmet) and the camera can easily be inserted in and out of the mount rail. The mount also provides 3 tilt levels that enable you to adjust the camera angle accordingly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK -ish, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Rodmol (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
Well it works but not without some mods! The straps weren't long enough for my helmet so I've now fixed it with cable ties! More secure as well. The degree of adjustment is pretty minuscule so you need to make sure it is on the right place on your helmet. I also find it quite hard to slide the camera on and off the mount.
Apart from that it's fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does the job, 6 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This will work with any Contour camera since they use a standardised mounting mechanism. I've used this with my Contour GPS attached to a vented cycling helmet and it works great without coming loose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
The elevation angles the mount features are a nice touch, but it's nigh impossible to tighten the straps to get a good solid stable attachment. Don't bother with this and get the multi-purpose flex strap instead, it works great with my vented helmet and has far more applications as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to use, 4 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
Secures well to my MTB helmet and my ROAM2 doesn't move at all while riding.

It's not cheap by any means, but it's worth it to record your adventures!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A painless transcation., 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
I was disappointed to see that my Contour Roam 2 only came with ‘stick-on’ mounts that were not evenly remotely suitable for attaching the camera to my cycle helmet.

This mount fits the bill, it was supplied at a not-unreasonable price and was dispatched almost straightaway.

So, five stars for this purchase (but no stars to Contour for not supplying the mount with the camera in the first place).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pricey for what it is!?, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
An OK bit of kit but can't see how they can justify charging what they do for it?! (captive market, no other option or am I just being cynical?) Bit fiddly to fit before you can get it right and have yet to test how secure it'll be in the long run though it seems a lot of buyers replace the adjustable straps with cable ties in the interest of security. Hmmm!
P.S. Having now used the mount I've fixed the same using cable ties in place of the straps provided as cable ties provide a firmer and more secure fixing method without doubt! The straps just don't do the job. Once in place all's good, though I mount my camera to the side of my helmet and the Contour, being a weighty little beast, tends to cock the helmet to one side (technical term that!) - useful though to have the option to pan the camera a few degrees left or right I've found using the 'click' mount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice n snug, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
Very well made piece of kit albeit a tad expensive, nice long straps with very strong clips mean cam can be mounted anywhere on the helmet and securely fastened in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars does perfectly what it's supposed to, 21 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
This mount does exactly what I expected from it. Attaching it to the helmet can be a bit nerve-wracking as it requires finding a good spot on the helmet, that will give a good angle for the camera and that will minimise the amount of helmet that is seen (the angle adjustment of the mount surely helps finding this). Once a good spot has been found, you really have to tighten the straps by pulling them as hard as you can before securing them. That gives a perfectly stable platform for the camera, which doesn't get affected by repeated removals/insertions of the camera. The camera stays securely attached to the mount too, maybe a bit too much in the sense that it is quite hard to remove it the first few times you use it, but that gets fine with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good mount... but., 6 May 2014
By 
M. Haase - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550 (Electronics)
It is a good mount but there is still a space for improvement. I am using it with second helmet now and there is a little bit of wobble when mounted, not too much but I wouldn't mind if the foam underneath would be a bit softer/thicker to absorb more curvature and shaking.
Nice touch is tilt adjustment (but with my Roam2 it is impossible to tilt to maximum) and a whole to tether camera in case it would slip from the mounting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Contour Vented Helmet Mount 2550
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews